1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ballistix Elite 3466 MHz DDR4

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Jul 13, 2017.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,249 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,431
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Sabishii Hito

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    More B-Die!!!!1111ONE

    Well hopefully these will cost less than the likes of Corsair and G.Skill.
     
    Nuckles56 and cadaveca say thanks.
  3. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    243
    Location:
    Australia
    I havent seen Crucial Ballistix at my local computer stores for years. They pretty much stock only Gskill, Corsair and Kingston these days.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  4. Chaitanya

    Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,338 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    Pune
    From the pics it seems like it's possible to remove those screws and have right orientation of labels(if someone is OCD about such things). Otherwise I dont think those labels are a big issue. Also how is missing leds a CON? Crucial has a RGB tracer ram on its way soon so if someone wants a RGB ram they can simply wait for couple of weeks.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  5. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,729 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    Location:
    Formosa
    Might be because Crucial mostly sells memory direct online these days?
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,249 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,431
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Those cons don't always have an impact on score. They are just things to consider. So, yeah, you can swap he tops for sure (I've done it before), asnd yeah, no LEDs area con these days when everything has LEDs and you don't. And yes, RGB Ballistix are inbound.
     
    vega22 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    501 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Montreal
    Any chance you can include memory tests on Ryzen in the future? We know the stuff will work on Intel, and the AMD results will likely be more lively.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,249 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,431
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Ryzen memory clocking is a mixed bag. I have one Ryzen-ready kit for board testing, and was thinking of doing a review, yet since the Ryzen IMC favors certain ICs, what would I actually be doing the review for?

    I mean, I most definitely could test Ryzen systems, but the only data I would be giving in such a situation is whether the board I'm using is ready, and not the Ryzen platform itself, or the memory.

    (And yes, I do test all kits on Ryzen, but not ready to write about it yet, for the reason mentioned above.)
     
    infrared and Chaitanya say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Woomack

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    92 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    I was testing this memory on Ryzen ~2 months ago and it's still in my Ryzen gaming rig. There are no issues at 3200 14-14-14 1.35V on ASUS/Gigabyte/Biostar but as I said, I was testing it before new AGESA release so I had no chance to test it above 3200. There is new BIOS for my Biostar ITX board but I had no time to check it yet.

    Here is forum thread with some of my tests made in March:
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...te-2x8GB-DDR4-3466-BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK?p=8001298
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  10. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    i see the lack of lights as a plus point :D

    just saying :love:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Zeed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Ye but how do we know if it even works with Ryzen at all ??
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,249 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,431
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    I cannot go and say a product not on QVL and not made for a platform works fine, in an official context, as I do not want to misguide someone into purchasing the wrong stuff. I take doing reviews very seriously, and strive to not give information that may cause issues. That is in part why my OC voltage recommendations have been called "conservative". I make sure, when giving advice, that it applies to all situations, or is in a very specific context.

    In a direct answer to your question, all DDR4 memory works with Ryzen, the question that remains is whether the memory can work at its "rated" speed, and the board and BIOS used play a huge role in that.


    See me not posting AMD board reviews? OEMs aren't sending them to me. Perhaps there is something they don't want me to say? I dunno...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ps000000

    ps000000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    B-Die is good.
     
  14. cellar door New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    How about min fps in the chart? You talk about it in the conclusion and rightly so. I think it be a good addition to just a number(is it high low, avg?)
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  15. Sabishii Hito

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    True, though it has a habit of dying suddenly. I've received quite a few DOA B-Die sticks myself. On the other hand it is the best clocking DDR4 IC to date. The Crucials could be a gem since they don't have any SKUs higher than 3466 so the binning likely isn't as tight as G.Skill's/Corsair's etc.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  16. Woomack

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    92 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    My kit can make 4200+ at more relaxed timings but doesn't like really tight timings at 3733+ ( 12-12-12 or something near ). On the other hand it works better on Ryzen boards than any G.Skill or anything else that I have and is easier to stabilize at 3200+.
    So far I had no dead Samsung B and I was testing them up to 2V+. Right now I have 7 kits and many others were sold. Some don't like higher voltages.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  17. Ubersonic

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    370 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    If you undo the screws can you remove the heat sink bits on the top? Thus making the RAM regular sized.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,249 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,431
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    It will shorten the ram a wee bit, but not a lot. The sides extend up under the top cover a bit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)