• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Batman:AC Question

Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#1
I just noticed Batman:AC installs the AMD Dual-Core optimizer on my Intel rig. Is this thing safe to uninstall and not effect the game? I would hate to uninstall it and screw the game up.
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
i would assume so
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#3
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
353 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#4
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#5
I would leave it "The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.
"
Won't cause you any mischeif.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#6
I would leave it "The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.
"
Won't cause you any mischeif.
Ya know I should have but I rolled the dice. I uninstalled it and it ran fine. I checked MSCONFIG and the damn thing was still listed as a start up item. I found the registry entry and removed it. So far the game and everything runs ok. Time will tell. I really need to learn to leave well enough alone. :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
353 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#7
Ya know I should have but I rolled the dice. I uninstalled it and it ran fine. I checked MSCONFIG and the damn thing was still listed as a start up item. I found the registry entry and removed it. So far the game and everything runs ok. Time will tell. I really need to learn to leave well enough alone. :laugh:
It shouldn't have any effect on your system, as I posted earlier it is meant for older Dual-Core AMD CPU's and Windows XP.

http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/dyn...432-4756-aafa-4d9dc646342f&ItemID=153&lang=us
AMD Dual-Core Optimizer Version 1.1.4
Description:

The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.

This driver is for Windows XP only.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_Stamp_Counter
AMD processors up to the K8 core always incremented the time-stamp counter every clock cycle.[6] Thus, power management features were able to change the number of increments per second, and the values could get out of sync between different cores or processors in the same system. For Windows, AMD provides a utility[7] to periodically synchronize the counters on multiple core CPUs. Since the family 10h (Barcelona/Phenom), AMD chips feature a constant TSC, which can be driven either by the Hypertransport speed or the highest P state. A CPUID bit (Fn8000_0007:EDX_8) advertises this.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#8
It shouldn't have any effect on your system, as I posted earlier it is meant for older Dual-Core AMD CPU's and Windows XP.

http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/dyn...432-4756-aafa-4d9dc646342f&ItemID=153&lang=us


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_Stamp_Counter
I know what it is. Its just annoying as hell it was even installed. Its just another useless process I don't want/need.

Anyway I uninstalled it and removed the start up entry in the registry. Ill post back here if it causes any issues.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#9
I should have bough this game recently for 66% off because I am remotivated to go back and finish the first one now after seeing TDKR (never did due to GFWL refusing to see/load my saves...don't even get me started). So, in other words, finally motivated to start it over (which I never was having been halfway through grr). Also have an Nvidia card now...
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
I should have bough this game recently for 66% off because I am remotivated to go back and finish the first one now after seeing TDKR (never did due to GFWL refusing to see/load my saves...don't even get me started). So, in other words, finally motivated to start it over (which I never was having been halfway through grr). Also have an Nvidia card now...
Dude both Batman games are so well done, they give me hope in the future of gaming. This is how to make an epic single player experience and stay true to a character.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
335
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#11
batman AC is a real treat... even after i'd finished the main campaign i found myself loading it up and starting a brawl with large groups for fun.....

excellent game...
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.12/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#12
Dude both Batman games are so well done, they give me hope in the future of gaming. This is how to make an epic single player experience and stay true to a character.
I agree, it's a fantastic game and the graphics are amazing. And don't believe those who will tell you PhysX in this game is worthless.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.24/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#13
Yeah I removed it.
I see no point in it being there in my system.

I recall Duke Nukem doing the same thing and from what I recall caused issues with certain Intel rigs when playing the game.

EDIT:-
Somewhat OT, those riddler trophies and riddles are really hard to find 100%.
Can't find anymore of The Riddler's henchmen to give me the locations of the last ones.

Cat womans story line quests were easy enough though.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
353 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#14
Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City utilize PhysX more than most other games with it and both are very fun, but in my opinion to short, and BAC is poorly optimized with DX11, and I personally wish they would have done more story based DLC's with BAC.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,172 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,720
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#15
I agree, it's a fantastic game and the graphics are amazing. And don't believe those who will tell you PhysX in this game is worthless.
Actually it's the DX11 implementation on the PC version of B: AC that most complained about. The only really noticeable high tesselation was on Ivy's vines, yet still the performance plummeted throughout the game. It's also noticeably hitchier in many places than Arkham Asylum was, esp in the ruined underground passages leading to the subway station.

