1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best air i can get

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by warup89, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    WA
    today i decided to rewire my entire PC, his is how is now:

    [​IMG]

    diagram:
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Looks clean :) Nice job.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,006 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    looks pretty good man. now just hook up a newer cooler! and your all set for the best AIR of your LIFE! lol
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    He doesn't need a better cooler. That's the Opteron heatsink with 4 heatpipes and copper base or some shit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    If he wants the best air can get, he does :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,943 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,717
    Location:
    Florida
    i have the same cooler and i can tell you guys.....4 copper hea pipes and a pure copper base.....idk it keeps it pretty cool. my avitar is the bottom of that cooler...with my proc ontop.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    WA
    Yeah it does a pretty good job keeping my opty cool when gamin, the little fan though gets kinda loudish.

    I'm amazed how much room is behind the Motherboard, i thought it was going to bend, but i had more space than i thought :). I also didn't dangerously stretched any cables or so.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    putting two drives sandwhiched together is a very bad idea, you should always seperate them by at least one empty slot so it can get air between them to let the heat out for cooling.

    if it were me i would try to arange the 4 drives you have in a box shape so the middle two are on there sides standing between the top and bottom drives. a simple home made bracket would let you set it up that way and doing this lets the one front fan cool all 4 drives and still have great unobstructed airflow through the case.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,066 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,911
    The Opteron cooler is a very good cooler!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,151 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I hace no option but to sandwich my drives (I have 4) lol
     
  11. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    WA
    awesome idea, im going to try it tomorow ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. franz12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    neat and clean
     
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    put one drive as high and one as low ...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    While it's very good, my lapped Freezer64 Pro easily outperformed it on my 6000+ and 6400+.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)