• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Bios flash on GA-MA790x-DS4 rev1.0

Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#1
Hi m8´s ,

I have a problem with my Mainboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4
I tried to update my Bios with latest from Gigabyte: ma79xds4.f5c
Did it from USB Stick (Like several others too), all seem´s OK since there was no Error in Post.....
After Reboot i only get a Black Screen and PC try´s to do some from cd-rom drive....
(Dunno if it search´s for single bios.bin)

My try´s:
Placed old PCI Card inside 1 memory stick hdd & dvd-rom
(matrox mystique works !)
Dos Boot CD
AUTOEXEC.BAT
ibmdos
flashspi.exe bios.bin
even with awardflash.exe /../.. i had no luck
Unplugged PSU & MB Battery for 24h to get checksum failure ... nope not work



The Strange thing is if i place Mainboard Driver CD in it stops checking drive
since i don´t see what he try´s i dunno what i should do
on any other it (my bootdisks) forces to load whatever

Checked the web and found this:

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=26329&postcount=5

On my Mainboard they placed МХ25L4005 instead of МХ25L8005
so i dunno if that might help in my case to force checksum failure on main bios chip
to gain fallback on 2nd bios chip ... i also have no switch in manual.


My Bios Chips:



might one of you have a idea !

If nothings helps i go for RMA on Saturday i hope the Store change it directly and not sending it to Gigabyte might be a long time to get it back :(

thx

n0tiert
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#3

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,714 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,130
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
well the next time you want to do a bios flash, purchase a bios chip for your mobo from this site encoded with the bios you wanted,

http://www.biosmedic.com/

http://www.bios-repair.co.uk/

that way you have a spare chip to flash in case of failure of the other. You can recover a certain way but it can be dangerous without the right tools to recover from a bad bios flash.
also you may want to look at this site for some basics on bios flashing, best bet is to use a floppy disk and not a USB drive or Winflash.

http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/Custom_Flash.html

i know that site is for DFI boards, but the flashing of bios is all the same just about, just gotta make sure you get the right bios for your board- aka model and revision, to look for revision of the board look at the silk screen.
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#5
well the next time you want to do a bios flash, purchase a bios chip for your mobo from this site encoded with the bios you wanted,

http://www.biosmedic.com/

http://www.bios-repair.co.uk/

that way you have a spare chip to flash in case of failure of the other. You can recover a certain way but it can be dangerous without the right tools to recover from a bad bios flash.
also you may want to look at this site for some basics on bios flashing, best bet is to use a floppy disk and not a USB drive or Winflash.

http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/Custom_Flash.html

i know that site is for DFI boards, but the flashing of bios is all the same just about, just gotta make sure you get the right bios for your board- aka model and revision, to look for revision of the board look at the silk screen.


Yeeeah great idea, but the Bios chip is solder on the MB :laugh:
(as u might seen on the image) so if i solder arround the guaranty
is lost !
and a dos based flash from usb, or Boot-CD is not that dangerous
than flashing from a dos disk ?! isn´t it ?

the Shop changed it without any questions and no need to pay a single $

but m8 thx anyway for the great try

n0tiert
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,714 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,130
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
looks like they cut corners with that board by soldering the chip, you could have the board sent in to that same company i believe to have sockets installed for the bios chips, so you can swap them out for different ones, My system uses a Mod Bios.