• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Best cable MODEM?

Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
192 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
Processor i7-4770k @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline Ridgeback DDR3-2400 11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB, 4x1TB WD Black RAID5
Display(s) Samsung S27A850 2560x1440
Case Antec Eleven Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR / Sennheiser HD650 on WooAudio WA7 RCA + Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Benchmark Scores 11186 Firestrike
#1
Hello, i am not sure where to start looking. I just purchased an Intel 100/1000 GT NIC. I tough it would help, but it doesnt quite.

I play games a 20 ping difference matters. I have two friends in a town next to me playing in the same server, and we have the same ISP, i ping 60, he pings 40.

My cable modem was supplied by my ISP 5 years ago when the service was 5100/512. It is now 9000/900. I am not too much into technical networking and i'd like to know your opinions, should i look for a new modem? If so, what to look for?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#2
I doubt there is much differences between cable modems. Just make sure it is DOCSIS 2.0 certified.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#3
Can't you try their modem on your line, see if that makes a difference? It is very likely that it's your line though. Could be that you're a lot further from the provider.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
192 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
Processor i7-4770k @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline Ridgeback DDR3-2400 11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB, 4x1TB WD Black RAID5
Display(s) Samsung S27A850 2560x1440
Case Antec Eleven Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR / Sennheiser HD650 on WooAudio WA7 RCA + Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Benchmark Scores 11186 Firestrike
#4
Can't you try their modem on your line, see if that makes a difference? It is very likely that it's your line though. Could be that you're a lot further from the provider.
I will try to call my ISP so see what is up, but we are in fact 20 km away, the servers are in Chicago, and we are next to Montreal, Canada.

Speedtest or other apps does not report the promised bandwidth either.

I doubt there is much differences between cable modems. Just make sure it is DOCSIS 2.0 certified.
How can i know if it is DOCSIS 2.0? and what is this?
 

MadCow

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
544 (0.14/day)
Likes
33
Processor Athlon 64 X2 4400+ @2.6 GHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT CFX3200
Cooling 120mm Yate Loon fan intake, 82mm ex-PSU fan exhaust
Memory 2048 mb. of cheap DDR400 RAM w/cheap heatspreaders
Video Card(s) Sapphire+HIS X1950 PRO, Crossfired@635/709
Storage WD 250 GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung 216BW
Case No-name ATX case (modded to hell)
Audio Device(s) SB X-FI OEM
Power Supply Nikao Cool Power 500W (34a@12v)
Software Windows XP PRO SP2
#6
Just call up your ISP and tell them you're having speed issues and ask to send someone over. When I did that my ISP sent somebody and they replaced my modem for free.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
442 (0.12/day)
Likes
27
System Name ANTC-1221
Processor Intel Core2 Quad - Q9550 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-1100 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB in RAID0, WD Caviar 500GB
Display(s) Hanns-G HW223D 22"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker connected to Logitech G15 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RU 750W
Software Vista Home Premium 64-bit
#7
Cable modems are pretty much all the same really. Like some others have said make sure it is Docsis 2.0 otherwise your speeds will be lower than you are supposed to get. I would call your ISP and have them test your line as well, we had an issue at our apartment where the line was actually coming apart from its conduit to our building. You can buy a brand new network of modem, routers, adapters, etc. but it wont do much good if they have a crappy connection to the WAN..

As far as different brands, it doesn't really matter. I have a D-Link I bought a few years ago that has worked like a charm, never freezes, and isnt a cheap poorly built p.o.s. that the cable company supplies. I would buy your own quality modem so you wont have to rent one from the cable company. The ones they give are usually el-cheapo and you more than pay for their value in rent over time.. its one more way cable companies can screw you over!