• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bad Flash: Foxconn NT-525 Netbox - Paperweight now?

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#26
No, use a rework station.
You can damage the underlying traces, if you try one of those retarded methods for removing SOIC chips w/ iron (like on youtube).


EDIT: ...or, as Solaris17 said, just hook up a programmer directly to the chip. Use a clip (if you have one), or attach some jumper wires to the chip, or SPI testpads on the board.
gotta be careful with those rework stations, you could end up blowing other stuff of the board if not careful. Better to cover other parts up around the chip, there is tape for it.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#27
Believe it or not I already ran electrical tape around it to isolate the zone but kind of pointless if the SOIC clip will do the job. Lets hope so.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,501 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,590
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#29
Just ordered this (called a Flashcat - more expensive but comes with software and has a 3.3v/5v switch):

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00F2P9AS6/?tag=tec06d-20
That's my daily driver. The new version also does 1.8V SPI/i2c, JTAG and NAND. Also supports QSPI for newer chips (writes 64MBit flash under 2min).
If you have a chance, cancel your order and get a classic version(or a PRO for the same $$ you spent on Amazon) from an official site:
http://www.embeddedcomputers.net/products/FlashcatUSB/
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#30
Its not the latest version that Amazon sells?!! Looks good. Tried to cancel the order but may be too late. However for my needs I really don't need a dual chip programmer. So the basic should be fine.

Thanks for letting me know!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,501 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,590
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#31
Its not the latest version that Amazon sells?!!

Thanks for letting me know!!
It's probably the latest (the seller's name is Flashcat gives a hint), but it's $7 less on their site, plus you don't need all three cables that they bundle.
* The ribbon cable is only useful if you buy their extensions (DIP/SO adapters ets).
* 2.51mm jumpers are practically useless, and you can get those from china in packs of 100 for a couple of bucks anyway
* 2mm jumper wires are good if you work with desktop motherboards frequently.

I'm simply using 2.51mm jumpers with either homemade or cheap chinese adapters. FCUSB is not perfect, but it's definitely better than most cheap programmers.
The only thing I'd give it up for, is Bus Pirate v4 or if some day I'll finish my homebrew Cortex M4F-based monstrosity.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#32
Well it was too late to cancel but as I am a Amazon Prime member I get free shipping so I bet the costs even out in the wash. Got a SOIC8 clip adapter cable on the way too.

If this works I may start taking out old hardware out of the closet and intentionally brick them for fun!

Thanks
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,342 (1.36/day)
Likes
8,051
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#33
Well it was too late to cancel but as I am a Amazon Prime member I get free shipping so I bet the costs even out in the wash. Got a SOIC8 clip adapter cable on the way too.
guess you not seen the news regarding amazon free shipping

to save you googling
and to add insult to injury they will charge you $2 to tip the Driver for your delivery

The online shopping giant has doubled the minimum amount customers need to spend to qualify for free same-day delivery - even for customers who are members of Amazon Prime Now.
another link
http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/uk-news/amazon-prime-delivery-charge-change-13896471
The changes mean shoppers will have to cough up a £3.99 delivery cost plus a £2 tip for the driver on orders under £40, even if you're a £79-a-year paying Prime subscriber, the Mirror reports .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#36
Well that’s old news dated 2002. In any case had a big enough order to qualify for free shipping. There’s no free lunch of course but it worked out.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,342 (1.36/day)
Likes
8,051
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#37
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#38
Like to report success with restoring full functionality of my bios chip using a SOIC jumper cable on the CH341A!!!!

At first I tried using a FlashcatUSB programmer because of the 3.3v 5v issue on the CH341A Black. Trying to use that
device was a pain in the a$$ because setting up the right routing of jumper wires was not an easy task as you had
to study the pin layout of the flash chip and correspond that to the pin layout of the programmer. Biggest issue I
had guessing was where pin 1 red stripe on the cable corresponded to on the block. Took a guess and plugged it
in but the software off of the bat says that the firmware was old and outdated and wouldn't work unless you
upgrade the firmware of which there was two. One for JTAG and one for SPI so I picked SPI confused about my choice.
In anycase after hooking up the jumper cable to the board the power led on the motherboard lit up however
the FlashcatUSB software could not autodetect the kind of flash and refused to enable writing.

So I said screw the volts and followed along a Youtube video on how to use the CH341A with a jumper cable and
the the CH341A software autodetected the chip and after a long 3 minute flash was done and I was back in business!

So to you guys that said take it a shop well so much for that!

Wonder if Amazon will take back the FlashcatUSB device.. waste of money..

