• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bad Performance

SeeK

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
138 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Edinburgh, UK
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C9
Video Card(s) CF 2x Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Storage Samsung SP2504C
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#76
markkleb: Hehe... actually, since I got the Chuck patch, I haven't had any problems at all.

xdaxxchampxx: That's pretty much what I get too. Something changed when I got the patch... now I can run at 1280x1024/HDR/4xAA/8xAF with all in-game settings maxed out.
And I get about 65-75 in caves, 50 in houses and about 30-40 in forests, with drops down to about 24 sometimes. So it's pretty okay now.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#77
when u say fully maxed out seek.. do u really mean setting manually all those slider bars fully over to the right and with everything switched on.. ???

trog
 

SeeK

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
138 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Edinburgh, UK
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C9
Video Card(s) CF 2x Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Storage Samsung SP2504C
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#78
Yeah, that's right.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
128 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Homebrew
Processor Intel I5 4690k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5
Cooling CPU: Prolimatek Megahelim 2+1 exhaust fan GPU: 570lx 240mm AIO w/kraken G10 + Ramsinks
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 2400 Savage 2 x 8Gb
Video Card(s) Asus 280X DC2T 3GD5 1140/1500Mhz
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb, HGST HDN724040ALE640, ST350064 500Gb, WD10EACS 1Tb, WD20EARS 2Tb
Display(s) Benq GW2265
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Gigabyte M6900
Keyboard Logitech G15 + Wolfking circular gaming KB
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/system-spec.html
#79
trog100 said:
"Try this it should help a bit, claims HDR+AA"

some more misinformation.. posted with good intent.. this wont help in the slightest.. in fact it will do the opposite to help.. it will hinder.. hdr and aa together with cause a performance hit.. give more eye candy but less fps.. with a game like oblivion more eye candy is the last thing we need..

no offence intended megatron.. hope u didnt take any..

trog
QFE:nutkick:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#80
"Praise be Akatosh... it's working. HDR. And AA. Combined. I tried running at 1280x1024/HDR/6xTAAA/16xHQAF with all settings in the game maxed. Holy hell. I... this is amazing. Just wow.

A slideshow of pictures that are too beautiful to describe with my vocabulary. Shit. It really is increadibly beautiful. And I get ~5 FPS. Stunning. Wow. Amazing.

... Of course I cannot play with such a framrate. Therefore my current settings are 1280x1024/HDR/2xAA/8xAF at maxed settings. Flows pretty okay at ~40 FPS in Chorrol and about half that in forests. This shit is still very beautiful. I can't wait to get my hands on a X2900XTX. Then I'm going to play this game. At the top. Settings. Wow."

the problem is megatron.. the above is seeks first post after the patch download it does kinda conflict with his last one.. he he he

i had better find the patch and download it.. cos if seeks last post is the one to believe the patch must be working bloody miracles.. he he he

the only way to find out is to try it and see.. i recon..

trog
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#81
well.. just i installed the chuck patch.. i was running 6 x AA and bloom lighting before..

i nips into the video settings and click HDR to "on".. up pops message saying u cant have hdr and aa together.. but i ignores it thinking the chuck patch would give me it anyways.. i do notice a frame rate improvement.. but when i went back the video settinngs they tell me AA is off.. so i attempts to turn it on..

up pops the message telling me HDR is gonna be turned off so i set 6 x AA and look at some frame rates.. they are back where they were before i turned HDR on..

basically the chuck patch dosnt work at all with my game.. but HDR gives better frame rates than does bloom and 6 x AA.. which figures cos 6 x AA will hit the performance more than HDR does..

but the chuck patch dosnt let me run the two together.. what it does for other folks i dont know.. but it dosnt work for me..

trog
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
128 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name Homebrew
Processor Intel I5 4690k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5
Cooling CPU: Prolimatek Megahelim 2+1 exhaust fan GPU: 570lx 240mm AIO w/kraken G10 + Ramsinks
Memory Kingston Hyper-X 2400 Savage 2 x 8Gb
Video Card(s) Asus 280X DC2T 3GD5 1140/1500Mhz
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb, HGST HDN724040ALE640, ST350064 500Gb, WD10EACS 1Tb, WD20EARS 2Tb
Display(s) Benq GW2265
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Gigabyte M6900
Keyboard Logitech G15 + Wolfking circular gaming KB
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/system-spec.html
#82
Megatron said:
Note: You will need to enable HDR and disable AA in Oblivion while enabling AA within the Catalyst Control Center.

