• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield rig

Black Haru

Staff member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,334 (0.46/day)
Likes
393
Location
Indiana
#26
Recommended are newer the specs to max it out, it is more what do i want to get a decent performance. In my opinion they need to make a Maxed out list, would help alot.
honestly, I don't think even they know yet. we will probably see quite a bit of optimization during the beta from both DICE and Nvidia/ATI.

who knows; at least we won't have long to wait.
 

Syuzeren

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
115 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#27
firstly what is you budget for a new build
here in australia i can build a amd rig for 1500 bucks australian

amd 1100t oced
coolit cpu closed loop water cooling
g skill 8gig 160mhz ddr3 ram
dual hd6950 2gb
1tb hdd
900w psu
nzxt guardian
You don't need a 900w PSU, A 750 will be more then fine.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
37 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name BLOODY BIG RIG
Processor AMD 955 BE 4.0Ghz
Motherboard AsRock 890GX Extreme3
Cooling Coolit ALC Vantage
Memory 8GB Corsair
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6950 2GB
Storage 3TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 42"LCD HD
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB
Power Supply Antec 700W
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 23697 3D Mark Score Average FPS 156 Max FPS 328
#28
sorry

I did not think that specs were released. just speculations, latest rumors claim that in order to max the game a (yet to be released) gtx595 will be reqired.


all gamescon test rigs were 2600k/SLI 580s (or cfX 6970s)


the reason XP is not supported is because there is no DX9 in BF3
sorry but i think your a idiot lolz think about it how are you gonna develop a game for hardware that hasnt been released how are they gonna test it hell just rendering it would be a mission and why would a game developer release a game that 75% of gamers would have to go out and spend 300bucks on a upgrade to play one game seriously if i didnt have my 6950 already i wouldnt upgrade my pc like that for 1 game i can think of others games that id rather play
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
718 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC.
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#29
sorry but i think your a idiot lolz think about it how are you gonna develop a game for hardware that hasnt been released how are they gonna test it hell just rendering it would be a mission and why would a game developer release a game that 75% of gamers would have to go out and spend 300bucks on a upgrade to play one game seriously if i didnt have my 6950 already i wouldnt upgrade my pc like that for 1 game i can think of others games that id rather play
Calling someone an idiot out of the blue doesn't help people to think too highly of what you say.
Remember Crysis ? Released ages ago, and till the day, the fastest computers struggle to play it in max settings/high resolution.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
37 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name BLOODY BIG RIG
Processor AMD 955 BE 4.0Ghz
Motherboard AsRock 890GX Extreme3
Cooling Coolit ALC Vantage
Memory 8GB Corsair
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6950 2GB
Storage 3TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 42"LCD HD
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB
Power Supply Antec 700W
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 23697 3D Mark Score Average FPS 156 Max FPS 328
#30
they wont till literally 1 or 2 days before release due to close release date of MW3 so that one or the other cant compete and try for better specs gameplay etc
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
#31
just a copy and paste of one of my posts in a bf2 forum.


Some info i found, hope it helps you guys decide on what you need to upgrade. source bf3blog.com


Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
* Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
* RAM: 2GB
* Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
* Graphics card memory: 512 MB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows 7 64-bit
* Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
* RAM: 4GB
* Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
* Graphics card memory: 1 GB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Please note: these are our expected system requirements for Battlefield 3.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
37 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name BLOODY BIG RIG
Processor AMD 955 BE 4.0Ghz
Motherboard AsRock 890GX Extreme3
Cooling Coolit ALC Vantage
Memory 8GB Corsair
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6950 2GB
Storage 3TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 42"LCD HD
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB
Power Supply Antec 700W
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 23697 3D Mark Score Average FPS 156 Max FPS 328
#32
just a copy and paste of one of my posts in a bf2 forum.


Some info i found, hope it helps you guys decide on what you need to upgrade. source bf3blog.com


Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
* Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
* RAM: 2GB
* Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
* Graphics card memory: 512 MB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows 7 64-bit
* Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
* RAM: 4GB
* Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
* Graphics card memory: 1 GB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Please note: these are our expected system requirements for Battlefield 3.
yes i do remember crysis and thing was optimization for the game i could run it on high settings with a 555be 4gig ramand a hd5450 and that video card was bottom of the heap lolz sorry but ive never had any issues with it lolz its just a matter of knowing what you are doing and what your budget and knowledge allows you too do sorry but my claim of calling someone a idiot stands for a more recent game blackops the biggest baddest pc had problems running black ops and the problem there was optimization
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#33
just a copy and paste of one of my posts in a bf2 forum.


