• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best stress test utility for overclocked 2500k in 2018y.

Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#1
Hello!
I'm looking for best stress test utility to check my cpu's stability after OC.
Last CPU which I OCed was Q6600 - in those days I've been using LINX, Orthos and IBT.
Which utility is the best nowadays? What about Prime95 and OCCT with it's Linpack AVX stress test?
TIA.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
941 (0.72/day)
Likes
572
#4
What is your goal ?

-If your goal is test stability in a multitasking environment using real world applications to get the best OC you can then RoG Real Bench is your best bet.
- If your goal is to be able to say you tested your OC under the most extreme and unrealistic conditions ... conditions which your CPU will never be exposed to in its liufetime, then test will one of, or even, ALL of the synthetics. Your stable OC will be significantly lower than it otherwise would be because no set of conditions will ever place such a single task loading on your PC again.

I am not saying there is no value to using synthetics... the question is, is their value to you ? As the saying goes, many folk "won't be able to sleep at night" knowing that there's some set of conditions which could be created, even artificially, that would make an OC unstable. OTOH, I have had 24 stable synthetic OCs fail under a multi tasking benchmark in < 20 minutes.

It could very will be that a OC limited by OC temps to 4.8 Ghz using synthetics, can reach 5.0 Ghz under RoG Real Bench. Yes, it might not get by synthetics because you hit temps that aren't comfy.... but do you care since PC will never see similar loadings again ?

To put it in simpler terms, if you live near the shore at 75 feet above sea level, when you add a trailer hitch to your compact SUV to haul your new 260 pound Skidoo to the beach 14 miles away, is there really any value to testing the hitch and engine / tranny / fuel mixture by hauling a 10,000 pound load up and over the Rocky Mountains ? Your hitch / SUV will never see that load nor the thin air of the Rockies.

Like most things PC related, there is no "best" for everyone... just what's best for you under the anticipated loads and conditions you expose your PC to.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#5
Okey guys. Thank you for answers. I just overclocked my CPU to 4.5 GHz. Offset voltage mode, actually -0.030V. LLC on level 4. Additional Turbo Voltage on + 0.004 (to be sure MB won't add to much).
Rest of settings like C states etc. set correctly.

I'm wondering about Vcore voltage.

With current settings Vcore under full load (OCCT Linpack + AVX) gives 1.3V (CPU-Z) - I think it's stable at this level, but I will check it later with longer test.

But... sometimes I see ~1.34V jump in CPU-Z, when I for example launch some application. Is that jumps normal?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.69/day)
Likes
6,919
#7
Problem with most stability testing tools is that they only hammer CPU. RealBench hammers all subsystems, even graphics one which is why I found it to be more reliable as it also heats up graphic card.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#8
Okey, previous settings were not stable.
I changed LLC to level3. Current voltage under full load is 1.328V and it passed 7.5 h occt test so I guess it's stable this time.

I will try to lower the offset (or maybe increase it and back to LLC level4) to set Vcore under load to ~1.31-1.32. Maybe 1.33 is higher than needed.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.69/day)
Likes
6,919
#9
Keep LLC at OFF or lowest possible level. LLC is really needed for extreme overclocking. We're talking DICE, phase or NL...

Also, make sure to load CPU, RAM and GPU at once. It's possible that system will pass CPU only test, but will be unstable when running games because you'll also put load on RAM and GPU.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#10
Currently I set:

LLC level 4 (25%)
-0.005V offset

pretty stable.

Voltage under full load: 1.312-1.320V

But there are spikes to 1.344V while average load like opening apps or playing not demanding game. It just fluctuates: 1.336, 1.328, 1.344V.
Is there a way to get rid of these spikes?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#12
I just tried fixed voltage mode. And now it's seems that LLC is not working at all. There is no Vdroop at all. LLC is now set at 5 level (0%).

I set 1.31V and this voltage doesn't change even at full load. Is this normal? I thought that Vdroop is always presented.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,050 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,457
#13
That's what it is supposed to do, and NOT what you want for 24/7 use, as instead of the voltage fluctuating, the current does. That's for benchmarking purposes.

