• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad performance in Half-Life 1.

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
In HL1 with my video card, framerrate is very "rough" (like a slightly variable lower FPS) constantly along the gameplay, HOWEVER with the weaker onboard Intel HD it's smooth as butter. In fact, more modern games like Bioshock Infinite, TF2, HL2, Unigine Heaven/Valley and more work better with the GT 520 as expected.

How it's possible?
Using 320.18 driver.

Thanks

EDIT: In fraps, with the 520 I get 30 FPS, with Intel I get 70 FPS :rockout:

Many thanks, I will try the 314.22 then :).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,651 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,902
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
It's the same with 314.22. :-( but I have it fixed

Changing the rendering to OpenGL instead of D3D (DirectX?) in HL.

I am still curious to know why does D3D mode have such low performance in my 520 compared to Intel HD inside of my Celeron CPU, though.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.71/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
OpenGL is better any way.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
It's the same with 314.22. :-( but I have it fixed

Changing the rendering to OpenGL instead of D3D (DirectX?) in HL.

I am still curious to know why does D3D mode have such low performance in my 520 compared to Intel HD inside of my Celeron CPU, though.
I'm surprised the GT 520 doesn't have enough power to run it smoothly on DX, as it's a modern card, so even though low end, it's similar to a high end card from a decade ago.

I'm not surprised that OGL runs better, since DX is a framerate hog. I discovered this years ago. I had a 6200 AGP graphics card and the framerate more than doubled with OGL. We're talking something like 30fps to 70fps+, the difference was that marked.

EDIT: I have a GT 520, so I'll give this a go and let you know.
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#6
OpenGL for HL1 has been the best setting since the game came out. That was the first game I stayed up all night to purchase at wal-mart when it was released and my mom almost made me go to rehab cause of. I think when CS was introduced I gained 80 pounds.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
OpenGL for HL1 has been the best setting since the game came out. That was the first game I stayed up all night to purchase at wal-mart when it was released and my mom almost made me go to rehab cause of. I think when CS was introduced I gained 80 pounds.
Damn, what a great story! :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#9
I'm surprised the GT 520 doesn't have enough power to run it smoothly on DX, as it's a modern card, so even though low end, it's similar to a high end card from a decade ago.

I'm not surprised that OGL runs better, since DX is a framerate hog. I discovered this years ago. I had a 6200 AGP graphics card and the framerate more than doubled with OGL. We're talking something like 30fps to 70fps+, the difference was that marked.
Many thanks
Yeah, seems that OGL is more efficient than DX in many aspects in any card.

But how come a weaker integrated Intel HD outperforms a dedicated GT520 both in D3D mode? They have the same settings all over. May be some weird compatibility issue? Are new cards except Intel made to work better with new DX? Is my card somewhat malfunctioning?
Watch the videos please :) (Seems that the recording or uploading made the intel video more choppy but it's really smooth
Intel HD in D3D / GT520 in OGL.

GT 520 in D3D.



OpenGL for HL1 has been the best setting since the game came out. That was the first game I stayed up all night to purchase at wal-mart when it was released and my mom almost made me go to rehab cause of. I think when CS was introduced I gained 80 pounds.

Yeah I stayed all day yesterday it's addicting :D (I just started it now)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
It would seem that code optimization might perhaps be the reason why the Intel IGP runs better or compatibility issue as you said and it certainly looks a bit odd.

And yeah, HL1 might be 15 years old and the graphics are really dated, but it's still awesome. :D
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,111 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,294
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#11
might wanna check out Half Life: Source

same game but has had some aspects optimized. My guess is it would run better on todays hardware.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.49/day)
Likes
503
#12
1, Half Life is running on a modified Quake engine which uses OpenGL only, so it's better to use that one. There are High definition packs out there on the web if you need fancy visuals.