Some info i found, hope it helps you guys decide on what you need to upgrade. source bf3blog.com


Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
* Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
* RAM: 2GB
* Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
* Graphics card memory: 512 MB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3

* OS: Windows 7 64-bit
* Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
* RAM: 4GB
* Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
* Graphics card memory: 1 GB
* Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Please note: these are our expected system requirements for Battlefield 3.
Why would the disc version be 5 GB larger?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#34
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#35
Compression maybe to assist in bandwith and download times? :confused:
While that may be true, would they not have simply listed that as download size not recommended free space? If you are right, it will still take up 15 GB of space once installed, not 10.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
#36
i dont know, like stated these are predicted requirements. the true req's wont be for a while. this was strictly based off of bc2, wich was frostbite 1.5. bf3 will be frostbite 2.0, wich in the full article(wich i should have posted) frostbite 2 is basically 1.5 but improved and streamlined for better gameplay.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#37
While that may be true, would they not have simply listed that as download size not recommended free space? If you are right, it will still take up 15 GB of space once installed, not 10.
That is true. Trying to understand the discrepancy myself as well and what makes it so much different.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
718 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC.
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#38
yes i do remember crysis and thing was optimization for the game i could run it on high settings with a 555be 4gig ramand a hd5450 and that video card was bottom of the heap lolz sorry but ive never had any issues with it lolz its just a matter of knowing what you are doing and what your budget and knowledge allows you too do sorry but my claim of calling someone a idiot stands for a more recent game blackops the biggest baddest pc had problems running black ops and the problem there was optimization
:wtf:
 

Black Haru

Staff member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,334 (0.46/day)
Likes
393
Location
Indiana
#39
sorry but i think your a idiot lolz think about it how are you gonna develop a game for hardware that hasnt been released how are they gonna test it hell just rendering it would be a mission and why would a game developer release a game that 75% of gamers would have to go out and spend 300bucks on a upgrade to play one game seriously if i didnt have my 6950 already i wouldnt upgrade my pc like that for 1 game i can think of others games that id rather play
first, who ever said that you needed to run the game at max settings to run the game? I played BC2 on lowest settings for almost 18 months and I loved it. I know plenty of others who did the same.

as for developing for hardware that has yet to be released, it's relatively easy; a gtx595 would not contain anything "new" from a development standpoint. it would simply be a revised gtx590. what they are saying is that currently no single graphics card has been able to max out multiplayer (like I previously said, they had to run SLI/cfX).

the key to PC gaming is scaling. give the enthusiasts their eye candy, but make sure that average joe can still play.

they wont till literally 1 or 2 days before release due to close release date of MW3 so that one or the other cant compete and try for better specs gameplay etc
yes i do remember crysis and thing was optimization for the game i could run it on high settings with a 555be 4gig ramand a hd5450 and that video card was bottom of the heap lolz sorry but ive never had any issues with it lolz its just a matter of knowing what you are doing and what your budget and knowledge allows you too do sorry but my claim of calling someone a idiot stands for a more recent game blackops the biggest baddest pc had problems running black ops and the problem there was optimization
again, I played through crysis on a 2001 viewsonic (a P4 with a 6600gt added) on low I loved it. that doesn't mean I could run it at max, and wouldn't necessarily dictate that it was poorly optimized (it was, and still is, but not to the effect you are saying)

I know nothing of COD and have no interest. console port is a console port.
 

Martine

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8500 (4.32GHz/1,32V)
Motherboard GIGABYTE, LGA775, I X48 (GA-X48-DS4)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE3
Memory 2X2GB DDR2 910MHz PC6400 Kingston
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Nvidia 9600GT-1GB
Storage Western Digital 500GB, 16MB SATA2
Display(s) LGW2242T-YF
Case ATI SPIRE (Jet Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cougar GX600
Software Windows 7 Home Premium[64bit]
#40
whistle :laugh:
I hear more and more that games will need 4 cores, so I want to build a ''future proof'' rig and it's not just for 1 game.
I didn't want to build it right now. I will wait for half a year or more and see where the development is going.
As for the budget:not more as 666€=960$=590£
With that PLAN (which TheLaughingMan kindly posted as a picture) I wanted to ask, if I am on the right track
 

Syuzeren

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
115 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#41
as for developing for hardware that has yet to be released, it's relatively easy; a gtx595 would not contain anything "new" from a development standpoint. it would simply be a revised gtx590. what they are saying is that currently no single graphics card has been able to max out multiplayer (like I previously said, they had to run SLI/cfX).
this is very understandable, 64 players, 16x AF, 8x or maybe 16x AA, tanks, jets and stuff, DX11, huge maps, almost fully destuctable, on 2560x1600. Hopefully my 6950 can run it on my good old 1280x1024
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#42
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
37 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name BLOODY BIG RIG
Processor AMD 955 BE 4.0Ghz
Motherboard AsRock 890GX Extreme3
Cooling Coolit ALC Vantage
Memory 8GB Corsair
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6950 2GB
Storage 3TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 42"LCD HD
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB
Power Supply Antec 700W
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 23697 3D Mark Score Average FPS 156 Max FPS 328
#43
whistle :laugh:
I hear more and more that games will need 4 cores, so I want to build a ''future proof'' rig and it's not just for 1 game.
I didn't want to build it right now. I will wait for half a year or more and see where the development is going.
As for the budget:not more as 666€=960$=590£
With that PLAN (which TheLaughingMan kindly posted as a picture) I wanted to ask, if I am on the right track
yeah sorry but for that budget your not going to really future proof your build lol maybe 1500-2000 bucks is even pushing it lol you really cant future proof your build all you can do is build your system and upgrade as you need it
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
718 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC.
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#44
this is very understandable, 64 players, 16x AF, 8x or maybe 16x AA, tanks, jets and stuff, DX11, huge maps, almost fully destuctable, on 2560x1600. Hopefully my 6950 can run it on my good old 1280x1024
Don't worry, you can probably run it @1600*900 (or anything close). Just nix the AA, and lower the Shadows/post processing. Maybe a little bit sacrifice to the particles' quality should ease up on your processor.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#45
The big question is i5 or i7?
Its not that much to go the i7 when your at 2500k.
Will the extra threads benefit BF3 that much to justify the few bucks ?
I think we have to wait for beta to see some benchmarks.
 