If you grade on a curve, they're still both great games, but I feel switching from Eidos to Warner Bros Games on the publishing end resulted in a lot of little QC issues. B: AC's story also could have been done much better. Lots' of great villains, but little to flesh them or the missions with them out.

Where B: AC shines the most is it's improved combat system, added difficulty of New Game Plus mode, and the many engaging trophies, riddles and challenges it has. The interludes playing as Catwoman were kinda nice too. It had been nice if they'd included one or two missions as Robin though. Only place you can do that is in the challenge maps or the Harley Quinn's Revenge DLC, which isn't bad, but not as challenging as the game.

One thing I will always give Rocksteady kudos for is making fantastic use of UE3 in overall visual quality. No one else has utilized it as well graphically really. Not even Epic Games whom made the engine can come close to the detail they've achieved. I'm just sad to see Eidos lose the series, they were better at QC, and forum support. One of the last good publishers out there really, and since they're pretty good developers too, they understand both ends of it and take a competent, hands on approach to the publishing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.24/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#16
Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City utilize PhysX more than most other games with it and both are very fun, but in my opinion to short, and BAC is poorly optimized with DX11, and I personally wish they would have done more story based DLC's with BAC.
The whole thing is poorly optimized.
Apparently DX9 became worse after the patch.
Possibly trying t make DX11 better.
I think they bit off a bit more than they could chew with the whole free roam concept and Unreal Engine 3 being able to cope with it.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,172 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,720
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#17
The whole thing is poorly optimized.
Apparently DX9 became worse after the patch.
Possibly trying t make DX11 better.
I think they bit off a bit more than they could chew with the whole free roam concept and Unreal Engine 3 being able to cope with it.
I have it updated and have ran the DLC and I saw no performance drop even on just a GTS 250. It's not as polished performance wise as Arkham Asylum, but I doubt it's solely due to UE3 not being able to handle it, unless you mean specifically DX11 support. I blame it more on WBG not giving enough time and funding to the normal routine optimizing schemes, like making sure all non visible textures are occluded, checking for mem leaks, etc. UE3 has always been suited for large maps, that's one reason so many devs use it. Furthermore, free roam mode has nothing to do with any performance issues. If anything there is less scripts being triggered in free roam than during the normal gameplay.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#18
I agree, it's a fantastic game and the graphics are amazing. And don't believe those who will tell you PhysX in this game is worthless.
It is pretty close to worthless, a lot of the effects could of be run on the CPU with slightly lower accuracy.

It's cheap that they don't include atl east something similar for AMD cards.

( They could of had NON dynamic fog for example, rather than having it removed completely, could of had papers on the floor running just on CPU easily, you only have to watch the Phsyx on/off comparison video on youtube to see that physx off is just a load of shite compared to what other non phsyx games pull off)


Eh hopefully now OpenCL is starting to become more widely adopted we'll see less of that.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.12/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#19
a lot of the effects could of be run on the CPU with slightly lower accuracy.
But you see, they aren't. No reason to get angry and bash it. It's only maybe one important game a year and if you want to see this in your game you buy NV because they say so. While I don't agree with this proprietary stuff I understand that every company tries to sell what they have through different methods. You as customer choose.

Looking forward to see PhysX in Borderlands 2 this year.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#20
But you see, they aren't. No reason to get angry and bash it.
Well really there is, because they do it by choice not because it isn't possible.

AMD have 25% of the GPU market now, Nvidia have 16% it is not fair at all to AMD customers.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,424 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,941
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2400 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#21
Well really there is, because they do it by choice not because it isn't possible.

AMD have 25% of the GPU market now, Nvidia have 16% it is not fair at all to AMD customers.
Simple fix is to pay for SDK for developers as NVIDIA does. Its not NVIDIA's fault AMD has zero developer support out there for games. NVIDIA now is helping Adobe with development. Its not just about making hardware. Its about making the hardware work with the software. NVIDIA is a software company that has a hardware division. AMD is a hardware company.......with a skeleton crew driver team.

Is NVIDIA's hardware vastly better then AMD? Hell no! Is its software support? Yup.