• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best Buy Stops Selling Analog Televisions in Response to New Broadcasting Regulations

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
For those of you that still subscribe to analog television services, and still use old-fashioned "analog" televisions, you finally have a legitimate excuse to go to your local electronics store and splurge: by February 19th, 2009, all analog broadcasts to consumer televisions will be prohibited in America. All broadcasts from then on will be all digital. Consumers with analog televisions can approach this two ways. They can buy a digital-to-analog converter box, which should cost about $70. Or, the consumer can buy a brand new HDTV. Best Buy is hoping that consumers will do the latter. To help sway consumers in favor of dropping large amounts of cash to a brand new television, and to make sure that their new television customers will be satisfied for years to come, they've stopped selling analog televisions altogether.
Customers can now be sure that any television they purchase at Best Buy will be fully compliant with the digital television transition. And for customers who aren’t in the market for a new television, we can help you find the best solution to meet your needs
Source: DailyTech
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2
Yeah, stinkin' FCC, I wonder if you will be allowed to write-off your new TV set as a tax deduction because of the new ruling! HAHAH

On a serious note though, the ruling has also played a huge damper on my job. I will not go into full details about that.

I wonder how the ruling will effect off-air radio broadcasts as well.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
344 (0.08/day)
Likes
57
Location
Great state of Texas
System Name Eric's Dream Machine (2017 ed.)
Processor Core i7 6700k
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE RX Vega 56 (64 BIOS Flash-mod)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, Corsair GT 120GB, Corsair GTX 240GB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401 24"
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply EVGA G2-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K70 Vengeance MX Red
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
#3
C'mon I know the FCC is being a little pushy, but when aren't they? I'm sure anybody who has a tv can afford a $70 converter. Once you go HD you will wonder why you stayed in standard for so long. I do not have any HD sets myself, but I'm either going to get a converter for mine or just fork over a few hundred for a set around 30". Remember you don't need a 60" set to enjoy HD. I've just been waiting so long because I want a cheaper 1080p set. Right now they still are too expensive, but I heard they're going to drop around Christmas, so let's see.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#4
C'mon I know the FCC is being a little pushy, but when aren't they? I'm sure anybody who has a tv can afford a $70 converter. Once you go HD you will wonder why you stayed in standard for so long. I do not have any HD sets myself, but I'm either going to get a converter for mine or just fork over a few hundred for a set around 30". Remember you don't need a 60" set to enjoy HD. I've just been waiting so long because I want a cheaper 1080p set. Right now they still are too expensive, but I heard they're going to drop around Christmas, so let's see.
The government is issuing $40 vouchers ,to anyone who requests one and says they depend on analog broadcasts (which is anyone because they are not going to check), to use for the purchase of a converter. That means that the converter will end up costing the consumer only $30.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#5
they dropped the analog broadcast in my area of the uk earlier this year and almost nobody knew they were doing it. people compliand and they turned it back on, it will be stopping for good at the start of next year tho.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#6
digital terrestrial signals ftw! maybe we can finally get that ps3 dvr then.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#7
the FCC has already pushed the date back several times and im sure they will push the february date back as well. a lot of the smaller tv stations in the US havnt had the money to broadcast digitally yet. and there is no good reason why the FCC is doing this. it certainly isnt for "public service." be skeptical people...be very skeptical...
 

Behemoko

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
98 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @ 2.2
Memory 1.25GB DDR 333
Video Card(s) x800 Pro VIVO
Storage 160GB @ 7,200 RPM
Display(s) IBM 19" @ 1280 x 1024, 75
Power Supply 500 watts
Software Windows XP sp. 2
#8
The fact that we are going all digital has been known for a long time, as is the fact that they are giving out 1 free digital converter per household, but it's about time BB goes all digital. :)
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#9
My old black and white TV that I like to watch Si-Fi on will no longer work here soon:(
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#10
But HD looks so much better on bigger screens. I definitely want me a 65" 1080p Plasma, LCD or DLP TV. I mean, what guy doesnt?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.28/day)
Likes
62
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
#11
We just got a samsung 42in plasma tv and its sweet.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
This is annoying not everyone in America can afford a Digi setup. Unlike the UK you are SUPPOSED to be paying a TV license so not to sure how thats going work out. As last time i was there it was around $110 a year.

