• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

B560M AORUS ELITE & 10400f &m.2

utalaat

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
I have i510400f on an B560M AORUS ELITE can I use PCI GEN 4 SSD in the first m.2 slot to even if it runs at pci 3 speed or is it completely disabled when 10400 is installed?
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,280 (2.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
It should be fine.
 

utalaat

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
Well the word around is that gigabyte has made to work only with 11th gen pci e 4
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,725 (1.55/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor R9 5900X
Motherboard X570 Impact (3601)
Cooling Optimus Foundation AM4 - Bitspower Brizo VGA - 280mm αcool XT45 - DDC4.2
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2050/1975 1.00V)
Keyboard RAMA U80-A SEQ2 / Noxary X60 R
I have i510400f on an B560M AORUS ELITE can I use PCI GEN 4 SSD in the first m.2 slot to even if it runs at pci 3 speed or is it completely disabled when 10400 is installed?

afaik 500-series boards with 10th gen CPUs will never be able to use the first NVMe slot. It's hooked up to 4 newly added CPU lanes on 11th gen, which simply don't exist on 10th gen.

Otherwise 10th gen CPUs work fine on Z590/B560, it's just that you can't use that first slot. A good illustration of the problem:

comet lake vs rocket lake.png
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
27 (0.24/day)
Location
Serbia
afaik 500-series boards with 10th gen CPUs will never be able to use the first NVMe slot. It's hooked up to 4 newly added CPU lanes on 11th gen, which simply don't exist on 10th gen.

Otherwise 10th gen CPUs work fine on Z590/B560, it's just that you can't use that first slot. A good illustration of the problem:

^^^^ This
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
722 (1.46/day)
System Name WinTenDoh
Processor 12700k
Motherboard Z690 Pro-A WiFi DDR4
Cooling NH-15D
Memory 32GB (16GBx2) 3600 CL14
Video Card(s) 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate
Display(s) 32" 1440p 165Hz
Case Phanteks P600s
Audio Device(s) Schiit Sennheiser HiFiMan Beyerdynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-1000
Mouse EVGA x17
Keyboard EVGA z15

utalaat

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
Thanks I just needed a confirmation, Some MSI and Asrock b560 board have managed to work around this situation but apparently Gigabyte didn't, thank you all.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
27 (0.24/day)
Location
Serbia
Thanks I just needed a confirmation, Some MSI and Asrock b560 board have managed to work around this situation but apparently Gigabyte didn't, thank you all.

Nice find! Really curious if other motherboard AIB's are going to do the same with future BIOS updates for their B500 series boards, otherwise on their boards 1st M.2 slot is doomed to stay empty for those with 10gen CPUs.
 

utalaat

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
Nice find! Really curious if other motherboard AIB's are going to do the same with future BIOS updates for their B500 series boards, otherwise on their boards 1st M.2 slot is doomed to stay empty for those with 10gen CPUs.
I don't think they will do anything I think their focus will be on the next gen development 12th and beyond and yes it is doomed a lot of people have been complaining about this for quit sometime
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,725 (1.55/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor R9 5900X
Motherboard X570 Impact (3601)
Cooling Optimus Foundation AM4 - Bitspower Brizo VGA - 280mm αcool XT45 - DDC4.2
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2050/1975 1.00V)
Keyboard RAMA U80-A SEQ2 / Noxary X60 R
I don't think they will do anything I think their focus will be on the next gen development 12th and beyond and yes it is doomed a lot of people have been complaining about this for quit sometime

Just curious, which MSI and ASRock boards did you find that allow the first slot on 10th gen CPUs?

It shouldn't be hard, it just needs the first slot to be wired to chipset lanes for a 3.0 x4 connection, but that would sacrifice 4.0 on the first slot which is Z590's main selling point. Unless they implement a switch a la B550 Unify-X.

edit: never mind, found it - the Steel Legend and both ITX boards have some sort of switch, to alternate between CPU/chipset lanes depending on CPU installed. Hard to find out any more detail though, ASRock isn't a fan of block diagrams.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,486 (0.52/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair (cursed edition)
Processor 11900k 5.1/4.9 undervolted.
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify-X
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XSPC TX360 slim radiator, 3xA12x25, 4x Arctic P14 case fans
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x16GB 4000 16-19-19 (b-die@3600 14-14-14 1.45v)
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 Super Hybrid (T30-120 fan)
Storage 970EVO 1TB, 660p 1TB, WD Blue 3D 1TB, Sandisk Ultra 3D 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2546K, Dell P2417H
Case FD Define 7
Audio Device(s) DT770 Pro, Topping A50, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper Mini, Odin Infinity mousepad
Keyboard GMMK Fullsize v2 (Boba U4Ts)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
Nice find! Really curious if other motherboard AIB's are going to do the same with future BIOS updates for their B500 series boards, otherwise on their boards 1st M.2 slot is doomed to stay empty for those with 10gen CPUs.
This is not a BIOS thing, there are physically no wires to allow this on the example board in this thread. Some motherboards, as @tabascosauz mentioned, have a switch to allow either the chipset or the CPU to provide lanes to that first M.2 slot. This is a *physical* device on the board and if the circuitry is not present you *can not* do this.
 

utalaat

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
Not both Steel Legend boards but only the minitx version ,kind of a picky strange situation and not easy to know info on theirs site MSI though had like a list in its blog with explanation to how and why.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,725 (1.55/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor R9 5900X
Motherboard X570 Impact (3601)
Cooling Optimus Foundation AM4 - Bitspower Brizo VGA - 280mm αcool XT45 - DDC4.2
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2050/1975 1.00V)
Keyboard RAMA U80-A SEQ2 / Noxary X60 R
Not both Steel Legend boards but only the minitx version ,kind of a picky strange situation and not easy to know info on theirs site MSI though had like a list in its blog with explanation to how and why.

The ATX Steel Legend does not. The mATX Steel Legend has the same switch functionality as the ITX boards.

In any case, if you don't need an ITX board, they all still work just fine because vast majority of boards have a second M.2 slot on chipset lanes, which will always give you 3.0 x4 functionality.

I'm not a fan of the lane switching functionality - on my Unify-X, the middle two slots (switched between 4.0 x4 from CPU or 3.0 x2 from chipset) were notoriously unreliable and kept dropping my drives in those two slots. Knowing that, I would never take an ITX board that has only 1 M.2 slot with lane switching functionality, and risk losing the only drive in the system.

Unless it just bothers you to see the first M.2 empty on your board........in which case you could buy a higher end board like the Mortar and just stare at the heatsink instead :D
 
Top