• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Bios flash

Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
124 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Windsor @ 2.81 (Artic Cooling Freezer 64)
Motherboard ECS Black 780G
Cooling 4 case fans, AC 64 Pro on Proc.
Memory 2 GB Kingston Ram
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon 3850 stock (OC 740/930)
Storage 250 GB Segate SATA 2, 160 Samsung
Display(s) BenQ T705 17", SynchMaster 19"
Case generic
Audio Device(s) Something that makes sounds...by IDT
Power Supply 550W Corsair
Software XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 13000 3DM05
#1
Hey all,
I was flashing my bios to try and fix a keyboard oddity that I've been having. Also, I like to keep my system up to date. Anyway, I used the AMI winflash utility. It erased all but 2 rows of the bios and then started to reprogram. After the first two or 3 rows, my computer decided to restart. I have been 100% stable so far so this was a suprise. I did not post or anything. So I've looked up online what to do to try to recover. I've removed the bios battery and am planning to let my PC sit for half an hr or so (till I get back from running). After that, I was going to reintall it and then either hold insert or f2. I saw online that this may help. Do any of you guys have any ideas outside of RMA'ing? (thats my obvious last option).
Thanks!

-problems resolved. never doing OS level bios flashing again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
619 (0.14/day)
Likes
9
Location
San Bernardino CA
System Name TheloneFrakker..;)
Processor Q6600 GO FSB333@3.04ghz
Motherboard Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Stock for now
Memory 2x1gb/Gskill DDR3 1333@9,9,9,24 1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD2900XT
Storage Seagate Barrucuda 7200.11 500gb SATAII 32mb cache
Display(s) Sceptre xw20g Naga 20.1"
Case Thermaltake Bach VX w/Side window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Hiper 580w Modular
Software XP Pro/Vista Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores None yet, coming soon...
#2
I had this happen to me but my board had a removable bios chip. If your board does you can find someone online to flash it (I paid 15$ bucks shipped for a new chip), but I can't find the guy who did it for me anymore. That is your best bet, just look online I am sure you can find some etailer who specialize in this. A small boutique type PC store might be able to do this but I doubt you could find someone at a Best Buy or Circuit Ciy to do it.

Edit: Glad to see it worked out for you. Dos Flashing is usually ideal but not all OS flashing goes haywire. Maybe this info can help someone else.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,177 (0.83/day)
Likes
529
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
619 (0.14/day)
Likes
9
Location
San Bernardino CA
System Name TheloneFrakker..;)
Processor Q6600 GO FSB333@3.04ghz
Motherboard Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Stock for now
Memory 2x1gb/Gskill DDR3 1333@9,9,9,24 1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD2900XT
Storage Seagate Barrucuda 7200.11 500gb SATAII 32mb cache
Display(s) Sceptre xw20g Naga 20.1"
Case Thermaltake Bach VX w/Side window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Hiper 580w Modular
Software XP Pro/Vista Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores None yet, coming soon...
#4
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Alta Loma Ca.
Processor intel 6400 core 2 duo
Motherboard asus p5wdh deluxe
Cooling x90 xp
Memory gskill 6400 hz 2x1 gb
Video Card(s) 1800xl ati
Storage 2xraptors in raido 36gig
Display(s) acer 19 in lcd
Case tc mambo black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply enmerax 535 watt
Software xp pro xp office
#5
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
124 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Windsor @ 2.81 (Artic Cooling Freezer 64)
Motherboard ECS Black 780G
Cooling 4 case fans, AC 64 Pro on Proc.
Memory 2 GB Kingston Ram
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon 3850 stock (OC 740/930)
Storage 250 GB Segate SATA 2, 160 Samsung
Display(s) BenQ T705 17", SynchMaster 19"
Case generic
Audio Device(s) Something that makes sounds...by IDT
Power Supply 550W Corsair
Software XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 13000 3DM05
#6
Yea, i think the reason I did the flash from windows is that my old Mobo wouldn't run the dos flash utility from a USB stick. This one does. Much to my happiness too.