1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Flash Proplems

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by GeZuS, Jun 17, 2005.

  1. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tryed flashing my Sapphire 9800 pro(360core) to the XT. i was using atiflash and a geocube bios. i dont have a floppy, so i used a cdrom boot disc. when i started to flash, it gave me a error and froze up. i have a old ati 7500 pci card, and tryed to reflash my 9800 with my old bios. but i still get errors when trying to flash. most of the time it says "Flash not detected". does atiflash have a website or some kind of help? can anyone help me out?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    What command line are you using to flash?

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i used what the guide on this site said to do. atiflash -f -p 0 bios.bin
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,933 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,140
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    k just to be clear bios.bin is the name of the file i.e. 98XT.bin
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah, i named my backup bios i made from atitool oldbios.bin, the geocube was bios.bin
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya hes got a point...make sure where its bios.bin, you have the name of your bios where its says bios.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i changed the bios name to sumthing short like "oldbios" and "bios". easyer to remember that way.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you flash it yet?

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh yeah, and it didnt work. iv always used the name "bios.bin" for the new bios. and "oldbios" for the original bios. i dont get why im having proplems. its very easy thing to do, and iv never had a proplem flashing my motherboard or anything else. sigh.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Well most video cards aren't made to be flashed to another card... ;) Maybe try the modified flashrom from this site, seemed to work for others.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    where do i get that? iv tryed 2.27, and didnt have any luck with that either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, i really appreciate it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    ;)

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. GeZuS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont how or why, but for some reason it worked that time. thanks man, i owe you!! big time!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Glad I could help. :D

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)