• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Best OC software for athlon proccesors

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#1
Whats the best program for overclocking athlon procesors?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#2
from windows? try clockgen and amd overdrive
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#3
Yes for windows. i used clockgen but it dosint have the voltage increase option

im giving u a thx for a fast ass response!
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#4
glad to help :) what motherboard do you have?(please fill in your system specs via the user cp)
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#5
k wait a second


done!

i can set my clock upto 170mh from 167 and any value after 170mhz , pc restarts


temps are good idle 38-40



WTF weird ass thing , i pressed refresh while clock gen was open and BAM pc reset
 
Last edited:

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
Its called a BIOS. Win OC software is just unhealthy.
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#7
Its called a BIOS. Win OC software is just unhealthy.
ermm ok i will try in the bios , what u think guys should i raise the v core to 1.75?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#8
hell no!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ket does have a point, the best way to oc is via the bios. whats your stock voltage? try ocing without touching the voltage first
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#9
hell no!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ket does have a point, the best way to oc is via the bios. whats your stock voltage? try ocing without touching the voltage first
damn for some strange reason speed fan wont read the vcore correctly neighter cpuz , it did a while ago

the stock voltage is 1.65 now runs at about 1.69
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#10
oh okay, its fine then lol, on my chip the stock voltage is 1.25, and if i upped it to 1.7 my chip would be running way too hot. but if your stock voltage is 1.65, then 1.7 is not a problem, but try ocing without extra voltage first.
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#11
i've heard ppl getting 2.3 max on my processor currently its at 2165 ,167mhz
when i move the mhz over 170mhz it wont boot. to get over i need to increase the voltage?
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
ermm ok i will try in the bios , what u think guys should i raise the v core to 1.75?
You wont be able to take that 3000 too far, if your interested in keeping that socket A system alive I would sell your 3000+ and use the funds gained to pick up a XP-M 2500+. I would also consider replacing your memory with at least 2x512MB PC3500.
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#13
You wont be able to take that 3000 too far, if your interested in keeping that socket A system alive I would sell your 3000+ and use the funds gained to pick up a XP-M 2500+. I would also consider replacing your memory with at least 2x512MB PC3500.
lol i had dual 512 kingstons , but when i run sandra and benched BAM. then i started having general foult errors on windows nothing would run , had to take 1 out
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#14
Sounds like one of your sticks went bad. Sometimes that can be resolved by updating your BIOS to the latest, then resettings your CMOS. If that doesnt work try raising memory voltage from 2.6 to 2.8v. If that doesnt work.. yeah its dead good :p
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#15
I CAN FIX IT???

im realy scared to update the bios , never done something like that i dont want it to go BAm just like the stick help
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#16
bios.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#17

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#19
no, your bios should have overclocking options, you might have to hit shift f1 or something similiar to unlock it. ket is the bios guru here, run your bios by him maybe?
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#20
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#21
Is that kingston DDR 400 ram? If so it is not compatible. Call Kingston or look up on their website. I gave my A7N8-E deluxe and XP-M2400 to my bro. Initially I got Kingston DDR400 because it was on sale and the pc became very unstable. Returned it back and switched to Corsair and it worked wonderfully. Rightnow my brother is using it with Buffalo brand DDR400 sticks no problem.
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#22
Is that kingston DDR 400 ram? If so it is not compatible. Call Kingston or look up on their website. I gave my A7N8-E deluxe and XP-M2400 to my bro. Initially I got Kingston DDR400 because it was on sale and the pc became very unstable. Returned it back and switched to Corsair and it worked wonderfully. Rightnow my brother is using it with Buffalo brand DDR400 sticks no problem.
no i acctualy missread it says samsung on it , it worked since i build this pc now i wanna flash bios but struggeling to understand the proccess
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#23
And if you have atleast copper or heatpipe cooling go for higher voltages. More than 1.7V the PC will be a natural room heater (good for winter now).

Try 1.7V first.

And that board tends to over or undervolt always by .025.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#24
no i acctualy missread it says samsung on it , it worked since i build this pc now i wanna flash bios but struggeling to understand the proccess
sometimes Kingston gets it from Samsung and re-brands it. I have 2 sticks like that. They are very good overclockers on A64 boards.

What does CPU-Z say?
 

binladenpl

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
118 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
System Name Pirat
Processor AMD Athlon 3000+
Motherboard A7N8 DELUXE ASUS
Cooling Zelman CPU Fan , 3 Case fans
Memory 512 KINGSTON, SAMSUNG 512
Video Card(s) x1600pro 512 AGP
Storage 80GB sagate 2x = 160 gb
Audio Device(s) sound blaster audigy 2 , nforce 2 onboard
Power Supply antec 500watt
#25
sometimes Kingston gets it from Samsung and re-brands it. I have 2 sticks like that. They are very good overclockers on A64 boards.

What does CPU-Z say?
what you mean what cpu z say?