1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,373
    For CrossFire users. Disable ULPS.

    Run->type: regedit ->ctrl+F ->type: ULPS. There will be two entries in folders 001 and 002 named "EnableULPS" set them both to 0. Restart.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,885 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    MetaCritic score for the PC version. The user score is contrasting the reviewer score.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,553 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    United States
    Downvoted based on the single player campaign.

    Wait. There's a single player campaign?!
     
  4. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,477 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    The game is pretty well optimized. I have two 570 GTX's and at 2560x1600 with Ultra setting, No AA, and no HBAO, getting 80+ FPS. Most BF players don't care about SP. BF2 and 2142 did not have SP and they did fine. Hell the only time I will play SP is when my internet is down.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    What is ULPS Erocker i might give the other post a try even though I have no problems?
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,373
    ULPS puts the 2nd card in a "ultra low power state" when not in use. This seems to be interfering with CrossFire and playing this game. With it disabled, the 2nd card will idle the same way as the 1st card.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Oh thanks I might try it out.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Good find erocker!!

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,693 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah nice find. I already have it disabled via Trixx to allow OC with Crossfire. So that's the easiest way by far; there's a checkbox in Settings.

    And yeah how sweet would it be if multigpu did combine the vram. What another major selling point. Frankly, it really sucks that it doesn't. If you used a 512 and a 1GB you'd have only 512 total. I'm not sure if the technological reasons behind it admittedly...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I am sure this has been covered.... (I did look briefly in this thread very briefly) But is anyone else getting the crazy ass stuttering? Just a quick answer would be nice..... also has EA or Dice released any statement on it yet??? I believe I saw maybe a fix being talked about here for Xfire but not SLI
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Its mainly LAG. I was getting stuttering and rubber banding in most of the servers off and on. they are working to fix most of the overload it has created
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks appreciate it.... I was gonna say that I had a hard time believing my GTX 580's were stressing that much. As well as my FPS weren't bad. I also tried switching back and forth between the beta drivers and the New nvidia drivers..... still no change.....

    So at least I am glad that it appears EA knows about it.
     
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,051 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Sooo hows everyone liking BF3?
     
  14. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,553 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    United States
    It's totally lame.
     
    MT Alex, Black Haru, digibucc and 2 others say thanks.
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOVING IT! didn't you preorder as well?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,051 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Yee for the PS3, I'm going to go get it in a bit.
     
  17. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,508 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,778
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm loving it too....

    No wait, eurozone bullshit means we cant play till midnight on Thursday. WTF were EA thinking?

    Still, it gives it a few days for the bugs to get ironed out server side so maybe things will be smoother by Friday....

    Still, sitting on desktop and can't play it. Dang!
     
  18. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Playing at Ultra settings I'm blown away by the visuals. So very cool. I got killed this morning several times because I was looking around lol!
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Why? PC is were its at but thats your personal pref then I understand :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,051 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    That preorder was from waaay back when I still had my 4650! lol I didn't think I would have a good enough rig so I just got ps3 :3 If I do see some pc gameplay I can just give this copy to my sister (who wants BF3 anyway) and get it for PC
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you can find someone getting rid of a 4870 1GB cheap (they are about 50-70$ used) then you should have no issues on medium with alittle AA
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,051 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Oh I have a 6850 now, which should run it just fine,just when I pre ordered the game I only had a 4650 1 gig DDR2 and I didn't want to have to play it on low on my pc, I would much rather play it on low on my ps3 :laugh: I'll see if they will give me a pc copy instead of PS3
     
  23. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,943 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,371
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  24. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,247 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    back up on the GPU overclock a bit, or pump up a tiny bit of voltage.
     
  25. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,526 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Location:
    Dutch in Spain
    i am loving BF3, yeah.

    NOw trying GPU overclocking FTW :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.