• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

B450 vs a320

Durkhead

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
24 (0.05/day)
I just got a cyberpower PC with ryzen 5 3600 an ASRock a320 motherboard and I have from a previous build gigabyte b450m ds3h with WiFi is it worth it to switch out the motherboards? The biggest prob is windows 10 on cyberpower are embedded in the motherboard so switch the key is a pain
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,662 (4.45/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yes swap the Motherboards, copies of Windows 10 Pro are cheap enough if you look at this "news" article.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,653 (1.45/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3400G / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard Asus Prime B450M-A / HP 240 G5
Cooling AM3 Wraith + Spire v2 fan / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX Vega 11 / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung S22F350 @ 75Hz/ Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64
I would swap it, 99% of the time the lowest end B450 has better VRMs than any A320. Plus better CPU support, and overclocking as an option.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,626 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
If you've had Windows on your old mobo chances are it'll activate.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
212 (0.11/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4 3333CL14 FASTEST PRESET 32GB /EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 24GB-1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1 Sabrent Rocket NVMe 512GB / 1 SSD 250GB / 1 HHD 3 TB
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
Change my MB MSI 990FXA /8370E to a new Asus x470 Prime 2700x, activated windows 10 pro , sign in ,was good to go, heck did the same with another Asus MB/ Phenom ll 1055 to the MSI 990FXA MB ,did activate windows with a phone in.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
221 (0.11/day)
System Name Legion
Processor i5-10400
Motherboard Asus Prime Z490M Plus
Cooling Air
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200 F4-3200C16D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 KO Ultra
Storage Inland Premium 256GB SSD 3D NAND M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 + WD Blue 1TB SATA SSD
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440p
Case Lian Li 205M
Power Supply PowerSpec 650W 80+ Bronze Semi-Modular PS 650BSM
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 25
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys
Software Lots
Yes swap the Motherboards, copies of Windows 10 Pro are cheap enough if you look at this "news" article.
FWIW I have used CDK Offers for my new build's Win 10 Pro license. It's legit.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,721 (4.20/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
If you have no problems I don't see why you would switch it.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
874 (0.61/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2650 V2 (OC-3,4Ghz-ALL*CORES)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1510Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=12501,Cinebench R15=1284,Cinebench R20=2538.Passmark=15670,Geekbench=23623 multi
Swap it and if you can maybe try to get MSI Tomahawk B450 that is probably the BEST B450 motherboard and one of those that can handle even the 10 or 12 core cpu's as the possible future upgrade....GL
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,626 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
I just got a cyberpower PC with ryzen 5 3600 an ASRock a320 motherboard and I have from a previous build gigabyte b450m ds3h with WiFi is it worth it to switch out the motherboards? The biggest prob is windows 10 on cyberpower are embedded in the motherboard so switch the key is a pain
If you activated windows on the motherboard you had from a previous build windows should activate with a fresh install as the key is tied to the bios the same way the key is tied to the cyberpower mobo.
You will just need to do a fresh install.

you might not even need to do a fresh install. can't remember
 
Top