• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad GPU, PSU or monitor?

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
Hi all, I built my new PC back in February. Every know and then my monitor will randomly go black but the LED power button is still lit and the there's sound coming from my speakers and the keyboard and mouse work just fine. This mainly happens during games but it's definitely not an every day occurrence (rare actually) but it's still alarming. I was using the included DisplayPort cable included with my monitor (Asus V279Q 27") for about a couple of months but started noticing random strange artifacts so I instantly stopped using said cable and have used HDMI 2.0 sense as I discovered the DisplayPort cable isn't certified. The artifacts stopped instantly. I do however get these strange black screens every now and then as I said. My graphics drivers, BIOS and chipset drivers are all up to date. There's never any strange noise coming from my PC when this happens. Does this sound like the monitor is starting to go out or something worse like the GPU or PSU? The PC and monitor are always turned off and unplugged when not in use. The specs are as follow: 3700x EVGA RTX 2080 Super XC Ultra 32GB 3200mhz MSI x570 MPG Gaming Edge Wifi EVGA Supernova 1000W 80+ Gold PSU (complete overkill I know but it's all that was available at the time)
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,533 (0.51/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
Sounds like driver crash to me.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,746 (2.89/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
So the game keeps going but you get a black screen? Or the game stops when it happens ?
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
Hey guys, thanks for the replies! And yes, the game will keep going and I hear sound as well as my mouse and keyboard responding normally. As I said, this isn't an every day occurrence but it's still alarming considering all this hardware isn't even a year old and there's no available GPU's anywhere lol. I noticed today I restarted my PC and as soon as I got to the windows 10 login screen (Windows 10) the screen went black but again the power LEad was still on as if the monitor was powered on. I simply the monitor off and right back on and it worked normally. I was playing Cyberpunk and Titanfall 2 for about 2-4 hours last night without issues so I don't get why this happens. I updated my bios and chipset last night but the problem has occurred before.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,732 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
It could be the DisplayPort cable is faulty that’s causing the blank screen. Is it a certified cable you’re using?

 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,746 (2.89/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Well a driver crash would stop the game. I'm guessing its hardware related
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,732 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
631 (0.52/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3600/15-15-15-15/1.34v (1.38v eff)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
sounds like a bad port/cable.
use a different output on the gpu and if possible on the moni as well.
next swap the hdmi with a known working one (e. g. tv) and use the one from pc on the other device, this way you can see if its that or hw.
before you change anything, go to device manager, show hidden devices and remove/uninstall all monis, then shutdown win..
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,746 (2.89/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Loose or cracked end on a Pcie power cable maybe
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
I will try swapping the HDMI cable when I get home and update any findings, thank you all for your advice! From the sounds of it, my GPU and PSU should be fine right?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
631 (0.52/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3600/15-15-15-15/1.34v (1.38v eff)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
yeah, crashing hw especially when gpu looses power should at least freeze/crash the games.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,005 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
That's a relief to hear! Replacing a $5-20 cable is easy compared to a $500-800 part! Thank you so much, I will update try a different cable and report back any findings! Thanks all and Happy Holidays!
umm have you tried lowering your resolution, just to check since could be from your monitor too
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
631 (0.52/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3600/15-15-15-15/1.34v (1.38v eff)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
? since the (used) resolution works to boot,
and even games are starting, unless something changes the resolution magically, that cant be it.
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
Hello all, so I tried a different HDMI cable today and played Cyberpunk for about 1.5 hours with no issues. However, I started playing Titanfall 2 and was in a match when the monitor again went black but the led power light was still on. There was still sound and and I could hear gun shots as my pressed the mouse buttons. I simply turned off the monitor and turned it back on which fixed the problem. I'm starting to suspect the monitor is going bad. I'm running the monitor at the native resolution of 1080p 144hz. Does this sound like the monitor is going bad?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,893 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Hello all, so I tried a different HDMI cable today and played Cyberpunk for about 1.5 hours with no issues. However, I started playing Titanfall 2 and was in a match when the monitor again went black but the led power light was still on. There was still sound and and I could hear gun shots as my pressed the mouse buttons. I simply turned off the monitor and turned it back on which fixed the problem. I'm starting to suspect the monitor is going bad. I'm running the monitor at the native resolution of 1080p 144hz. Does this sound like the monitor is going bad?