Thanks
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#39
Well don't goof up again
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#40
Tempted to try again believe it or not. Feel like now I can recover and learn from my mistakes..

As for your Sig Eidairaman1 I've been plenty stupid and flashed my video cards 10 times over!

Never learn my lesson!

Thanks
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#41
Tempted to try again believe it or not. Feel like now I can recover and learn from my mistakes..

As for your Sig Eidairaman1 I've been plenty stupid and flashed my video cards 10 times over!

Never learn my lesson!

Thanks
I used to do mod bios flashes during the AXP days, I also had a spare bios chip with stock bios on it for possible failures. I currently have a card with dual bios, basically I did it before it was cool and many come here crying because they hard locked their parts...
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#42
Well knowledge is power. I remember I once bricked an old router I tried to put dd-wrt on. Wish I knew where I put it..
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#43
That's my daily driver. The new version also does 1.8V SPI/i2c, JTAG and NAND. Also supports QSPI for newer chips (writes 64MBit flash under 2min).
If you have a chance, cancel your order and get a classic version(or a PRO for the same $$ you spent on Amazon) from an official site:
http://www.embeddedcomputers.net/products/FlashcatUSB/
I run a flashcat as well A+ decision bud! @davidm71

Like to report success with restoring full functionality of my bios chip using a SOIC jumper cable on the CH341A!!!!

At first I tried using a FlashcatUSB programmer because of the 3.3v 5v issue on the CH341A Black. Trying to use that
device was a pain in the a$$ because setting up the right routing of jumper wires was not an easy task as you had
to study the pin layout of the flash chip and correspond that to the pin layout of the programmer. Biggest issue I
had guessing was where pin 1 red stripe on the cable corresponded to on the block. Took a guess and plugged it
in but the software off of the bat says that the firmware was old and outdated and wouldn't work unless you
upgrade the firmware of which there was two. One for JTAG and one for SPI so I picked SPI confused about my choice.
In anycase after hooking up the jumper cable to the board the power led on the motherboard lit up however
the FlashcatUSB software could not autodetect the kind of flash and refused to enable writing.

So I said screw the volts and followed along a Youtube video on how to use the CH341A with a jumper cable and
the the CH341A software autodetected the chip and after a long 3 minute flash was done and I was back in business!

So to you guys that said take it a shop well so much for that!

Wonder if Amazon will take back the FlashcatUSB device.. waste of money..

Thanks
just saw this! good job!
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#44
@Solaris17

Since you use the Flashcat whats the trick to get it working? I mean I followed the manual and ran the jumper wires exactly pin to pin except so->si and si>so and the Flashcat software could not recognize the chip. Is that normal?

Thanks
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#45
@Solaris17

Since you use the Flashcat whats the trick to get it working? I mean I followed the manual and ran the jumper wires exactly pin to pin except so->si and si>so and the Flashcat software could not recognize the chip. Is that normal?

Thanks
It depends. The flashcat isnt only meant for SOIC 8 chips (SPI interface) as such when you first purchase one you must download the software package and open it. After that you plug in and put the flashcat in DFU mode (using the tiny switches on the board) and hit the button to reset it. at that point the software can write TO the flashcat ITSELF and reprogram the ROM. then you chose the SPI.hex firmware and program the flashcat itself. Your now ready to do SPI related flashes.

It seems a little conveluted until you've done it alot. its because the flashcat is pretty versitile. it can do NAND and JTAG as well as SPI.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#46
Yeah I tried that. First thing I did was update the SPI rom version as the software complained it was too old.

Not sure why though it could not identify the rom chip..

Mystery.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#47
Yeah I tried that. First thing I did was update the SPI rom version as the software complained it was too old.

Not sure why though it could not identify the rom chip..

Mystery.
yeah pretty odd man, iv flashed some really obscure HDD controllers and stuff. Maybe a wire wasnt right or something. eitherway you got it working! grats and GJ jumping down the eeprom programming rabbit hole!
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
50
#48
Thanks. Thing was I had no idea how to configure the software settings as it had like Nor Nand and other choices I can't remember right now..

Confusing to use.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,501 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,590
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#49
Not sure why though it could not identify the rom chip..
Usually a bad connection. Jumper wires suck. That's why I made my own set of sockets and adapters for a 10-pin ribbon cable.
Also, some fake Winbond chips don't work in QSPI mode, or report wrong device ID, which may cause issues with flashing, or may not work on certain motherboards (even with proper data).
So far had no problems with any I2C/SPI chips from Winbond (except fakes), Macronix, Atmel etc. Only used JTAG a couple of times to recover my neighbor's smart switches.