• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield V Gets NVIDIA DLSS Support

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,505 (8.53/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Battlefield V became the first AAA title to support NVIDIA Deep-learning Supersampling or DLSS, a new-generation image-quality enhancement feature exclusive to NVIDIA GeForce RTX 20-series graphics cards, since it requires tensor cores. The feature was introduced as part of its comprehensive Battlefield V Chapter 2: Lightning Strikes Update late Tuesday. To use it, DXR must be enabled in the game. In its release notes for the update, EA-DICE describes DLSS as a feature "which uses deep learning to improve game performance while maintaining visual quality." The developers also improved the way the deploy screen displays on ultrawide monitors on the PC, particularly with the "Rotterdam" map.

Update: We have posted an article, taking a closer look at the DLSS implementation in Battlefield V.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
71 (0.26/day)
Only works with Raytracing and the image quality is....well....not superior like they said.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,686 (5.79/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
wondering about 1440p dlss,how much iq hit is there
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
1,151 (0.62/day)
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator
Processor Ryzen 5 3600X@4.25
Motherboard ASRock B450 Steel Legend
Cooling Corsair H100x
Memory 16GB DDR4 3533mhz Patriot Viper Steel
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 2070 SUPER JetStream
Storage Crucial NVMe 500GB+1xMX500 500GB+1x1TB
Display(s) AOC Agon AG322QC4
Case CoolerMaster H500+2x200mm+1X120mm RGB Fans
Audio Device(s) ALC892+Logitech Z906+Arctis 7
Power Supply CoolerMaster MasterWatt 650w
Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Just enough
So, if I got this right, to use DLSS I need to enable DXR? That is just great...I'll give this a try today anyway
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,109 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
What an inconsistent mess this whole DXR/DLSS affair is. Rushed, incomplete, lacking. 3 months past gen release and you can still use two fingers to count the fully feature enabled games. Its a complete joke.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,664 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
I dont get the point anymore. why even bother with DLSS when you can just use the resolution scale slider.
You'll shut up and like that wasted die space of bullshit for hundreds of dollars more that just reduces quality!

I just watched some more vids. It's even terrible with YT compression LOL. You could literally just have a slider in game for texture quality of anything not in the immediate foreground and it would have the same effect. What a joke.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
7,164 (1.42/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
You'll shut up and like that wasted die space of bullshit for hundreds of dollars more that just reduces quality!

I just watched some more vids. It's even terrible with YT compression LOL.
i think it will make ray tracing a little more viable for some.. the two kind of go together..

trog
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,664 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
i think it will make ray tracing a little more viable for some.. the two kind of go together..

trog
Well, absolutely that's the gimmick....but it's all still a gimmick in the end. They knew RT was piss poor on perf, so DLSS was made help counter act how terrible it is. And of course marketing. ERMAGHERD, LOOK HOW FAST "4K" is. Why not just go all out and checkerboard like conslows.

No one would've said shit if those dies were packed to the gills with cuda cores instead. It would have had REAL improvement.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.42/day)
Location
somewhere
Mmmm it looks so great. I totally wish I wasted money on an RTX card now.

Oh wait, no I don't.

No one would've said shit if those dies were packed to the gills with cuda cores instead. It would have had REAL improvement.
This. But I think even NVIDIA's architecture is hitting a scaling issue with more CUDA cores. I'd have prefered if they just cut off the RT crap and reduced the die space and sold the chips at a lower price point and actually offered decent price/perf over the previous gen. Ray Trace technology is nice and all but hardware isn't ready for it yet. And I'm certainly not paying a lot more money to be a beta tester.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
71 (0.26/day)
i think it will make ray tracing a little more viable for some.. the two kind of go together..

trog
Or you can use the resolution slider which has less impact on quality than DLSS at its current state.

I have tried the game on my 2080Ti and Its really visible. The textures on buildings are blurred out, lots of detail loss on bricks and details.

When they showed us Port Royal with DLSS, the situation was opposite. TAA was like the DLSS in BFV and DLSS was sharper.. I dont know what is going on.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,477 (4.40/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.42/day)
Location
somewhere
Or you can use the resolution slider which has less impact on quality than DLSS at its current state.

I have tried the game on my 2080Ti and Its really visible. The textures on buildings are blurred out, lots of detail loss on bricks and details.

When they showed us Port Royal with DLSS, the situation was opposite. TAA was like the DLSS in BFV and DLSS was sharper.. I dont know what is going on.
I think due to the nature of DLSS itself they can (and probably will) improve the IQ with patches to the Deep Learning side of things. BF5 is a lot more complex than Port Royal too.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
71 (0.26/day)
I think due to the nature of DLSS itself they can (and probably will) improve the IQ with patches to the Deep Learning side of things. BF5 is a lot more complex than Port Royal too.
I hope so. Will be interesting to see if Metro Exodus can do this better and if it will have day 1 RT and DLSS.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,443 (0.66/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Wondering if DLSS implementation is disappointing as in FF15...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,464 (4.31/day)
Boy oh boy.. the levels of toxicity to get a point out here is shameful. :(

Anyway, this is a good thing, really. Has anyone seen the DLSS and RT enabled in game already and done IQ comparisons from legit sites and not compressed YT?? Like with RT, I think we have all seen stills of this and some look better, some do not in FFXV... as I said in the other thread (is this a duplicate news thread, LOLWTH?) its nice to see support trickling in. Do remember the initial lists only had BF V and SOTR set for 2018. The rest was set 2019 in the first place...

