• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Being repeatedly attacked!!!

NotS0Pro

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
I'm currently running Windows XP, with AVG free and Spybot guarding my PC. As far as I understand, they are protecting my registry, though not my network.

"Your computer has been attacked from the internet."

I just recently installed a free version of kasperspy anti-virus, seeing as I only have windows firewall in the way of the big-bad internet. Since installation (about 4 days ago), it has picked up numerous attempts from a helkern worm, and now a TCP SYN Flood.

The flood is actually going on as I write this, with numerous IP addresses from around the world being cited as the source - as expected according to wikipedia.

I'm not exactly the noisiest internet user, and I don't really know anyone whom is capable of doing this. I'm also very careful when downloading files, and don't visit sites I shouldn't be on, or give away information that I'm not supposed to.

Nonetheless, it would seem that someone or something has it in for me.
This may be coincidental, but I was on TPU forums when the problems started occurring, anyone else having problems?

Is kasperspy feeding me reliable information? I know how difficult it is (or can imagine) to trace bouncing, but is there any way I can find out who or what is causing this?

I'm actually on TPU as I'm learning about Overclocking, and well, hardware in general, and this is proving to be a real pain! If anyone could perhaps offer some advice I would be eternally grateful!

Thanks, Nots0pro
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#2
I would format the HDD and start over with a clean comp.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#3
Yeah me too, I wouldn't play around w/ it. Sometimes you can hunt and find things in your computer causing problems like that, but I really wouldn't risk it, back up your important stuff and reformat.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#4
start fresh, use one good program and limit your pr0n sites to known good one's ;)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#5
I would format the HDD and start over with a clean comp.
I agree. Format that thing ASAP. As far as Anti-virus programs go I use Microsoft Onecare and Spybot among others. Also Iv been on this forum for a long time and have never had a problem and believe me Iv pissed people off. 99.9% of the people on this forum are good people with different views. They are also pretty smart people and know how to defend their systems. I think most know who come here its pointless to attack us. Plus from my experience its just not that kind of place. :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#6
if it was a real syn flood you wouldn't be able to post a thread here, it's probably some stupid kid you mouthed off to recently, change your ip (mac) and reboot.

- Christine
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#7
if it was a real syn flood you wouldn't be able to post a thread here, it's probably some stupid kid you mouthed off to recently, change your ip (mac) and reboot.

- Christine
That's exactly what it is. I wouldn't be worried about finances either, but then again don't go typing passwords all over the place. Chances are if it's a kid, there's a keylogger.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#8
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#9
-1. formatting his computer isn't going to change anything, he is just going to format and reinstall windows on the same ip if he is static. he needs to change his ip then deal with the worm.

- Christine
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#10
-1. formatting his computer isn't going to change anything he needs to change his ip then deal with the worm.

- Christine
Formatting his HDD will get rid of the worm (-1 for him). However, that doesn't really matter, because he still has your ip. Reset your router & modem.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#11
-1. formatting his computer isn't going to change anything he needs to change his ip then deal with the worm.

- Christine
I was saying +1 to limiting the pr0n sites to only ones that are known to be good
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#13
If you have a worm its internal. If he's using something like TELNET or apache its external.

You have a worm.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#14
wipe your entire hard drive over 1 worm? weak. unplug your modem, scan, remove worm, plug modem back in, change mac address, reboot.

- Christine
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#15
wipe your entire hard drive over 1 worm? weak. unplug your modem, scan, remove worm, plug modem back in, change mac address, reboot.

- Christine
I never said wipe the whole HDD :p
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,765 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,036
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#16
wipe your entire hard drive over 1 worm? weak. unplug your modem, scan, remove worm, plug modem back in, change mac address, reboot.

- Christine
Amen to that!
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#17
I'm currently running Windows XP, with AVG free and Spybot guarding my PC. As far as I understand, they are protecting my registry, though not my network.

"Your computer has been attacked from the internet."

I just recently installed a free version of kasperspy anti-virus, seeing as I only have windows firewall in the way of the big-bad internet. Since installation (about 4 days ago), it has picked up numerous attempts from a helkern worm, and now a TCP SYN Flood.

The flood is actually going on as I write this, with numerous IP addresses from around the world being cited as the source - as expected according to wikipedia.

I'm not exactly the noisiest internet user, and I don't really know anyone whom is capable of doing this. I'm also very careful when downloading files, and don't visit sites I shouldn't be on, or give away information that I'm not supposed to.

Nonetheless, it would seem that someone or something has it in for me.
This may be coincidental, but I was on TPU forums when the problems started occurring, anyone else having problems?

Is kasperspy feeding me reliable information? I know how difficult it is (or can imagine) to trace bouncing, but is there any way I can find out who or what is causing this?

I'm actually on TPU as I'm learning about Overclocking, and well, hardware in general, and this is proving to be a real pain! If anyone could perhaps offer some advice I would be eternally grateful!

