• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Sector on my Samsung F1 750gb

Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#1
I get that status bad thing at boot and when i do a scan i get one error.
I have heard of a few problems with this exact drive a few months into use it dies, either that or it dies on first use. Exactly what i think is happening to mine!

Anyway it has been fine for a while and even with the error i still use it, i got a blue screen when i was writing a dvd that i was making into an iso. Could this be related to the bad sector?

I am trying to avoid a £50 purchase on a new drive, i could try an RMA tho. Samsung ive heard are rubbish at RMA. I got the drive as a replacement to replace another broken samsung that was broken at delivery. Free from, the seller.

Got any programs i can use to check it or try to repair it with before i try a RMA.

HD753LJ
 

Exavier

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
981 (0.27/day)
Likes
78
Location
Bath, UK
Processor Q6600 G0 Stepping @3.4
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS-PLUS
Cooling Fitseries3 Edition Fuzion v1, XSPC Razor X2, XSPC RS320, Hydor L30
Memory Crucial Ballistix @972mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB x2 (I need another OS drive LOL)
Display(s) Sony Bravia 40L4000 40" HDTV :D
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Mod is a WIP)
Power Supply Corsair HX620w
Software Windows Vista
#3
both my 1TB are fine..but the 750 uses a different amount of platters iirc so it might be related to that..let us know how you get on
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
#4
I have the same kind of problems.
More info in the thread (which no one answered though)
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=74358

After I ran the chdsk, it has randomly gave a blue screen, but rarely with the same error.
Some of the bsod:s have probably been caused by my oc attempts.

Anyway, just wanted to say, I feel your pain ;)
I haven't RMA'd this yet, because it's my only drive atm, and don't want to lose everything on it. It would cause too much downtime for my comp too...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#5
i know it sucks but i was like meh ill ignore this error untill the thing pants its last breath

i did 19hours of scanning and gave up it was estimated at over 100hours scan time


the error must be at the other end of the disk or something

fast piece of kit i might see about rma there is a website for it so ill check that out
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
120 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
Switzerland
Processor Intel i7 6700K 4GHZ
Motherboard MSI Z270 M6 AC
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2x8GB 2666Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X 11GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Toshiba E300 2TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
Never mess with HDD's... RMA the moment you have an error or else it might die during a critical time. And BACK-UP your data, very important.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#7
If you want to repair the sector then go and grab UBCD v5, http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1754. Tons of diagnostic utilities but go into HDD, diagnostic, and there should be a tool for Samsung. Let it do the quick and extended scan on the drive. It should report the error and ask if you want it fixed but be warned, fixing a sector can cause your data to be lost so I take no responsibility.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#8
i accept full responsibility for lost data right so ill do a scan on that tool you mentioned

failing that its RMA time
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Bad Sector=Backup and RMA

I don't risk data loss.
 

Metropolis

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2Q Q9450 @ 3.75Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus 4870 1GB
Storage x2 Samsung F1 750GB
Display(s) Yuraku 24
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Software Vista 64 Sp2
#10
Try this tool http://www.samsung.com/global/business/hdd/support/utilities/ES_Tool.html it can most of the time find problems without doing an entire suface scan

also to RMA your drive you need to go here http://www.rexo.co.uk/ since they deal with samsung's hdd's i think they have 3years warranty anyway plus they dont need a proof of purchase since the website checks the details of your serial but dont wait for it to die because it will just degrade and get worse and worse
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
I´m having problems with my samsung f1 320gb. HDD Scan shows "184 End to End Error" and when booting up shows SMART AJ26 error message. I did the complete surface scan with ES-Tool and got 0 bad block.

:banghead:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#12
184 End to End Error is exactly what im getting its a smart error B8 was appearing in sisoftware sandra

es-tool too didnt find anything

i also did a format with the tool

still now im getting an error as soon as i log in and this sould be what the memory errors are all about too

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S.M.A.R.T.

184 B8 End-to-End error
This attribute is a part of HP's SMART IV technology and it means that after transferring through the cache RAM data buffer the parity data between the host and the hard drive did not match.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
817 (0.25/day)
Likes
93
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#13
don't bother trying to repair it. Back up your data and RMA it.

Then when that seagate drive fails.... buy a Western Digital
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#14
btw its not a seagate its a samsung F1 i am on the rexo rma website to get it repaired or repaired

slowly its dying i have already backed it up to a 500GB seagate 7200.11

dont worry the only way to fix it is RMA its in warrenty to 2011
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
817 (0.25/day)
Likes
93
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#15
btw its not a seagate its a samsung F1 i am on the rexo rma website to get it repaired or repaired

slowly its dying i have already backed it up to a 500GB seagate 7200.11

dont worry the only way to fix it is RMA its in warrenty to 2011
Sorry, I guess I missed read that. anyway... that is even more of a reason to switch to WD
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
1,937 (0.47/day)
Likes
103
Location
Fremont, Ohio
System Name The Darkside
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB GSKILL Ares PC3-12800
Video Card(s) VisionTek R9 270x
Storage 250GB, 320GB, 1TB, & 2TB Seagate
Display(s) 40" Sharp Aquos Quattron 1080p
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Reltek
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#16
Shoot I bought a Samsung F1 250GB and it worked for a while and one day turned the computer on and it just clicks. The RMA date was like 3 days past due and I was mad. So I have a paperweight now lol. But yea i bought WD ever since and never had a problem with them! Bad sectors sometimes just sneak up on ya and kill the drive...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#17
the drive was a free upgrade and then i even got a refund for the drive this was back when i bought a faulty samsung but it wasnt F1 it was the series before that

so the drive cost nothing and it is one of the fastest drive available not the fastest but up there

anyway i dont mind as long as the next drive is okay

thanks for the advice guys
 

SparkyJJO

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
311 (0.10/day)
Likes
33
System Name Dominator
Processor Core i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling XSPC Raystorm, MCW82, MCR320, DDC 3.2 Petras top, EK150 res
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 7950
Storage 2x Crucial M4 256GB SSD, 500GB and 1TB Samsung storage
Display(s) Samsung 46" HDTV :D
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 (modded for internal WC)
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#18
I've only ever had to RMA one Samsung drive. It was a freak drive, would act like you pulled the data cable if you had static discharge on the case.

The RMA process wasn't that bad. Didn't take too long to get a new drive and it has been fine since.

Almost all the drives that have failed on me have been Maxtor or WD, though this was a while ago.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#19
so i have to RMA it within 30days ill get it formatted and sent away

i already have my data backed up so its justa case of partitioning the other hard drive so i can get my OS on that for the now