What I think a lot of people miss is how much time it takes to get the ball rolling on a brand new technology. Look at Mantle... Vulkan... etc (surely there were haters there as well... but to them I say the same thing!!). On this front, It's hard to have a feature in a game without the hardware to use to do it, folks... let's get a grip. Just because it isn't your team, doesn't mean it should get shit on constantly.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,409 (2.04/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
I think due to the nature of DLSS itself they can (and probably will) improve the IQ with patches to the Deep Learning side of things. BF5 is a lot more complex than Port Royal too.
Deep learning doesn't count if it's precooked like most GPU Physx were.

Hell, if they are going to load patches of unknown size why not just do a better job managing textures? Wait.... That would help everyone, and Nvidia can't have that.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.65/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
What an inconsistent mess this whole DXR/DLSS affair is. Rushed, incomplete, lacking. 3 months past gen release and you can still use two fingers to count the fully feature enabled games. Its a complete joke.
You could say the same about dx12, how many years has that been out and there's now only a handful of games that are dx12. That said I agree with you I was just digressing. I wonder if fps will take more of a nosedive with rtx + DLSS enabled..
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,464 (4.31/day)
You could say the same about dx12, how many years has that been out and there's now only a handful of games that are dx12.
Yep.. DX12 too. It all takes time... and that isn't even hardware dependent, right? But OS dependent and that has been around for god knows how long. Is this on teh devs?

I wonder if fps will take more of a nosedive with rtx + DLSS enabled..
I doubt it. As we have seen before, DLSS implementations IMPROVE FPS significantly. So it should be notably better.

If I can wrap up a review today in a timely manner, I will fire up BF V and enable DLSS with RT and see...
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.65/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Yep.. DX12 too. It all takes time... and that isn't even hardware dependent, right? But OS dependent and that has been around for god knows how long. Is this on teh devs?


I doubt it. As we have seen before, DLSS implementations IMPROVE FPS significantly. So it should be notably better.

If I can wrap up a review today in a timely manner, I will fire up BF V and enable DLSS with RT and see...
Only in the sense you need a dx12 compatible gpu, no difference to rtx in that sense as you need a rtx capable gpu. Improves fps compared to traditional AA filters I assume you mean as opposed to no AA? As there's no way it should improve fps if no AA is enabled surely? Be good to see some reviews and screenshots
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,464 (4.31/day)
DX12 GPU and OS, yes.

Yes, improves FPS from traditional AA. I would imagine there is a FPS 'hit' as opposed to without AA, but that hit is significantly less compared to TSAA, etc.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,633 (0.80/day)
So, if I got this right, to use DLSS I need to enable DXR? That is just great...I'll give this a try today anyway
Well DLSS have to be trained, so it would have to be trained for non-dxr resolutions too. It seems to have to be trained on different RTX hardware now too, If I have to guess it's because of different tensor core counts:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
3,095 (0.56/day)
Location
Visalia, CA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370-A
Cooling Swiftech H220-X
Memory 2x16GBs G.Skill Trident DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 Ti Black Ops Ed
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Sony 75" 4K HDR TV - Samsung Odyssey VR
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T
Audio Device(s) Sony STR-DN1080 - 7.2 Klipsch Dolby ATMOS Speaker Setup
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Keyboard Logitech K830 wireless keyboard/trackpad
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Wow, so much hate on this thread...

Playing at 4K with DLSS, now I can finally use RTX on ultra, before I had to set it on medium to get over 60FPS. I can’t notice this “poor IQ” people are talking about, it looks the same to me but I’ve gained quite a few more frames per second, while gaming at higher settings, win-win to me.

Haters will hate I guess.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,464 (4.31/day)
Haters will hate I guess.
Studies show!
So, if I got this right, to use DLSS I need to enable DXR? That is just great...I'll give this a try today anyway
I dont get the point anymore. why even bother with DLSS when you can just use the resolution scale slider.
I just caught this... you do realize that using SMAA/resolution scale there is a notable performance LOSS, right? With this it is a gain.
Only works with Raytracing and the image quality is....well....not superior like they said.
Makes sense to focus on RT performance since the card works just fine without RT...now, RT becomes even more playable... we'll have to see how the IQ is though.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,477 (4.40/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
I can’t notice this “poor IQ” people are talking about, it looks the same to me but I’ve gained quite a few more frames per second
Disable DLSS, set the resolution scaling to something like 80% and see if you can tell the difference. Probably not, that's essentially what this does. Just because you don't notice any difference doesn't mean this is particularly useful as you could have gotten approximately the same effect before anyway.
 
Top