1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bad bios flashes & pci cards...

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ucanmandaa, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    Just recovered my 5870 from a bad bios flash using a pci 9200. It was my first time i think anyone who is into flashing should have an old pci vga card just in case.. :)

    what people without legacy pci slots do in a similar situation? I'm just curious does anyone know?
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,715 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,360
    there are boards without pci ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,987 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    Florida
    yep the 7 slot evga gigabyte and (asus?) boards
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,426 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,675
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I like blind flashing myself, challenging and just a little scary, only done it once but it did work!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    i've been flashing since i had a Voodoo5, its the first time in ten years something went wrong. Asus p6t6ws i think all pci express too without pci.
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,715 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,360
    flash with a pcie card then, if your board has 0 pci and 1 pci-e slot only then you need to take it to another pc
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    oh ok i thought "pci card" was a must, thats why i asked
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,715 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,360
    oh ok .. no .. it will work with any other vga card that you can use to boot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)