• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,312 (0.85/day)
Likes
716
Location
BC.CAN
Processor 2700x
Motherboard ASUS x470 prime
Cooling Fans
Memory gskill ripjaw 3200
Video Card(s) ASUS gtx1060 3gb
Storage 120Gb OCZ Vertex 2E SSD - 500Gb Games - 1.5tb Storage and Media
Case CM HAF 932
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Win 10
So I just want to get this straight, my old setup with 85-90fps average, 2x of that would be 170-190 fps (we are talking BC2 maxed out). So not quite 2x would make me think 150fps average, I just can't see that massive of an improvement. And that was running dual cards, so it should be the comparison you are looking for. Just seems like a far fetch, I could see 110 - 115 maybe, but 150 fps average for BC2 maxed out with any card, little own 5850's would be pretty insane.
*insert beating of dead horse.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2262775#post2262775

Not the same comparison as a 1090t but these were my finding when I jumped to SB from a q9550 @ 4Ghz.

I had the same cooler for a few years. It was much better at handling the heat from a dual core CPU but it doesnt handle high voltage and quad core/six core CPUs very well.

For less money you can order this (or wait for it to be on sale like I did for $50) and it would be a much better cooler. Or you can buy this for $40 and even it would be better than the Zalman.
 
Last edited:

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,015 (2.58/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
04578
When you say "with some nice fans" do you mean a Cpu heatsink and some better case fans? My case fans are stock, probably not the best.
i mean on the Hyper 212+ heatsink replace the damn fans not rocket science stock fan sucks grab 2 fans for push pull mount it be done with it but in retrospect the

TT FRIO is the best choice at that price as its dual fan out of the box and both have rheostat fan speed control for manual speed settings so you can get a comfortable cooling to noise ratio.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,489 (1.20/day)
Likes
1,105
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
Ugh if I wanted to read about coolers and the sandybridge argument id go to the respective forum sections.. can we keep this on discussing this kickass game?
 

Raijian

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2011
Messages
177 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
Location
Canada
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio + Additional Fan
Memory 12gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870 1GB + ATi Radeon HD 5870 [Crossfire]
Display(s) Samsung 25" LED
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) ASRock VIA HD Onboard 7.1 Audio
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 1000W
Software Windows 7 x64 Professional / Backtrack 5
i mean on the Hyper 212+ heatsink replace the damn fans not rocket science stock fan sucks grab 2 fans for push pull mount it be done with it but in retrospect the

TT FRIO is the best choice at that price as its dual fan out of the box and both have rheostat fan speed control for manual speed settings so you can get a comfortable cooling to noise ratio.
Sorry if my question was stupid. I'm still learning this stuff.

Thanks for your input, I'll do some measuring and if it fits I'll consider picking one of those up. I've had the TT Frio recommended to me numerous times.

Edit: Also, very sorry that I derailed this thread. I'll take note of all of your answers and start a thread in the appropriate section if I need more help.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.49/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
How do I use a profile package? I installed the profile package under the new preview drivers but I'm not seeing them in CCC.

Edit: Crossfire must be giving me issues. When I minimize, everything flashes blue for a second, and ever since I put this second card in I've been having troubles. :(
you using 2 crossfire bridges?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,489 (1.20/day)
Likes
1,105
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.49/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,015 (2.58/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
04578
where you been H82LUZ73

steam and EA are working out the details game should show up on steam

problem is

launch steam
launch Origin
launch battlelog
play game.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,312 (0.85/day)
Likes
716
Location
BC.CAN
Processor 2700x
Motherboard ASUS x470 prime
Cooling Fans
Memory gskill ripjaw 3200
Video Card(s) ASUS gtx1060 3gb
Storage 120Gb OCZ Vertex 2E SSD - 500Gb Games - 1.5tb Storage and Media
Case CM HAF 932
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Win 10
OK Jets are fun now that I can fly properly. There is two files you need to install to have the beta recognize your 360 controller.

Extract the .zip to ...Origin Games\Battlefield 3 Beta

I also need some backup in the air. Who can fly already?
 

Attachments

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,997 (4.29/day)
Likes
6,182
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I think canceling the pre-order to order or pre-order on steam is a little bit premature.

theyve just hinted that it could be coming to steam. but that doesnt mean that its defnitely going to be there.

