• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Battlefield 2 specs question

Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#1
hi i have a question is it true that battlefield 2 uses allot memory ? if so wats the best amount of memory minium is sould get? i have now 768mb soon i get to 1800mb

look at my specs for more info
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#2
one gig will run it but 2 is better
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#3
battlefield loves memory, 2gb is more or less flawless gameplay.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I ran it on high with 1GB. You should be able to run it on medium.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#5
i have runned it once at 1gb medium/high settings still lags allot and it using my hd allot
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#6
I believe you need more the 1g to run lighting on high. Try dropping the lighting down to see if that smooths out the gameplay for you.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#7
i start playing again when i get my extra 1gb module ^^ thx for advice
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
I ran it on high with 1GB. You should be able to run it on medium.
No you cant. Not playable anyways.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#9
i can play it, with allot of lag
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#10
Everything bellow 2Gigs will result in lagging when walking.
 

Kammster

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
188 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
Location
Guyana, South America
Processor Sempron 64 2800+ DH-E6 (@2Ghz - bios limit)
Motherboard DFI NF3 250-AL (@250 FSB - 2000 HTT)
Cooling 92mm + 80mm Exhausts / Amd HSF mod:80mm fan + VF700 cuLED [mod to x800 fan control]
Memory 1GB Buffalo DDR 400 @416 3-4-4-8 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800 GTO (broken- sapphire is BAD)--256mb 6200
Storage WD 120 GB Caviar SE + 1GB Flash [80GB 7200.9 offline]
Display(s) 19" Samsung Widesceen LCD
Case Xtech cheapo
Audio Device(s) onboard - Realtek 6Ch
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power 550W w/ Antec 120mmLED
Software Windows XP SP2 + nforce 76.45 + nforce 5.10
#11
medium everything, low textures and it was smooth in single player @512mb ram
This is summary of of the tweak guide of battlefield2 (google for original)

Terrain: Medium is recommended.
Effects: high
Geometry: you may want to set this to Medium or High.
Texture: Medium is recommended, to be lowered to Low if you still suffer
from frequent loading pauses.
Lighting: recommend Medium
Dynamic Shadows: strongly recommend Medium
Dynamic Light: I recommend Medium or lower for this setting, as a setting of
High can contribute greatly to pauses, lag and jerkiness in the game.
Antialiasing: For most people I recommend setting this option to Off for
optimal performance
Texture Filtering: Medium setting The texture filtering settings at
Medium and High

should correspond with 2x Anisotropic Filtering (AF) and 4xAF respectively,
with Low being

Trilinear.
View Distance Scale: 100%(multiplayer) min 75%





Clearing Shader Optimizations: When you change the graphical settings or
install a new patch, BF2 attempts to optimize the shaders used in the game for the best
performance on your particular hardware. These optimized files are stored in your
\Documents and Settings\[username]\My Documents\Battlefield 2\mods\bf2\cache\ directory. If you've changed your settings several times, I recommend you finalize your changes, close BF2, go to the above directory and delete everything under the \cache\ directory. The next time you start the game and play single or multiplayer, your shaders will be optimized again. Close BF2 one more time, defragment your hard drive, and now things should be much smoother and load much faster the next time you go to play BF2.


Audio Renderer: recommend Hardware audio renderer if you have any form of
sound card in your system and the option is available in BF2.

Sound Quality: Medium is recommended for most people, though High provides
the best audio quality for a slight decrease in performance.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#12
Well i was refering to everything at HIGH since the engine of the game isnt something special...It just needs ram :)

In anycase here is a cool TweakGuide
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#13
man you have PC133 ram and a 4x agp bus... You really need a new mb and ram. I wouldn't bother buying anymore pc133 ram unless its dirt cheap.....

A newer board and ram will make a huge difference...
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#14
..and a new processor
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#15
1GB is recommended but I play without problems. I have 2GB of OCZ RAM.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#17
ill pimp slap you with my L85
 

BTK

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
53 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#19
if you have a x1900/7900+ you can play it 1280x1024 or higher all high with 4XAA 16XAF with tons of fps like 70+ fps BUT you need at least 2 GB to stop stuttering completely

i tried it with 1 GB those settings and i got terrible stuttering

you need 2 GB for high/ with high res
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#20
man you have PC133 ram and a 4x agp bus... You really need a new mb and ram. I wouldn't bother buying anymore pc133 ram unless its dirt cheap.....

A newer board and ram will make a huge difference...
well buy it for me i dont have the money saving it for my motorcycle licance