Martine

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8500 (4.32GHz/1,32V)
Motherboard GIGABYTE, LGA775, I X48 (GA-X48-DS4)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE3
Memory 2X2GB DDR2 910MHz PC6400 Kingston
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Nvidia 9600GT-1GB
Storage Western Digital 500GB, 16MB SATA2
Display(s) LGW2242T-YF
Case ATI SPIRE (Jet Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cougar GX600
Software Windows 7 Home Premium[64bit]
#46
yeah sorry but for that budget your not going to really future proof your build lol maybe 1500-2000 bucks is even pushing it lol you really cant future proof your build all you can do is build your system and upgrade as you need it
I don't mean that my ''future proof'' rig is going to last unchanged for 5 years and still run games at high. What I am trying to achive is to build a rig wich parts can be replaced one they grow old. As time goes, games move on to 4 wheel drive and so must I.
I am locked with my 775 socket and am unable to upgrade RAM, CPU... I kinda hope that problem will be removed, but I seriously doubt it. :banghead:As now said I have to correct myself and not call it a ''future proof'' rig.
But if I gather enough money, a better rid will surely follow. Budget is set to not go higher, but with too much money the budget is set higher.
I don't want to kill this thread, so if anyone has anything to add, be my guest.
As for others: thank you VERY much:respect:. I will wait for Bulldozer and money and then decide my best option
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#47
Your done Martine. You are on the right track and waiting to see what happens in the next few weeks is a good idea. Just try to remember there are other processors on the market besides the 2500k. A lot of people have tunnel vision and only believe AMD and Intel make like 3 products a piece. For gaming right now and up to 1 1/2 years or so, an i3 2120, i5 2300, i5 2400, etc. are all great for gaming. Just stick with at least 4 threads and over 3.0 GHz to ensure you have plenty for a mid to high range gaming rig. Proof is below.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/...core-i7-2600k-i5-2500k-core-i3-2100-tested/20
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
37 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name BLOODY BIG RIG
Processor AMD 955 BE 4.0Ghz
Motherboard AsRock 890GX Extreme3
Cooling Coolit ALC Vantage
Memory 8GB Corsair
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6950 2GB
Storage 3TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 42"LCD HD
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB
Power Supply Antec 700W
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 23697 3D Mark Score Average FPS 156 Max FPS 328
#48
I don't mean that my ''future proof'' rig is going to last unchanged for 5 years and still run games at high. What I am trying to achive is to build a rig wich parts can be replaced one they grow old. As time goes, games move on to 4 wheel drive and so must I.
I am locked with my 775 socket and am unable to upgrade RAM, CPU... I kinda hope that problem will be removed, but I seriously doubt it. :banghead:As now said I have to correct myself and not call it a ''future proof'' rig.
But if I gather enough money, a better rid will surely follow. Budget is set to not go higher, but with too much money the budget is set higher.
I don't want to kill this thread, so if anyone has anything to add, be my guest.
As for others: thank you VERY much:respect:. I will wait for Bulldozer and money and then decide my best option
mate the best thing you can do is wait till the products have been released. Do your research on each and every item you want, need and compare that it fits into your budget, and if something doesnt then you may have to sacrifice something. So for example instead of crossfire system you may have to suffice with a single 6950, at the end of the day its your money and YOU will be using the machine so YOU will have to be happy with it.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#49
He should be fine with a sandy bridge quad and a Nvidia 560Ti or AMD HD 6950

Texas, you have too much of an attitude towards people that are giving advice. thread crapping will probably get you an infraction if you keep calling people idiots
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
166 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
Location
Philippines! :D
System Name Noobie XTXx || Portalet Crap Machine
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.5, 1.345V || i7 2640QM
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 PRO || Dell
Cooling CM Hyper 212+ || Stock
Memory 2 x 2gb GSkill DDR3 9-9-9-24 || 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) PowerColor 6970PCS @stock || Optimus (525m)
Storage WD Caviar Blue 500 + 320 Hitachi || 500GB
Display(s) LG W2253TQ || Crappy 1366*768 15"
Case CM 690 PURE Black
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply ThermalTake Toughpower XT 775w
Software Win 7 64bit
#50
BTW: Windows XP isn't supported, for some odd reason...

I believe BF3 won't support DX9. Which is good in a way, the first game to make use really want to move forward