It could be just the connection. With time the connectors corrode or pressure from the cable dangling can loosen the female connector that the cable plugs into. I had similar issues on display port on another rig, running triple panels. Replacing cables led to the same black screens. After a while I had the random idea to push the female port covering thingies together a lil bit making the port tighter. That idea is a lot cheaper than the prospect of randomly replacing panels. Thank goodness that fixed it, haven't had a complaint for a year or so.
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
It could be just the connection. With time the connectors corrode or pressure from the cable dangling can loosen the female connector that the cable plugs into. I had similar issues on display port on another rig, running triple panels. Replacing cables led to the same black screens. After a while I had the random idea to push the female port covering thingies together a lil bit making the port tighter. That idea is a lot cheaper than the prospect of randomly replacing panels. Thank goodness that fixed it, haven't had a complaint for a year or so.

The outlets on the monitor? Maybe I'll try that! Thanks for the tip. So it doesn't sound like a hardware issue, and that my GPU, PSU are fine?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,893 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
The outlets on the monitor? Maybe I'll try that! Thanks for the tip. So it doesn't sound like a hardware issue, and that my GPU, PSU are fine?
It sounds like your other hw is fine.
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
Sounds good, I will try perhaps tightening the HDMI outlet on the back of the monitor and report back. Out of curiosity I asked a Best Buy associate for their opinion and they said it sounds like my GPU is bad but I feel the whole computer would freeze up or I'd get crashes if the GPU was responsible.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,732 (2.62/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
If it was the GPU causing it Windows would be reporting the driver stopped responding, and recovered in the taskbar/system tray area if it is potentially related to a faulty card. Is there anything in the Event Viewer?
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
If it was the GPU causing it Windows would be reporting the driver stopped responding, and recovered in the taskbar/system tray area if it is potentially related to a faulty card. Is there anything in the Event Viewer?

I checked event viewers and didn't see anything related to the display or GPU. I only noticed a couple of critical errors due to the system restarting before the fully shutting down but I doubt that has anything to do with it. Again when the screen goes black, my PC is still on and I hear the game running still. I should probably invest in a higher quality (verified DisplayPort cable) as I'm wondering if this is caused by running 144hz via HDMI.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,005 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
I checked event viewers and didn't see anything related to the display or GPU. I only noticed a couple of critical errors due to the system restarting before the fully shutting down but I doubt that has anything to do with it. Again when the screen goes black, my PC is still on and I hear the game running still. I should probably invest in a higher quality (verified DisplayPort cable) as I'm wondering if this is caused by running 144hz via HDMI.
so have you tried changing it, just to check?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,150 (2.90/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Try the monitor at 120Hz. Screen dropping out whilst everything else runs fine is usually a sync issue that indicates a fault with the display controller on the GPU (unlikely), a fault with the cable or port at either end, or a display controller failing on the monitor.

If you have another display to hand, it's worth using that for a day or two to eliminate the monitor from the equation.
 

Travy_swole

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
16 (0.23/day)
Hi guys! It's been awhile so I thought I'd give an update. I recently purchased a Vesa certified DisplayPort cable and reinstalled a fresh copy of Windows 10 on an NVME M.2 SSD. My monitor (ASUS V279Q is G-Sync compatible and I have it enabled in both Windows and the Nvidia control panel). I've been playing and browsing reddit without issues until tonight. I played Cyberpunk for about two hours, then was browsing Steam when my monitor suddenly went black (PC still on and the power LED on the monitor remained on). I turned the monitor and turned it back on which resolved the issue. I then checked Event Viewer and there was no errors showing for the time that this happened. I'm suspecting my monitor is the culprit or that I possibly hit the cable with my foot sometime that caused it to losen up. All my drivers and Windows is up to date. I wonder if this could have anything to do with the fact that when not in use, my computer and monitor are turned off and unplugged from the wall. Does this still sound like a hardware issue (Monitor, GPU or PSU)? Or maybe the fact that I'm using a Free-Sync monitor with an Nvidia GPU even though it's G-Sync compatible?
 
Top