1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Benchmark result lower or the same in game benchtest after OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Widjaja, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Anyone encountered this with their GPU?
    I OC'd my HD4850 to 700/1000 and ran 3Dmark 06' with better results than stock by a bit.

    Then I go to do the DiRT 2 bench test and the results are sometimes worse than stock.:confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,848 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,386
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    its not stable
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I ran ATT artifact scan for 3 hours without any artifacts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    which doesnt mean its stable. the cards slowing down automatically cause it cant handle it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Do you think it's down clocking in game?:confused:


    Wouldn't having GPUZ running in the background let me know if the clocks have been Dropped during the time of the bench test?

    I thought I'd be able to overclock this card a bit:wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    if the OC isnt stable, one of two things happen. the card slows down to prevent problems, the card crashes (and drivers reset it) or it finds some magic way to do error correction and fix the problems - and of course, this is slower.

    Its simple really.. your OC aint stable. so lower it down until you get faster than stock.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    But should I be able to know if the card is slowing down by using GPUZ to see the current clock speed during the game but I have never seen it drop the clocks.

    Tried using the auto tune tool in CCC and that failed.
    It believes the clocks are stable but aren't.
    Next thing I know I'm getting shadow artifacts in game to frozen screen....

    I can't see any reason why i can't even get my clocks that high

    The card is well cooled and doesn't get over 60degC at the moment.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    cooling doesnt mean much, i dont see why you're having trouble comprehending... the card cant take that OC. you probably need more voltage or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I've seen threads on forums about people getting 700/1000 OC and more at stock voltages.

    That's why I can comprehend it.

    There is evidence of people here and elsewhere getting a decent OC on stock voltages.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yes, but just because the OC is 'stable' doesnt mean they actually tested it to find out that its SLOWER, like you did.

    never assume that because the internet says so, that it IS so.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    SO you're saying there's plenty of people who have overclocked their card and don't actually know the performance of their cards are SLOWER in certain bench tests.

    Or they know but don't want to say?

    Or they don't care because it gives them bragging rights to put into their system specs?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    all of the above are quite likely.

    Quite often i find people who brag about their awesome OC's tend to come back a week later saying 'oh i had to turn it down' or 'stupid drivers keep crashing when i'm OC'd' and so on.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    ......-_-

    So it looks like the conclusion to my thread is, my card can not overclock stable even if it stays stable when ran through an artifact scanner for a few hours because the only place where improvement is seen is in 3DMark06'

    And it's likely that many people who have overclocked their cards don't know the card is running slower in real world gaming.

    Should rename this thread "Overclocking does nothing in real world gaming".
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,069 (9.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    no, its just that you're going too high. try it lower, and you should see positive results.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,166 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Oh but it does. Not every card shows real gains. Plus, your CPU isn't exactly amazing. A less than uber CPU bottlenecking your card will make it seem like it's the same setting. I couldn't tell the difference between a 9800gt and an 8800gtx on my old e2180 at stock. When I OC'd it, a gap started forming.
     
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    +1 with mussels, GPU it's different from cpu in overclocking cuz it's need more Compatibility between GPU and memory, so some people just want to reach max overclock value before the crash value and they expect it's the highest performance point, that's wrong in fact better way is test on every step and sometimes you find your best card performance on mid overclock, it's also depend on card brand and card series cuz not all brands have same overclock Compatibility
     
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I know having a faster CPU will show higher gains in 3DMark06'.
    And where the CPU bottle necking comes into play.
    As for where it comes into play with games and causing dramatic effect on GPU performance I am not certain.

    I looked at threads which had a Sapphire HD4850 overclocked and went from there.
    Most have stated the stable clocks are 700/1100.

    I can not even over clock my VRAM much past 1000Mhz should signs of artifacts in games.
    Yet AMD overdrive thinks I can go to much higher RAM speeds which I know I can not.

    Yet my GPU core can go up to 700 and play any game without artifacts.

    Just poor benchmark on DiRT 2 even though running GPUZ in the background says the clocks are not dropping to stop errors happening.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Myself, I have never seen clocks move on cards. The display driver will quit functioning momentarily and recover or simply crash. As for game performance, one can usually get away with more because most games do not stress like a benchmark.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)