Thanks, Nots0pro


like others have mentioned, it's prob just some twerp out to annoy you - and to add to it, you might have picked up a trojan or otherwise, or if you're on a wireless connection, some twerp trying to breach your network. One person can appear as hundreds of attacks if they're using a bot (which points to an unexperienced twerp).

either way, first, update whatever AV softwares your using, also pick up a couple of the freebies (like Windows Defender), get everything updated primo - disabled your internet connection, and have your AV softwares run full scans - this might take a few hours, depending on how big your HDD is, and how in-depth you've configured the scanners to dig; if they turn up anything, remove or quarantine it.

Afterwards, as someone else mentioned, try changing your mac address and see how things go.



One final word of caution, though - although free spyware and AV softwares can typically be good, they still usually fall short of the highly-rated, paid-subscription AV softwares - of which will also usually include a firewall, malware and virus scanner, network monitoring and protection, etc. You might want to think about a better software suite sometime soon.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#18
im with christine on this one... he's best off just downloading a trial version of zone alarm pro and hijackthis and similair and killing the worm, etc while offline and then going back and using proper firewalls etc to block out any other intrustions.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#19
for XP.

1) start -> run -> "control" -> network and internet connections -> network connections -> right click nic -> properties -> general -> configure -> advanced -> network address -> value

2) start -> run -> "cmd" -> ipconfig /all -> copy "Physical Address" -> select nic window -> paste into value without dashes -> change last 2 characters -> ok

- Christine
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,074 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,991
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
changing your mac address wont do anything to your internet ip. if your isp gives you a static ip you will keep that ip which is bound to your login name/dsl line/cable line. if they give you dynamic ips you will end up with ips from a certain range allocated to some kind of spatial area

mac adresses are an ethernet technology
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#21
if he is receiving a syn flood his ip must be static brainiac I have static and own 5 ip that I can change at will most cable packages allow "up to 5 pc per household" which really means 5 ip even if you only use 1 you can still access them.

- Christine
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,074 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,991
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#22
syn flood can happen to dynamic ips as well. even though if you reconnect to your isp and get another ip you are probably not going to be syn flooded instantly... until the attacker somehow finds out your new ip.

does your software detect the internet background noise as syn flood?

your neighbour runs a torrent and seeds like a champ. the trackers have his ip and give it out to other leechers. those will try to connect to the ip and port advertised. at some point your neighbour goes offline and you come online, get his ip. so all those torrent users will now try to connect to your box because they still think its your neighbour. since more filesharing protocols than just bt exist, the traffic increases quite a bit. then there are all sorts of people scanning the whole internet for open ports, vulnerabilities etc.

can your software give a more detailed report than just "syn flood from x.x.x.x" ?
 

NotS0Pro

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#23
Hey again, I've just ran spybot S&D, AVG free and Ad-aware SE Pro. Spybot picked up some tracking cookies (11!), Ad-aware picked up some spyware (Mediaplex... generic stuff really), and running AVG last picked up nothing. I did this offline.

I think I was a little skimpy on information beforehand, so to clarify...

I'm using an ADSL modem, which I am using a DUN connection to connect to, due to crappy AOL software. The modem is USB 2.0. The IP address is static.

I realize I was having a bit of a dull moment before... I have an ASUS Striker Extreme v.1 motherboard, which has an in-built NIC, as I understand (2 Gbit Ethernet ports on rear panel). I'm not that clued on networking, although as W1zzard mentioned, MAC addresses are ethernet (I remember now :p) so this doesn't apply to me?

The kasperspy window I referred to is real-time protection, which notifies me of "attacks" that were prevented. A series of worms, or a series of the same worm to be precise, named "Helkin" were brought to my attention over the past two days. These were from IP addresses in China. These notifications have actually continued, and I literally just got one :/.

Unfortunately, as one problem seems to have "stopped", another has become apparent to me. This is the constant barrage of "TCP SYN" attacks, which I assume are part of an automated program, due to the short latency between the notifications. The amount of notifications I have received from the Kasperspy software is easily within the hundreds at this point. No further information is available from the program other than the type of attack, the ip address and the fact that it was repelled.

I can turn these notifications off, although it really doesn't solve the problem. The problem that now seems to be someone deliberately attacking my system? I can't afford to buy cigarettes at the moment, let alone any new software :(

I'm not sure what you mean by the background noise? Do you mean the noise on the line? I have no idea, either way.

Thanks again, Nots0pro
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#24
Ok well if its static contact AOL and request an IP change tell them why you are requesting it and they should honor it. Second of all get windows defender if your broke its a damn decent firewall on the cheap. And if you have 30 bucks to spare go to wal mart and get one care live i use it and love it
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#25
do you go on irc? if you dont go on irc then its probably not a targeted attack.