1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best AMD Chip and Board for overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SystemViper, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    I have been thinking of playing around with an AMD for a while now. I am looking for some advice since i know nothing about AMD chips.

    What is the best, most overclock-able AMD CPU out there, but it has to be a main line chip, not the uber expensive chips.

    Also what is the best platform for overclocking, i am thinking about chipsets, not manufacturer because i am leaning towards gigabyte since i am very familiar with them. But would consider another manufacturer if some strong opinions come out of this.

    thanks in advance for your help, time and effort!

    Regards/SV
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    try a 720be or 955be C3 with a 770 board seems Kei over in the Phenom overclock thread is having some extremely stellar clocks with the 770 board if i remember right
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  3. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    sweet, i will have to go over there and do my homework!
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,647 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    770 chipsets get hot, are old and 65nm. Get a 790 board with a 750 southbridge. 890fx boards will be out an a couple weeks. The 955 c3 for 155 bucks is a good deal.
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    well true but this

    http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Mot...ard&ProductID=3269&ProductName=GA-MA770T-UD3P

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128392

    has an 8+2 phase power for a $69 board and considering Kei has gotten a 955 close to 4ghz on a 770 board its not all that bad and even if its hot if he dosent cram it in a cracker box it should be okay

    system viper said he wanted to play

    $120 cpu
    $70 mobo
    $40 heatsink fan
    $100 ram if he dosent have some DDR3 laying around

    $330 and if he hunts around on TPU he can probably go for alot less not bad for something to play with
     
  6. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    955 is quad

    720be is tricore but you might get lucky and have it unlock to a quad point is you wanted to play im offering in my opinion something that will offer you more play time :toast:

    altho i have to further research that mobo to make sure it can offer the ability to unlock
     
  8. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    me likey the low cost to start....

     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,647 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    I owned that board. It's utter trash. The chipset heatsink doesn't mount properly, overclocking is atrocious and it's hot as hell.

    Proof I owned it: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Thermaltake/Luxa2_LM300_Touch_Pro/5.html

    After that review it went right back to Gigabyte. First for it being a fail board, second for Gigabytes CS being clueless idiots.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah SV. I actually just bought a Gigabyte 790XTA-UD4 and a Phenom 955 C3 chip. They should be here Tuesday. I've just become bored with 1156 and 1366. Thought it might be fun to play with AMD for awhile.
     
  11. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Isnt 965 c3's better then 955 c3's?

    Plz explain T_T
     
  12. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Any C3 quad should set you up nicely. I personally would wait for the new 800 series chipset but a good 790 FX or X board would do fine as well.
     
  13. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    From what I understand, they are the same chip, just clocked differently in the factory. I see no reason to spend the extra cash on the 965.
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  14. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    Yo P, man that is where i am at tooo, we got to keep in touch...
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,647 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    One is stock at 3.2ghz the other 3.4ghz. Aside from that they are the same chip. I wouldn't worry about binning in this case. Way too many resources would have to go into it and there would be no cost effectiveness.

    Get that crappy 770 chipset out of your head. If you want a budget AMD chipset 785 is the way to go.:toast:
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    well all i know is he said without breaking the bank $400 for cpu and mobo and $100 for ram is $500 compared to say a 720be with unlock chance (slim tho they may be) and a 770 or 785g or etc boards

    if he wants an all out high end amd system by all means :toast:
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  17. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I know there diffrent clock speeds, i just thought the 965's could edge out a 100-200 more Mhz of overclock compared to a 955 brothern. But there all BE's so they should do the same.

    Im to much into intel as you can tell.

    Im going to stay with my q9550, but im going to grab my dad a 955-940be and a 790 board or 880 board.

    We will see :).

    He has never experienced fast even though he says fast is a "AMD Athlon x2 4200+"

    I keep telling him its night and day between them for a 250-300 dollar upgrade for his system.
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  18. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Go with either a Gigabyte UD4 or UD5 or a Asus Crosshair. In my research, I've found they are the best AMD boards right now. When it comes to the processors, just try to get a C3, as supposedly they clock higher on lower voltage.
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  19. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I heard that too the only difference is the stock clocks, if you want to save a bit of cash get the 955 C3 stepping.

    I have a x3 720BE and tbh the quads are a better deal, your not guaranteed an unlock and the C3 quads seem to perform and clock better.

    I may be moving to a x4 anything C3 really they are all similar.

    EDIT: Huh the 940 is AM2+ only unless the brought out a AM3 version.
    I always recommend my board but it really is a nice board, its not TOP END but its regularly recommended by lots of websites.
    ASUS M4A79XTD EVO but i would really wait for the new chipsets because they may have SATA3 and USB3.0 and lots of more options, may even run cooler or other bonuses.
     
    SystemViper says thanks.
  20. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    great stuff guys, so far it looks like the 955 C3 is leading the pack....
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,647 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    I would get the M4A79T over the Crosshair and save some cash. You get more expansion slots to work with and the chipset for some reason runs cooler. Probablly due to it's better chipset heatsink. The Crosshair looks better, but it's only for looks. Then again , I just looked at the prices and they are pretty close now. :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,508 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,055
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    anybody recommend this Foxconn A79A-S?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186149

    Funny last week the same board was $99 + free shipping and now it is $220? Pretty high mark up there.

    I saw on Ewiz or somewhere the same board for $89 + free shipping and 10% off coupon here in Hot deals section.

    How about this one?

    MSI 790FX-GD70 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130223

    Almost forgot, get this 955 (C3 version)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    The only difference between X and FX is the number of lanes i think? the fact that the board runs crossfire at 8x and the FX at 16x.
    How do you know that is the C3? From the model number in the specs? it isnt listed as C3.
     
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,807 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,016
    I agree that a Gigabyte/C3 combo is going to be the best choice.

    My 965BE C3 is FS at the same price of the 955, link in sig :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    there goes my chance at the 965 :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)