Just another reason i hate Digital.

In the UK is supposed to be 100% digi by 2012 were as the US by 2009?. Sheesh... And to be honest i cannot see much differance from Analog and Digital even more so how much more it costs. I guess it's a way to make sure everyones paying up huh.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.84/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#13
get the HD's now, y'all . . . the closer it gets to Feb 09 and the more people realize what's about to happen, the cost of the HD's will start climbing quickly . . . simple supply and demand . . .


unless the manufacturers start beefing up production to meet the impending demand . . . doubtful
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#14
Firstly, i'm shocked that there are this many replies without anyone having pointed out the flaw in this story (and that's not a shot at the author, i think this was copied from someone else).

1st off, how many of you are getting your "tech updates" regarding TV from the Best Buy salesman???? PC monitors have been digital for ages, long before 1080p, and far too many people seem to miss this.

The FCC rules is NOT that all programming must be HD by 2009, it must be digital. YOUR TV IS NOT GOING TO STOP WORKING. 90-95% of all TV's in use at this point in time are already digital. No converter box, no new TV needed. If you bought your TV within the last 15 years chances are it's digital. If your TV supports channels higher than 69 it IS digital, and if your TV has any RCA connections it IS digital. This story centers around how easily the "mob" is tossed into a panic over nothing or a misunderstanding. In 2009 the TV you bought for christmas last year WILL work.

The simple fact of the matter is that most TV stations are going to HD. If you already have to rip our you existing equipment (analog) and spend tons of money replacing it (digital) then why not drop the extra money and get the best you can (HD) now, rather than wait 10 years when that will be the standard, and you'll be stuck upgrading again? The TV industry, along with comission based selling compnies and greesy sales people everywhere have convinced people that what "most" are doing is actually what all are doing, and tried to sell you a TV by making you believe it was mandatory.

Would you ask the car salesman to give you fair, accurate, unbiased information about the car he's trying to sell you??? Then why are you believing the retail salesman?

90% of television is already digital right now. If you get you TV from a source other than an outdoor (ota) antenna then you're probably getting digital. Cable went digital in most place, satellite (DBS) has been digital for many years now, DVD players are ditigal, etc etc. Please don't panic, don't sell your TV's, and don't sink huge ammounts of money into a HDTV unless you WANT one, because you don't NEED one.

Sorry for ranting. I work in the TV bizz and i've been crushing this falsification ever since retail salesman started spewing it 2 years ago :).
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,170 (0.27/day)
Likes
436
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#15
Firstly, i'm shocked.....If your TV supports channels higher than 69 it IS digital, and if your TV has any RCA connections it IS digital.
I think you're confusing a digital tv with a digital tv that can receive digital signals over-the-air. Just because a tv can have channels over 69 doesnt mean that it can receive digital signals over-the-air.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#16
I think you're confusing a digital tv with a digital tv that can receive digital signals over-the-air. Just because a tv can have channels over 69 doesnt mean that it can receive digital signals over-the-air.
Not at all sir. Here's a good article for anyone who thinks i'm nuts :).

http://www.boston.com/business/tech.../fcc_rule_requires_all_new_tvs_to_be_digital/

The main point i'm trying to make here is that (i'm guessing at this number, but i've heard teh real number before and i'm pretty sure this is correct) 80% of all american households DO NOT receive their television via OTA signal. They subscribe to a distributor (comshit, dish, directTV, etc, etc). I really could care less if you guys want to run out and buy HDTV's, they nice. The point is i don't want people who don't need\want HD to be duped into believeing that they do need to get a new TV. Working int he TB biz the last 3 years i've seen far too many conned into buying something they didn't want, didn't need, they don't understand, and they end up hating it.

And i'd also like to point out that yet again someone has fallen for the hype. Best Buy never had your best interest at heart. The goverment is mandating all TV's going foreword have a digital OTA tuner. Best Buy just tried to make themselves look good by boasting about switching over when they never had a choice.
 
Last edited: