• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Backup utility

Krony

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
288 (0.08/day)
Likes
59
Location
England
System Name Stealth Mk III
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 4.2GHz @ 1.38v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Swiftech Apogee XT, Koolance NX580, 1x SR-1 120.4, 2x RX 120.2 rads
Memory 3x2Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC3-12800C8
Video Card(s) Sli Evga 3Gb GTX 580's @ 825/1650/2025 @ 1.088v
Storage OS: 240Gb Vertex 3, Steam: 120Gb Vertex 2E, Storage: 1Tb F3, Backup: 1TB F1
Display(s) Samsung SM 2493HM
Case LD Cooling PC-V8
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro 1200w
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 - P12324 / Vantage - P50183
#1
Hi, i currently use a 1Tb Samsung F3 for storage (videos, images and general documents) and a 1Tb Samsung F1 which i use as a backup drive for the other, basically about once a month i just copy and paste the whole drive from the F3 to the F1 but as u can imagine this takes quite a few hours as it re-writes every file even thoes that have not changed, is there any programs that would just copy any new files and any that have changed ?
 

chuchnit

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
95 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
KY
#2
Acronis True Image and I *think* the built in backup utility in Vista/7 but I'm not sure about the latter.
 

Krony

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
288 (0.08/day)
Likes
59
Location
England
System Name Stealth Mk III
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 4.2GHz @ 1.38v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Swiftech Apogee XT, Koolance NX580, 1x SR-1 120.4, 2x RX 120.2 rads
Memory 3x2Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC3-12800C8
Video Card(s) Sli Evga 3Gb GTX 580's @ 825/1650/2025 @ 1.088v
Storage OS: 240Gb Vertex 3, Steam: 120Gb Vertex 2E, Storage: 1Tb F3, Backup: 1TB F1
Display(s) Samsung SM 2493HM
Case LD Cooling PC-V8
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro 1200w
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 - P12324 / Vantage - P50183
#3
Trying the windows 7 utility now thx.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
The freebie Karen's Replicator is excellent for doing all sorts of backups, including ones that trigger at a regular interval. I use it to make the sort of image backup that you do. It'll skip the files that already exist and save lots of time and prevent human error.

www.karenware.com/powertools/ptreplicator.asp

Note that if you choose to do an image backup with Karen's, be absolutely sure that you have the source and destination specified the right way round. Otherwise, copying to a blank destination will simply result in both drives being blank. :eek: This is true of any backup utility and isn't a fault with Karen's.

I think there's also another freebie called Deltacopy, which is supposed to be much more efficient, as it will only copy the changed parts of files. This is really handy for very large files, such as Outlook .pst files. However, I've not used it yet, so cant vouch for it.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#5
Cobian backup will do file backups locally or to ftp, with or without encryption and compression. However it doesn't do image backups, which is really what you need if want to fully restore your system.

I've used the W7 back up program and Acronis a few times to restore a system and both work great. With Acronis though, you need to burn the recovery cd they suggest FOR EACH and EVERY machine you use it on.

One problem with W7 backup is that seems to break easily. On one machine I did an upgrade re-install and the backup utility doesn't work. No luck in trouble shooting it either. So I now rely on Acronis exclusively for image backups. But I use Cobian for file backups to ftp.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
I just use a Robocopy script setup in a bat file and scheduled through task scheduler.
 

Krony

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
288 (0.08/day)
Likes
59
Location
England
System Name Stealth Mk III
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 4.2GHz @ 1.38v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Swiftech Apogee XT, Koolance NX580, 1x SR-1 120.4, 2x RX 120.2 rads
Memory 3x2Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC3-12800C8
Video Card(s) Sli Evga 3Gb GTX 580's @ 825/1650/2025 @ 1.088v
Storage OS: 240Gb Vertex 3, Steam: 120Gb Vertex 2E, Storage: 1Tb F3, Backup: 1TB F1
Display(s) Samsung SM 2493HM
Case LD Cooling PC-V8
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro 1200w
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 - P12324 / Vantage - P50183
#7
Well i tried the W7 utility and on my system it takes days lol and everytime u run a new backup it does the entire thing again, i'll try Karen's as the main thing i am after is just backing up video's and pic's and some other documents to another drive in case the drive they are on goes bad and i wanted it to only copy changed or new files.
I'll probably still use W7 for a System Image for the OS tho.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#8
my preferred method is rsync, which does have a windows implementation: delta copy
it's free, open-source , and incremental. it takes a few minutes to set up, but it is fully automated afterwards and can do multiple backups with plenty of options.

i haven't tried the other software on this page, syncify. it may be worth looking into as well.
 

Krony

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
288 (0.08/day)
Likes
59
Location
England
System Name Stealth Mk III
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 4.2GHz @ 1.38v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Swiftech Apogee XT, Koolance NX580, 1x SR-1 120.4, 2x RX 120.2 rads
Memory 3x2Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 PC3-12800C8
Video Card(s) Sli Evga 3Gb GTX 580's @ 825/1650/2025 @ 1.088v
Storage OS: 240Gb Vertex 3, Steam: 120Gb Vertex 2E, Storage: 1Tb F3, Backup: 1TB F1
Display(s) Samsung SM 2493HM
Case LD Cooling PC-V8
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro 1200w
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 - P12324 / Vantage - P50183
#9
Karen's Replicator worked a treat, first backup of maybe 500Gb took about 90 mins then a added in a few new video files to that drive and ran it again and it took maybe 4 mins :)