Depends how arrogant EA are about saving face after barring the sales of a lot of their recent titles on steam under the idea that it wants to promote its own download platform. a.k.a Origin
 

Raijian

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2011
Messages
177 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
Location
Canada
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio + Additional Fan
Memory 12gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870 1GB + ATi Radeon HD 5870 [Crossfire]
Display(s) Samsung 25" LED
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) ASRock VIA HD Onboard 7.1 Audio
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 1000W
Software Windows 7 x64 Professional / Backtrack 5

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,606 (9.09/day)
Likes
14,197
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Why does he need to OC anyway? I'm running my i7 at stock and FPS has never went below 59 in BF3.

If he has problems, it must be driver related.
because your CPU is faster than his, and he's running crossfire? it was written just a few posts up...
 

Black Haru

Staff member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,351 (0.43/day)
Likes
410
Location
Indiana
Sorry if my question was stupid. I'm still learning this stuff.

Thanks for your input, I'll do some measuring and if it fits I'll consider picking one of those up. I've had the TT Frio recommended to me numerous times.

Edit: Also, very sorry that I derailed this thread. I'll take note of all of your answers and start a thread in the appropriate section if I need more help.
don't read too much into Crazy's attitude. He knows his stuff, but if he doesn't have his rage on, it's cause he died.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (5.44/day)
Likes
9,133
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
don't read too much into Crazy's attitude. He knows his stuff, but if he doesn't have his rage on, it's cause he died.
I agree. See if Crazy isn't raging anymore its ether because hes dead or he FINLAY came out of the closet.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Why would anyone buy a 2500k over a 2600k specifically for BF3 when it uses more then 4 cores/threads...
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,323 (0.84/day)
Likes
412
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor FX 6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 16 GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Corsair 550 watt Modular
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
I agree. See if Crazy isn't raging anymore its ether because hes dead or he FINLAY came out of the closet.
Ok Maleman I'm starting to worry about you and the gay comments. Larry Craig was that way too. Only cuz why ? OK either you hate them or what :roll:
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.39/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
I just flew some jets around and killed like three tanks until I got shot out of the sky by another jet LOL
How the heck? I'm stuck on operation metro. =[
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,050 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,457
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.44/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
How the heck? I'm stuck on operation metro. =[
change your server filter to allow caspian border, everyone can play it now.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
It's more about the number of threads, than the core performance? I see 6 threads active there...who cares if they can fit on less cores?
You haven't proven otherwise. So why suggest unfounded comments? The idea is that the game does use more then 4 cores/threads. I have not commented about the performance because of it. So why imply that 4 is enough simply because that's the limitation from a 2500k? If you are going to imply 4 cores/threads are enough lets go back to the Q9000/Q8000 and other older series. Lets not just mention a 2500k if you think 4 cores/threads are enough.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,015 (2.58/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
04578
Why would anyone buy a 2500k over a 2600k specifically for BF3 when it uses more then 4 cores/threads...
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a154/eastcoasthandle/BF3/BF3CPU_Memory.jpg
It's more about the number of threads, than the core performance? I see 6 threads active there...who cares if they can fit on less cores?
You haven't proven otherwise. So why suggest unfounded comments? The idea is that the game does use more then 4 cores/threads. I have not commented about the performance because of it. So why imply that 4 is enough simply because that's the limitation from a 2500k? If you are going to imply 4 cores/threads are enough lets go back to the Q9000/Q8000 and other older series. Lets not just mention a 2500k if you think 4 cores/threads are enough.






 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,050 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,457
You haven't proven otherwise. So why suggest unfounded comments? The idea is that the game does use more then 4 cores/threads. I have not commented about the performance because of it. So why imply that 4 is enough simply because that's the limitation from a 2500k? If you are going to imply 4 cores/threads are enough lets go back to the Q9000/Q8000 and other older series. Lets not just mention a 2500k if you think 4 cores/threads are enough.
Um...I was agreeing with you. Please re-read my post and tell me it isn't saying exactly what you are.:rolleyes:


So yeah...whut!?! :roll:Got a chip on your shoulder, or what?:laugh:


:slap:
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,313 (1.54/day)
Likes
1,484
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
The M26 MASS Underbarrel Shotgun as a stand alone weapon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top