• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ballistix Elite 3466 MHz DDR4

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
Ballistix Elite DDR4 sticks have been granted a speed bump all the way up to 3466 MHz. We take the 8 GB DIMMs for a spin on Intel's Z270 platform because these sticks are still too Elite for AMD systems.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,158 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
I havent seen Crucial Ballistix at my local computer stores for years. They pretty much stock only Gskill, Corsair and Kingston these days.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
1,570 (0.63/day)
Likes
398
Location
Pune
#4
From the pics it seems like it's possible to remove those screws and have right orientation of labels(if someone is OCD about such things). Otherwise I dont think those labels are a big issue. Also how is missing leds a CON? Crucial has a RGB tracer ram on its way soon so if someone wants a RGB ram they can simply wait for couple of weeks.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,954 (0.41/day)
Likes
943
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#5
I havent seen Crucial Ballistix at my local computer stores for years. They pretty much stock only Gskill, Corsair and Kingston these days.
Might be because Crucial mostly sells memory direct online these days?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
From the pics it seems like it's possible to remove those screws and have right orientation of labels(if someone is OCD about such things). Otherwise I dont think those labels are a big issue. Also how is missing leds a CON? Crucial has a RGB tracer ram on its way soon so if someone wants a RGB ram they can simply wait for couple of weeks.
Those cons don't always have an impact on score. They are just things to consider. So, yeah, you can swap he tops for sure (I've done it before), asnd yeah, no LEDs area con these days when everything has LEDs and you don't. And yes, RGB Ballistix are inbound.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
511 (0.14/day)
Likes
95
Location
Montreal
System Name Sairikiki / Tesseract
Processor i7 920@3.56/ i5 4690k@4.2
Motherboard GB EX58-UDP4 / GB Z97MX-G5
Cooling H60 / LQ-310
Memory Corsair Something 12 / Corsair 16
Video Card(s) TriX 290 / Devil RX480
Storage Way too many...
Display(s) QNIX 1440p 96Hz / Sony w800b
Case AzzA 1000 / Carbide 240
Audio Device(s) Auzen Forte / board + Yamaha RX-V475 + Pioneer AJ
Power Supply Corsair HX750 / Dark Power PRO10
Software w10 64 / w10 64
Benchmark Scores I don't play benchmarks...
#7
Any chance you can include memory tests on Ryzen in the future? We know the stuff will work on Intel, and the AMD results will likely be more lively.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
Any chance you can include memory tests on Ryzen in the future? We know the stuff will work on Intel, and the AMD results will likely be more lively.
Ryzen memory clocking is a mixed bag. I have one Ryzen-ready kit for board testing, and was thinking of doing a review, yet since the Ryzen IMC favors certain ICs, what would I actually be doing the review for?

I mean, I most definitely could test Ryzen systems, but the only data I would be giving in such a situation is whether the board I'm using is ready, and not the Ryzen platform itself, or the memory.

(And yes, I do test all kits on Ryzen, but not ready to write about it yet, for the reason mentioned above.)
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
94 (0.04/day)
Likes
38
Location
Poznan, Poland
#9
Any chance you can include memory tests on Ryzen in the future? We know the stuff will work on Intel, and the AMD results will likely be more lively.
I was testing this memory on Ryzen ~2 months ago and it's still in my Ryzen gaming rig. There are no issues at 3200 14-14-14 1.35V on ASUS/Gigabyte/Biostar but as I said, I was testing it before new AGESA release so I had no chance to test it above 3200. There is new BIOS for my Biostar ITX board but I had no time to check it yet.

Here is forum thread with some of my tests made in March:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...te-2x8GB-DDR4-3466-BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK?p=8001298
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#10
i see the lack of lights as a plus point :D

just saying :love:
 

Zeed

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2017
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Ryzen memory clocking is a mixed bag. I have one Ryzen-ready kit for board testing, and was thinking of doing a review, yet since the Ryzen IMC favors certain ICs, what would I actually be doing the review for?

I mean, I most definitely could test Ryzen systems, but the only data I would be giving in such a situation is whether the board I'm using is ready, and not the Ryzen platform itself, or the memory.

(And yes, I do test all kits on Ryzen, but not ready to write about it yet, for the reason mentioned above.)

Ye but how do we know if it even works with Ryzen at all ??
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
Ye but how do we know if it even works with Ryzen at all ??
I cannot go and say a product not on QVL and not made for a platform works fine, in an official context, as I do not want to misguide someone into purchasing the wrong stuff. I take doing reviews very seriously, and strive to not give information that may cause issues. That is in part why my OC voltage recommendations have been called "conservative". I make sure, when giving advice, that it applies to all situations, or is in a very specific context.

In a direct answer to your question, all DDR4 memory works with Ryzen, the question that remains is whether the memory can work at its "rated" speed, and the board and BIOS used play a huge role in that.


See me not posting AMD board reviews? OEMs aren't sending them to me. Perhaps there is something they don't want me to say? I dunno...
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#14
How about min fps in the chart? You talk about it in the conclusion and rightly so. I think it be a good addition to just a number(is it high low, avg?)
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
128 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
#15
True, though it has a habit of dying suddenly. I've received quite a few DOA B-Die sticks myself. On the other hand it is the best clocking DDR4 IC to date. The Crucials could be a gem since they don't have any SKUs higher than 3466 so the binning likely isn't as tight as G.Skill's/Corsair's etc.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
94 (0.04/day)
Likes
38
Location
Poznan, Poland
#16
My kit can make 4200+ at more relaxed timings but doesn't like really tight timings at 3733+ ( 12-12-12 or something near ). On the other hand it works better on Ryzen boards than any G.Skill or anything else that I have and is easier to stabilize at 3200+.
So far I had no dead Samsung B and I was testing them up to 2V+. Right now I have 7 kits and many others were sold. Some don't like higher voltages.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#18
If you undo the screws can you remove the heat sink bits on the top? Thus making the RAM regular sized.
It will shorten the ram a wee bit, but not a lot. The sides extend up under the top cover a bit.