2, Stay away from HL: Source, play Black Mesa if you want enhanced graphics (note: game can't be finished in that mod atm). Source ruins the movement (like in CS:S vs CS1.6) and also makes the AI dumber, so stick with the original version imo

3, It should fly 60fps in 1080p with just about anything you can find today (it's certainly does run fluid even on my slowest system which is horribly slow atom based ion-itx server, so the 520 should be enough)
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
153 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
System Name Intranetusa PC
Processor i7 2600K (stock)
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master N520
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7950 1000/1250 (stock)
Storage Intel 160GB SSD, Samsung 1TB HDD
Case Cooler Master Elite
Power Supply Zalman 750watt PSU
Software Windows 7
#13
Or better yet, get Black Mesa Source - basically a full source remake of Half Life 1 with great graphics. (they've made everything except the Xen level)

http://www.blackmesasource.com/

Black Mesa Trailer:

 
Last edited by a moderator:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
It would seem that code optimization might perhaps be the reason why the Intel IGP runs better or compatibility issue as you said and it certainly looks a bit odd.
Naah, every single computer related thing that has come out since 2000 has more than enough oomph to play it properly, optimized or not. It's something else. Not that it matters if it works with the IGP and OpenGL.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,111 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,294
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#15
1, Half Life is running on a modified Quake engine which uses OpenGL only, so it's better to use that one. There are High definition packs out there on the web if you need fancy visuals.

2, Stay away from HL: Source, play Black Mesa if you want enhanced graphics (note: game can't be finished in that mod atm). Source ruins the movement (like in CS:S vs CS1.6) and also makes the AI dumber, so stick with the original version imo

3, It should fly 60fps in 1080p with just about anything you can find today (it's certainly does run fluid even on my slowest system which is horribly slow atom based ion-itx server, so the 520 should be enough)
original version isn't working for him right now, it's laggy. Black Mesa as you said isn't finished so unless he wants to wait another decade for them to get around to finishing it, I don't think that's really an option. Not to mention the ai was never good to begin with and you really must have been playing alot to notice a difference, most won't. I also have no idea what you mean by "ruins the movement" I will say cs 1.6 and cs:s being based on entirely different engines, run on different platforms, and designed by different people, couldn't possibly have the same exact issue.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
Naah, every single computer related thing that has come out since 2000 has more than enough oomph to play it properly, optimized or not. It's something else. Not that it matters if it works with the IGP and OpenGL.
Yeah, +1 to that. there's lots of horsepower there. I'm sitting here quite po-faced at what it could be. I reckon it's driver related somewhere along the line, though.

At a guess, nvidia haven't bothered to make their latest drivers work properly with such old games, because not as many people play them as the latest games. Don't quote me though, lol.

I've seen this first hand when nvidia switched from the Detonator to ForceWare brand for their drivers around a decade ago. My older games played with dreadful microstutter even though fraps showed a solid vsynced 60fps. The latest Detonator at the time played the games smooth as butter - and that was on a weak FX5200 with a mere 128MB RAM.

It took nvidia around two years to fix that and that's why I switched to ATI at the time, because they pissed me off so much over this.

@Derek12: have you tried installing the latest DirectX runtime? It provides fixes and upgrades to DX. Get it here: http://www.microsoft.com/download/e...T.mc_id=MSCOM_EN_US_DLC_MODULE_131Z4ENUS22051

EDIT: the latest June 2010 runtime installer can also be downloaded directly from here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
153 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
System Name Intranetusa PC
Processor i7 2600K (stock)
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master N520
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7950 1000/1250 (stock)
Storage Intel 160GB SSD, Samsung 1TB HDD
Case Cooler Master Elite
Power Supply Zalman 750watt PSU
Software Windows 7
#17
original version isn't working for him right now, it's laggy. Black Mesa as you said isn't finished so unless he wants to wait another decade for them to get around to finishing it, I don't think that's really an option. Not to mention the ai was never good to begin with and you really must have been playing alot to notice a difference, most won't. I also have no idea what you mean by "ruins the movement" I will say cs 1.6 and cs:s being based on entirely different engines, run on different platforms, and designed by different people, couldn't possibly have the same exact issue.
Black Mesa is basically finished (at least the best parts anyways, IMO). They released the first official version September 2012. The only levels that are unfinished are the Xen levels near the end. Those levels are coming out relatively soon too I believe.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#18
Many thanks to all!