I dont mean to be patronising but did you follow these instructions?
:p
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#83
nope not exactly i tend to read instructions when all else fails.. he he

i will follow yours and see what happens.. i had simply tried it in the game..

trog
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#84
well bin there done that.. but..???

before the chuck patch arrive i had experimented with with either hdr or bloom and 6 x AA.. from a "jaggy" point of view hdr dosnt seem to need AA.. but i thought the peoples faces looked too shiny so i opted for bloom and 6 xAA.. i never tried bloom without AA..

i know setting AA in the ccc should over ride game settings.. i always set mine to application preference.. but i do wonder exactly what oblivion does when someone has forced AA in the ccc with no chuck patch and tries to set HDR in the game.. would the option be greyed out or simply be ignored..??

having supposedly forced AA in the ccc.. the game still says i cant have it and supposedly the chuck patch ignores the game sttings and give me what i have in the ccc 6 x AA..

but do i believe chuck.. he he he.. do i have 6 x AA and hdr.. ???? or do i not.. my frame rates seem the same as with no 6 x AA.. i cant see any visual improvements thow there were no jaggies to be seen anyways with just hdr and no AA..

i still recon it aint working.. he he he.. i really do find it impossible to believe that i can set 6 x AA without some drop in frame rates.. and thats apart from the no visual improvement factor.. not as any was needed it looks pretty enough with hdr and no AA....

i recon an LCD monitor helps with jaggies.. when u run at a resolution less than the monitors native resolution as i mostly do.. the monitor interpolates and tries to produce a false resolution.. in window this causes the image to lose sharpness and is bad thing..

but i think this monitor interpolation when in a game tends to act just like AA does.. it slightly blurs everything together and lessens the jaggy effect u would normally get without AA..

my monitors native resolution is 1680 x 1050.. i am running oblivion at 1200 x 750-sh..

i have to switch off hdr and see what difference 6 X AA makes visually to my frame rates and any possible jaggies.. i expect both a visual improvement (less jaggies) and noticable drop in frame rates..

trog
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#85
yep its working.. the trouble is i have to shut down the game before each change takes affect.. but by carefully standing in exactly the same place and holding my sword up in front of me i can test both for jaggies along the sword edge and fps.. running my monitor at 1280 x 750 i have to look hard to see jaggies..

amazingly the fps difference between 6 x AA and no AA is very small.. from say 35 fps to 33 or 32 fps.. with both AA and HDR it drop to 30-ish.. nothing massive and far less than i expected.. but then again the visual improvement dont exactly hit me in the eye either.. he he..

but it works.. even if the ingame settings says it dosnt.. and at lower resolutions it will make a bigger difference..

with an x1900 card the ccc can be left at forced 6 x AA except for benching.. there aint no real need for the standard application preference i have always used..

trog
 

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#86
look at my specs, i play oblivion maxed out @ 1024x768, with 2xAA and HDR.

Forests:
15-25 fps
10-15 in combat

caves:
40-60 fps
30-40 in combat

Large City during the day:
25-40 depending on the number of NPC's and objects
25-30 depending on the number of NPC's and objects

i dont understand someone playing at 1280x1024 er whatever it is, do you have a HD moniter? most standard CRTs dont dont have that much detail in the first place.
 

SeeK

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
138 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Edinburgh, UK
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C9
Video Card(s) CF 2x Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Storage Samsung SP2504C
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#87
How can you guys have so high frameates? If I enable 6xAA in CCC I notice a HUGE drop... or was that 6xTAAA? Might be... hehehe.

But now that I've tried playing with AA I'll never run without it again. The difference is huge, even at 2xAA.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Maine, USA
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
Motherboard Asus A8N-E
Cooling Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
Memory 2 Gb Corsair
Video Card(s) Problematic Asus EN7900GT TOP
Storage Seagate Barracuda 250Gb
Case Antec SLK2650-BQE
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Power Supply Enermax ELT500AWT
Software Win XP Pro SP2
#88
bigboi86 said:
When you pay 400dollars for a video card though, you expect it to handle everything you throw at it.
Personally, I downgraded "expect" to "hope" :D