• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Batman Arkham City PC Thread

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#26
If anyone else is running a dedicated PhysX card with an AMD card here's what to do:

With AMD card and drivers already installed and ready to go, install the Nvidia card and the latest WHQL drivers.

Install Nvidia PhysX software: 9.11.0621 http://downloads.guru3d.com/nVIDIA-PhysX-System-Software-9.11.0621-download-2762.html

Run the 1.05ff PhysX mod: http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/17706-hybrid-physx-mod-v1-03-v1-05ff.html

You may have to remove the file PhysxDevice.dll from Batman-2 - Arkham City\Binaries\Win32
 
Last edited:

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#27
yea i have been playing it non stop. Just an Amazing game so far, glad i waited for the pc version. Rocksteady really need to be the official super hero game developers, just a really polished game.
i wouldnt go that far. theres some issues with DX11, but other then that. Solid game. LOVE IT!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#28
i wouldnt go that far. theres some issues with DX11, but other then that. Solid game. LOVE IT!
Yes, the problem with DX11 and this game is that when it's loading textures. That's when the massive drop happens. If that drop was fixed it almost seems as if DX11 will have just as good FPS as DX9.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#29
Yes, the problem with DX11 and this game is that when it's loading textures. That's when the massive drop happens. If that drop was fixed it almost seems as if DX11 will have just as good FPS as DX9.
theres an update coming in a few weeks i presume, so lets hope it all works out. Whats your opinion on the tesselation now that youve played it??
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#30
It's.. okay? Not much to say about it I guess.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,891 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,278
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#31
which costumes or bonus content does the PC version have?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#32
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,891 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,278
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#33
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
605 (0.25/day)
Likes
257
Processor Intel
Motherboard Asus
Cooling Thermaltake/Noctua
Memory Crucial
Video Card(s) Nvidia
Storage Samsung/Western Digital
Display(s) Samsung
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Chieftec
Software Windows 10 x64
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#35
If anyone else is running a dedicated PhysX card with an AMD card here's what to do:

With AMD card and drivers already installed and ready to go, install the Nvidia card and the latest WHQL drivers.

Install Nvidia PhysX software: 9.11.0621 http://downloads.guru3d.com/nVIDIA-PhysX-System-Software-9.11.0621-download-2762.html

Run the 1.05ff PhysX mod: http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/17706-hybrid-physx-mod-v1-03-v1-05ff.html

You may have to remove the file PhysxDevice.dll from Batman-2 - Arkham City\Binaries\Win32
There is new Physx Software engine available as of 11/10/2011, 9.11.1107
 

keling

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name X
Processor Intel Core 2 i5 2500K (Stock)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68-DS3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeange 2X2GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE ATI RADEON HD 5850 1GB @ 771mhz
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB Black Edition
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2232BW 22" LCD 1680X1050
Case The same one from 2003. The Nameless One.
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-702 700W
Software WINDOW 7 PRO 64bit OEM
#36
I am currently using an AMD HD5850 in my PC. I also have a Gigabyte 8500GT 512mb lying around in my cupboard. Will that be sufficient enough to be used as a dedicated PhysX card alongside the 5850? It's just a backup card but I am itching to try something new.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#37
Unfortunately that will not work for a dedicated physx card. The recommended minimum is a GT 240/430 due to the 96 shaders.
 

keling

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name X
Processor Intel Core 2 i5 2500K (Stock)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68-DS3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeange 2X2GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE ATI RADEON HD 5850 1GB @ 771mhz
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB Black Edition
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2232BW 22" LCD 1680X1050
Case The same one from 2003. The Nameless One.
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-702 700W
Software WINDOW 7 PRO 64bit OEM
#38
Hmm...ok then...not much loss though. Back in the cupboard then, 8500GT.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#39
There is new Physx Software engine available as of 11/10/2011, 9.11.1107
Yes, it doesn't work (blocks being able to use hybrid PhysX). That's why I linked to the other PhysX software.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#40
If anyone is interested I was able to get my max framerate to hit 87 by going to <User Profile>/My Documents/WB Games/BAC/BmGame/Config/UserEngine , open with Notepad, and editing the line UseVsync=True to False.



Also, in the same file edit AllowD3D10=False to True and AllowD3D11=True to False. Huge FPS bump

 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#42
I'll be interested to see what it's like when I get my GT 440...Monday :(
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#43
ill play with the stutter in DX11 i like the tesselation haha! Patch should be coming out in a few weeks
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#44
I'm not the biggest fan of TWIMTBP, but I don't think the developers want to step in the same dookie they stepped in after AA was released (No pun intended).

I think they need to do some REAL optimization, and not just troubleshoot an automated port, which is what I think they did. The game does need some real optimization, but I don't think it's discriminatory against ATI gpu users, it's just that they have more optimization to do in general. invidiaintelftw is running an invidia gpu and having similar framerate drops, hopefully they get the mess ironed out for everyone.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#45
I'm not the biggest fan of TWIMTBP, but I don't think the developers want to step in the same dookie they stepped in after AA was released (No pun intended).

I think they need to do some REAL optimization, and not just troubleshoot an automated port, which is what I think they did. The game does need some real optimization, but I don't think it's discriminatory against ATI gpu users, it's just that they have more optimization to do in general. invidiaintelftw is running an invidia gpu and having similar framerate drops, hopefully they get the mess ironed out for everyone.
its because DX11 is kind of broken, but they said theres a patch coming in a few weeks. They knew about it apparently when the game released
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#46
its because DX11 is kind of broken, but they said theres a patch coming in a few weeks. They knew about it apparently when the game released
Bullshit. If this were the case they would of said something before or at release. Honestly, I barely notice a difference between DX11 and DX10 or 9 in this game. They all look great. It doesn't make much sense to play in DX11 mode atm. Stuttering > DX11 features.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#47
I'm not the biggest fan of TWIMTBP, but I don't think the developers want to step in the same dookie they stepped in after AA was released (No pun intended).

I think they need to do some REAL optimization, and not just troubleshoot an automated port, which is what I think they did. The game does need some real optimization, but I don't think it's discriminatory against ATI gpu users, it's just that they have more optimization to do in general. invidiaintelftw is running an invidia gpu and having similar framerate drops, hopefully they get the mess ironed out for everyone.
There's no discrimination against AMD GPU's. If AMD couldn't step in with the developers (like in Arkham), that's their fault for being uncommunicative towards them. Yes, you have to pay to do it. And nVidia does, AMD doesn't. Why not blame AMD for not caring about their software then? See? Twist and shape how you see it fit.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#48
Bullshit. If this were the case they would of said something before or at release. Honestly, I barely notice a difference between DX11 and DX10 or 9 in this game. They all look great. It doesn't make much sense to play in DX11 mode atm. Stuttering > DX11 features.
rocksteady said the day it came out the DX11 was having issues
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#49
There's no discrimination against AMD GPU's. If AMD couldn't step in with the developers (like in Arkham), that's their fault for being uncommunicative towards them. Yes, you have to pay to do it. And nVidia does, AMD doesn't. Why not blame AMD for not caring about their software then? See? Twist and shape how you see it fit.
I don't think you read my post.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#50
I don't think you read my post.
I did in fact. You shouldn't have started with "TWIMTBP FTL DOWN with nVidia!". This thread has nothing to do with TWIMTBP. If you're unhappy with your software support, seek AMD Game forums. If not, don't crap the thread with your irrational love of AMD and irrational hate of nVidia.