• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Flash Proplems

GeZuS

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I tryed flashing my Sapphire 9800 pro(360core) to the XT. i was using atiflash and a geocube bios. i dont have a floppy, so i used a cdrom boot disc. when i started to flash, it gave me a error and froze up. i have a old ati 7500 pci card, and tryed to reflash my 9800 with my old bios. but i still get errors when trying to flash. most of the time it says "Flash not detected". does atiflash have a website or some kind of help? can anyone help me out?
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#2
What command line are you using to flash?

-Dan
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
k just to be clear bios.bin is the name of the file i.e. 98XT.bin
 

GeZuS

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
yeah, i named my backup bios i made from atitool oldbios.bin, the geocube was bios.bin
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#6
Ya hes got a point...make sure where its bios.bin, you have the name of your bios where its says bios.

-Dan
 

GeZuS

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
well i changed the bios name to sumthing short like "oldbios" and "bios". easyer to remember that way.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#8
Did you flash it yet?

-Dan
 

GeZuS

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
oh yeah, and it didnt work. iv always used the name "bios.bin" for the new bios. and "oldbios" for the original bios. i dont get why im having proplems. its very easy thing to do, and iv never had a proplem flashing my motherboard or anything else. sigh.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#10
Well most video cards aren't made to be flashed to another card... ;) Maybe try the modified flashrom from this site, seemed to work for others.

-Dan
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#14
;)

-Dan
 

GeZuS

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
i dont how or why, but for some reason it worked that time. thanks man, i owe you!! big time!!!
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.58/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#16
Glad I could help. :D

-Dan