Today's boards offer "adaptive" voltage, which is actually what you really want, but is not possible on the P67 platform.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#14
So LLC is not working when fixed voltage mode is enabled?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,050 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,457
#15
So LLC is not working when fixed voltage mode is enabled?
technically, it IS working, but at a set value. Proper loadline levels for any CPU sees voltage fluctuate according to workload, and the options you have for LLC vary how much it fluctuates (either above or below requested voltage). No fluctuations on voltage means that the current is what is fluctuating instead, and that can be dangerous for a CPU and lead to an earlier death than if proper loadline calibration values are used.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#16
So with Level 5(0%) there should be high Vdroop (from for example 1.31 to 1.29) But there's not... Maybe my MB is broken or something?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,679 (3.96/day)
Likes
10,966
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#17
id just apply your OC settings, then use the CPU as you would normally, doing whatever tasks you normally do, & if you encounter stability issues, adjust accordingly.. Using applications like P95, etc to "stress test" stability is silly, and a time waste, unless the OC is what your doing as a "project/hobby", in which case , im sure there are plenty of suggestions already posted. But if your not OC'ing as a hobby, using things that super stress your CPU in a way that will never be encountered outside of the stress application is like building a car that can operate under water, even though it will never go under water.

2500k is a great chip, i loved mine, i hope you have fun with it
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#18
Yes, you are right. I will just test in normal usage, gaming etc.

But I just wonder why this fixed voltage mode is not working - I mean there is no Vdroop at all no matter LLC settings I choose. At Level 5 (0%) Vdroop should be pretty high. It seems that Fixed Mode is broken. I even tried Beta Bios, but this not fixed this.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,260 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,920
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name SER
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage V Extreme
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill Value DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 @ 1500/1950MHz
Storage Intel 600p 256GB + Samsung 840 Pro 256GB + WD Green 500GB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeAudio PCIe
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Time Spy - 4845 Fire Strike - 13246
#19
Switched myself to gaming to test stability. Some heavier new games are one excellent way for testing, though for streaming I use the 100% stable clocks. :D
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#20
Ok guys, here is the little update to my OC results:

Actually I have one profile which I think is stable (99%). It passed 5.5 hours of OCCT Small Data Set test. In normal usage there is no problem at all until now.
Settings:
- Load Line Calibration at Level 3 (50%)
- Offset Voltage "-0.030"
- Additional Turbo Voltage set to minimum = +0.004V

Above settings gives some spikes to 1.336 V at average load. At full load - 1.320 - 1.328V.

Now I'm testing some other settings:
- Load Line Calibration at Level 4 (25%)
- Offset Voltage "-0.005"
- Additional Turbo Voltage set to minimum = +0.004V.

These settings gives some spikes to 1.344V at average load. At full load - 1.312-1.320V. (OCCT Linpack with AVX).

I wonder about load voltage (1.304V or even 1.296V) when OCCT Linpack without AVX is running. Why in this test load voltage is lower? Is Linpack without AVX less demanding than with AVX? Or maybe it's higher so Vdroop is higher? What do you think?

EDIT: Settings with Level 4 are stable - 7.5 H OCCT Linpack AVX passed.

Now I'm wondering, which profile is better to 24/7 use.
1st profile has lower spikes (1.336V) with average load.
2nd profile has higher spikes (1.336/1.344 sometimes) but lower full load Vcore - 1.312-1.320V.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
141 (0.84/day)
Likes
93
Location
Upstate NY
#21
Im with John N on this one. You should benchmark and torture test specific to what your system will encounter in the real world. For some of us, that means as little as 20 minutes of AIDA64 torture test to see all is well and for others, that means endless rounds of synthetic torture tests and rigorous heat testing using Prime for days and weeks on end. Tech tip of the day: Feather touch
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
183 (0.14/day)
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard AsRock P67 Pro 3 B3
Cooling SPC Grandis
Memory 2x 4 GB DDR 3 1600 MHz Kingston HyperX Black
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
Storage WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 23MP65HQ-P
Case SillentiumPC Gladius M40
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply XFX TS 550W
#22
Update:

Both of my OC profiles are stable at load, but today, when I left my computer for awhile it crashed in idle state - black screen, no bsod, no restart, just black screen. At this profile, offset voltage was at -0.030 so idle voltage was lower than stock.

I increased offset to -0.025 for now and see will it help or not.

Is black screen crash normal when voltage is insufficient?
I though there will always be 0x124 BSOD.

EDIT: It wasn't idle voltage I think. With OC it is at 0.976V, without OC - 0.968V.

Which other settings may cause this black screen? Until now it only happened once, but..
 
Last edited:
Top