1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 1Kurgan1, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,470 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,737
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    3DM06 is multithreaded only for the CPU test.

    you can get a higher CPU score by adding more and more threads, but a lower clock will only hurt the SM2.0 and 3.0 scores because they are not multithreaded.


    DX11 is the first graphics engine to be multithreaded from the start, so any DX9 or DX10 tests will only care about how fast the one thread teh graphics is ran on is - it doesnt give a shite about your core count.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    OK that makes sense with what I was saying... His CPU score is really good but his GPUs are not working like they should be.

    The SM2/3 scores I posted up are much higher than his and I dont think +300Mhz on my CPU (mine with ddr2 vs his ddr3) would make that much of a difference.
     
  3. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    In 3dmark06 a faster clocked chip (using basically the same architecture) is going to win. 3.8Ghz CPU = 300Mhz more bandwidth for the GPU and likely an increase in FSB and Memory speeds. So it actually doesn't seem that out of place to me. Increase the x6 to 3.8Ghz and see what the results are.

    The CPU score isn't just a pure CPU score...it's more of a system score. CPU,L2,FSB,MEM Bandwidth,Mem Latency all combine to make the CPU score.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,470 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,737
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the score itself is actually based purely on the CPU... its just that the FSB, cache and memory can all hold that score back (kinda obvious really)


    4GHz 6 core + 400MHz ram? you bet your ass the ram will hold it back - but raising that ram faster and faster, you WILL reach a point you get no more gains, because the CPU is what matters most.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I was trying to test the CPU really.

    Also I had crossfire before with my 4870x2. And the score with the Phenom X6 was great, the CPU score was about 2000 higher than my PII 720 BE, but my SM 2.0 and 3.0 scores were drastically lower. And 2x 5850's should have no issue beating my previous 2x 4870's, so my score should be well over 20k.

    I was testing my CPU, he noticed my score and mentioned to look at the GPUs, I ran Heaven and got a low score (better bench than vantage for testing cards imo), Vantage is also crap that people pad scores with Psyhx, every bench has it's issues.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,470 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,737
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    true on the physX, but you arent comparing ATI vs nvidia... you're comapring two ATI systems
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    All that matters anyways is ingame FPS who cares about benchmarks :cool:
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  8. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Benchmarks suck but it's good to know if $500 worth of GPU is popping off right.

    If you scored 1/3 of what you should score in the foremost DX11 test.. you'd care. :p
     
    shevanel and 1Kurgan1 say thanks.
  9. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    California
    Going from Phenom 2.7GHz to i7 4.2GHz gave me ~12k (11k->23k 8800GT SLI) boost in 3dmark 2006, but in Vantage it's less than 100 points.

    Vantage is multi-threaded, high-clock doesn't matter much.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Right, but I'm just saying I had only ran 3d06 to test the CPU, but he had noticed my GPU score was low. I'll be reinstalling drivers later to see if thats the issue.

    Going from a 2.7ghz PI to a 4.2Ghz i7 would have massively increased your CPU power, which is what 3d06 scores mostly off of. Vantage scores off both, but it will only score off your bottleneck basically. Since your cards and your processor were decently matched before your Vantage score was fine, but after the i7 your cards were not on par with your CPU. Best way I can explain it is, if you got 8000 CPU score and 8000 GPU score, then you upgraded your processor and it scored 24000 yet your GPU score was still 8000, you would end up with something like a 9000 score. It just shows that your GPU's a massive bottleneck. And it can work in the reverse order, just works a bit differently.

    I'm not sure what you mean by multithreaded, as 3d06 works just fine even on my 6 core, my old tricore was running 300mhz faster than my 6 core and my 6 core scored about 2000 more points, and to put that in perspective, thats 1/3 faster (which is a lot).
     
  11. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    :( damn medic whore in my squad got it - his score was positive but only like 25-15 :\

    I suppose he did his part though, keeping our team from ticketing out while I went to town on their faces :D
     
  12. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    California
    What I meant is GPU score only, not overall score (CPU score only add lil to overall score)

    This pic should tell you how cpu clock effect gpu score in 3d2006 (just ran it).
     

    Attached Files:

  13. lemode

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    FINALLY got my platinum with the m16!

    went up about 10 points in my assault K/D as well!

    Simultaneously reaching the 10,000 kill mark as well!

    [​IMG]

    Good damn day in Bad Co 2 if you ask me!
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
    AlienIsGOD and DannibusX say thanks.
  14. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    621 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    What are the conditions under which you get an acepin? I have been noticing that I will have the highest score of both teams, and a lot of the time I don't get the acepin...

    Is this a server setting? At first I thought it was because I joined a game late, but this doesn't seem to be the case.
     
  15. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    The ace pin shows up in the awards bar almost by the time I'm done loading the next round. Al you have to do is have the most points in the server.
     
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i havent played this game in a couple weeks. don't really miss it the way it is.

    Hopefully they will shed some new maps or something to make me want to play again.
     
  17. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    hopefully they will fix the BSOD in multiplayer.. happens only with this damn game, I haven't played for a while also because of this.

    PS: I've tried absolutely everything.
     
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well, new drivers fixed my issues, 3D06 issues not fixed though, the issue with that is it's only using 50% from each of my cards. But I just crushed Vantage got P20031 and got 1562 in Heaven all on the low 765 factory OC. Oh and juiced the 6 core some more, it's running 3.6ghz on the stock fan now and just hammering shit out, this things amazing, tempted to go for 3.7ghz on the stock fan, only running 1.420v right now.
     
  19. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Too bad about 3D06 then again it's garbage anyway but your heaven score looks good.

    Honestly I wouldnt push too much more on the stock cooler... You should save the real fun for your new cooler and then clock the shit out of that thing.

    You say 3D06 is only using 50% of each GPU. In BC2 I'm only averaging 65% usage on each GPU with Cat AI on standard and 71% with AI set to advanced. What usage are your GPUs getting?
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,470 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,737
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i've never even heard of that, so i wouldnt blame the game.

    sucks that you tried everything, however.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    California
    It stress your cpu quite alot, so make sure ur cpu is stable...
     
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I am tempted to push it more on the stock cooler, probably will try, need to finish my new WC loop though.

    I'll have to check my ingame usage, but I'm sure it's around those numbers.
     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    i have the same issue kurgan on my set up non overclocked my 5850s pull 65-75% usage in crysis overclocked to 830 core they drop to 55% if i go from 3.4ghz to down to 3ghz i drop to 49-50% its rather annoying to be honest
     
  24. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    The number of servers I find with people in it reminds me of BF2 :ohwell:
    What the heck happened? Are that many people turned off?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,470 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,737
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    too many people bought servers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)