@Qubit, I will try the DX runtime now and check. If not, then I will use OpenGL and forget about it, as the game runs fine in it. I am just curious about the D3D performance vs IGP :)

Naah, every single computer related thing that has come out since 2000 has more than enough oomph to play it properly, optimized or not. It's something else. Not that it matters if it works with the IGP and OpenGL.
Yeah as I pointed, I can play more modern games in this computer with the GT 520 just fine (Half-Life 2, Bioshock infinite, Portal 2, Team Fortess 2, Skyrim, Far Cry 3, NFS Most Wanted, etc) some of them on bottom low settings of course so there wouldn't be a logical reason it can't run a 1998 game fine (on D3D) except, as Qubit said and I believe as well, this may be some weird compatibility issue, as OpenGL setting fixes it.

Maybe I will try some of the commented newer versions as well, especially if they bring up more modern graphics.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.49/day)
Likes
503
#19
you really must have been playing alot to notice a difference, most won't..............I also have no idea what you mean by "ruins the movement"
You are right, most probably won't notice a thing but why not go with the best possible and most authentic experience if it's possible? HL1 used a modified Quake engine and while I truly love source (I would probably pick it over Cryengine or any other popular one if I would need to design a game today), but still only id software can code a proper movement, others just trying hard as always....sadly.

however I just realized that the original HL1 movement have been patched (crippled) on Steam, so I highly recommend to go with a custom client: http://ngageclan.ucoz.ru/load/0-0-1-41-20

perhaps vsync=off?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#20
Create or edit the "userconfig.cfg" file and input the following code

fps_max 100
net_graph 3
net_graphpos 3
sv_maxupdaterate 100
rate 25000
cl_dynamiccrosshair 0
cl_cmdrate 95
cl_updaterate 100
hud_fastswitch 1
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#21
Create or edit the "userconfig.cfg" file and input the following code

fps_max 100
net_graph 3
net_graphpos 3
sv_maxupdaterate 100
rate 25000
cl_dynamiccrosshair 0
cl_cmdrate 95
cl_updaterate 100
hud_fastswitch 1
Thanks I don't have this file should I put it on the main program folder?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
Create or edit the "userconfig.cfg" file and input the following code

fps_max 100
net_graph 3
net_graphpos 3
sv_maxupdaterate 100
rate 25000
cl_dynamiccrosshair 0
cl_cmdrate 95
cl_updaterate 100
hud_fastswitch 1
Which version of HL1 does this relate to? Source or standard version?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,177 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,721
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#23
It's the same with 314.22. :-( but I have it fixed

Changing the rendering to OpenGL instead of D3D (DirectX?) in HL.

I am still curious to know why does D3D mode have such low performance in my 520 compared to Intel HD inside of my Celeron CPU, though.
Did you make sure to install all the older DirectX updates for that game? DirectX updates in layers, not just the latest build. Older games need the older DX updates, and if you don't have them, you can run into problems.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#24
Thanks I don't have this file should I put it on the main program folder?
For you, I believe it will go in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Half-Life\valve" folder. Make sure you edit config.cfg and add this line of code at the very end

exec userconfig.cfg

Which version of HL1 does this relate to? Source or standard version?
It may, I have used it before without issues. source and HL1
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#25
Many thanks!

For you, I believe it will go in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Half-Life\valve" folder. Make sure you edit config.cfg and add this line of code at the very end

exec userconfig.cfg
Perfect I will create it and check back HL now.

Did you make sure to install all the older DirectX updates for that game? DirectX updates in layers, not just the latest build. Older games need the older DX updates, and if you don't have them, you can run into problems.
I've installed Directx 9 runtime though, or do you refer to Directx 8 or 7 (is that what HL1 uses right?