• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bad Pool Caller BSOD

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#1
First time I've come across this BSOD... what is the cause & solution :confused:
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#2
I've just had another BSOD :(

This time it say's "driver IRQL is not less or equal.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#3
I can't tell you how many times I've run into that driver error. I've reinstalled win7 an insane amount of times and it kept coming back. As soon as I turned auto updates off for non-windows based things, it never came up again. It almost always started right after I updated my office 2007 through windows update. Do you have that and have you updated it? That could be an issue or it could just be strange coincidence, but again since I reinstalled win7 again and turned off the office updates I've never had that driver issue since.

Good luck to you!
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#4
Installed a new driver lately?
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#5
I do have office, can't say I've installed any kind of update in the past 48 hours so maybe it's not that, nor have I installed any new drivers either.

Come to think of it though I was having BSOD's the other week due to a faulty PCI WLan card, but it stopped on it's own, I kind of have a gut feeling it is still to do with the WLan card... maybe I'm wrong.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#6
I do have office, can't say I've installed any kind of update in the past 48 hours so maybe it's not that, nor have I installed any new drivers either.

Come to think of it though I was having BSOD's the other week due to a faulty PCI WLan card, but it stopped on it's own, I kind of have a gut feeling it is still to do with the WLan card... maybe I'm wrong.
Well, pull out the WLAN card and see if it still happens :)
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#7
Well, pull out the WLAN card and see if it still happens :)
Well to be honest if I did that I would be without the net for hours if not days waiting for a BSOD which possibly might not come.

However I've changed my WLan card for another one of the same brand & model from a sister rig and so far I've had no problem's.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
what is the BSOD stop code?
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#9
What part of the BSOD would the stop code be?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
were it says 0x0000000D1 or something like that
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#11
If I get another related BSOD then I'll post back here, but untill then ... :)
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#12
Ok so I got another BSOD a few minutes ago this time I've got the stop code....


 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#13
Him I've gotten your first two BSOD's when trying to overclock my Phenom Processor, so those are hardware related and the last one I would get randomly on my laptop.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#14
nwifi.sys... It's definitely the WLAN card / its drivers.

Get new drivers, or try a different WLAN card with different drivers.

if nwifi.sys itself is a system file, try repairing it.
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#15
From what I know so far this is just a 64bit driver issue, I've been using the same card and a 32bit driver on my sister rig and never a problem.

Is there anyone here who user's Windows 7 64bit with a Marvell Liberties WLan card?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#16
Bad pool call is a memory, or memory controller error. Check your memory or loosen the timings and try to replicate the events that caused the error.
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#17
Bad pool call is a memory, or memory controller error. Check your memory or loosen the timings and try to replicate the events that caused the error.
My memory/RAM has been as it was since the day I brought the rig.


Seem's like I'm finding a few different problem's that I've not come across at all before :(
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.08/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#18
My memory/RAM has been as it was since the day I brought the rig.
Even more reason to let memtest run to make sure everything is ok.
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#19
ARGH!!! Another BSOD this time it has happened while using a different WLan card, well infact it's not a card it's a USB Dongle, but anyways the BSOD is below. It is obviously something to do with just my wireless as it's happened on 3 different WLan cards/dongle.

 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#20
is it the same blue screen for each of the 3 different cards?
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#21
I've now posted 2 of the 3 BSOD's...

The stop code's are different, however to me it clearly is a wireless connection error in some form, maybe?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.08/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#22
Have you tried letting Windows assign a driver to it?

Have you tried installing the driver in Vista compatibility mode?
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#23
The driver installed for the WLan card/s is the one windows assign's.

As for my USB WLan dongle I have to install the driver via the Netgear software.

Also another thing to add is that I've not had a problem in the past 3 month's of using Windows 7.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.08/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#24
What first brought on the BSOD?
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#25
I may be wrong here but they seem to happen when I'm using the internet for streaming TV or other mid/high level usage.