• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best sub timings for my RAM?

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
Hey guys.

Recently, I've been into RAM tweaking because I found out that motherboards are settings some aggressively loose sub timings (like trfc being on 800), which makes me think I'm missing out on performance. I've tightened up trfc to 460, but now I wanna know if there is something else being set the same wrong way, so can anyone help me with this? Are there any sub timings I should change? My RAM is G.Skill 32GB 3200mhz CL16.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: full system specs:

CPU: i9 10850k no OC
Mobo: Asus Rog Maximus Hero XII
RAM: G.Skill 32GB Dual Channel 3200mhz CL16
PSU: Corsair RM750
Storage: Samsung Sata SSD 500GB (and some other SSDs)
RTX 3060 TI
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    196.3 KB · Views: 69
  • Capture1.PNG
    Capture1.PNG
    20.2 KB · Views: 61
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
929 (2.84/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Laptop | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Core i7-7700HQ | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Lenovo ThinkPad | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Some Fans | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 2x8GB Assorted | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | Intel HD 630 + Quadro M620 Mobile | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | WD Black SN750 512GB + Intel H20 512GB + 1TB HDD | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | Internal 1080p | TBD
Case Dell | Lenovo ThinkPad | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Audio Device(s) Half-broken Earbuds | Headphones | TBD
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | Lenovo 225W | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Logitech M275 | Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Keyboard Logitech K345 | Lenovo's Incredible Keyboard | TBD
Software Quotesoft, Adobe Acrobat, DaVinci Resolve | GAMES | MOAR GAMES
Can you tell us your full system specs?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
929 (2.84/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Laptop | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Core i7-7700HQ | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Lenovo ThinkPad | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Some Fans | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 2x8GB Assorted | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | Intel HD 630 + Quadro M620 Mobile | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | WD Black SN750 512GB + Intel H20 512GB + 1TB HDD | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | Internal 1080p | TBD
Case Dell | Lenovo ThinkPad | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Audio Device(s) Half-broken Earbuds | Headphones | TBD
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | Lenovo 225W | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Logitech M275 | Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Keyboard Logitech K345 | Lenovo's Incredible Keyboard | TBD
Software Quotesoft, Adobe Acrobat, DaVinci Resolve | GAMES | MOAR GAMES
Edited the post and added a screenshot of CPU-z SPD.
Sorry I am not experienced enough to answer your main question, but most people here like full specs for this kind of thing.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,468 (1.09/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 12400F
Motherboard Asus B660-G (BCLK enabled!!)
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Patriot C36 series 5200mhz
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage Samsung 980 pro m2
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 1000w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Benchmark Scores 1800 single core CB R23 at 4.6ghz
Hey guys.

Recently, I've been into RAM tweaking because I found out that motherboards are settings some aggressively loose sub timings (like trfc being on 800), which makes me think I'm missing out on performance. I've tightened up trfc to 460, but now I wanna know if there is something else being set the same wrong way, so can anyone help me with this? Are there any sub timings I should change? My RAM is G.Skill 32GB 3200mhz CL16.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: full system specs:

CPU: i9 10850k no OC
Mobo: Asus Rog Maximus Hero XII
RAM: G.Skill 32GB Dual Channel 3200mhz CL16
PSU: Corsair RM750
Storage: Samsung Sata SSD 500GB (and some other SSDs)
RTX 3060 TI
Performance will come with a higher frequency. On Intel systems, it's about 4000mhz and faster.

So I'd see if you can run a higher frequency at the stock XMP timings first. SK Hynix, small bump like run 1.360v. More doesn't scale, so no bother there.

Then, run your Cache (Ring) frequency 300mhz less than your Max All core frequency. That should help boost your memory performance quite a bit. Set min and max the same multiplier like 37x. After you set the multi, you can scroll to the top of the page and view the "Target Cache Frequency" to be sure you have it set properly.

Also, you could do a full OC on the CPU. This also will boost memory performance. (It all goes hand in hand).

Rule of thumb with your memory, on any system.
Max frequency first, then tweak the timings to fine tune.
Expect CPU and Cache OC to aid in memory performance.

Good Luck! :D
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,225 (1.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
This is probably Hynux CJR, but may be something worse like AFR. Can you downliad thaiphoon burner and read spd to find which chip they use? I would first set all timings to auto, voltage to 1.4v, SA voltage to 1.25v and try 4000. If that worjs begin tightening timings, if not try 3900, 3800 etc till you get boot. Report your max speed back so can I try to help.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
781 (0.92/day)
System Name Mean machine
Processor 12900k
Motherboard Apex z690
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 6000c32
Video Card(s) 3090 Gamerock oc
Storage 980 pro 2tb
Display(s) Samsung crg90
Case Fractal Torent
Audio Device(s) Shure se846 / Beyerdynamic dt1770
Power Supply Be quiet dark power pro 1200
Mouse Viper ultimate
Keyboard Blackwidow 65%
Benchmark Scores Timespy Graphics score : 23.244 SUPO 4k OPT : 20.043
Hey guys.

Recently, I've been into RAM tweaking because I found out that motherboards are settings some aggressively loose sub timings (like trfc being on 800), which makes me think I'm missing out on performance. I've tightened up trfc to 460, but now I wanna know if there is something else being set the same wrong way, so can anyone help me with this? Are there any sub timings I should change? My RAM is G.Skill 32GB 3200mhz CL16.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: full system specs:

CPU: i9 10850k no OC
Mobo: Asus Rog Maximus Hero XII
RAM: G.Skill 32GB Dual Channel 3200mhz CL16
PSU: Corsair RM750
Storage: Samsung Sata SSD 500GB (and some other SSDs)
RTX 3060 TI
Τhe best improvement you can make is run them on 3333 and set it to 1t. Should work without any voltage adjustments. You could try setting trefi to max 65535 but that might cause heating issues with the sticks
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,225 (1.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
Τhe best improvement you can make is run them on 3333 and set it to 1t. Should work without any voltage adjustments. You could try setting trefi to max 65535 but that might cause heating issues with the sticks
If I remember correctly, high tREFI cause less heat since refresh intervals are increased and refreshing produces heat. However, risk of corruption/instability increases with higher tREFI.
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
Thanks guys.

To be fair, I'm not really willing to increase the voltage and overclock the frequency, so if there is nothing left to be tweaked in sub timings, I will just leave it as it is and call it a day.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
781 (0.92/day)
System Name Mean machine
Processor 12900k
Motherboard Apex z690
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 6000c32
Video Card(s) 3090 Gamerock oc
Storage 980 pro 2tb
Display(s) Samsung crg90
Case Fractal Torent
Audio Device(s) Shure se846 / Beyerdynamic dt1770
Power Supply Be quiet dark power pro 1200
Mouse Viper ultimate
Keyboard Blackwidow 65%
Benchmark Scores Timespy Graphics score : 23.244 SUPO 4k OPT : 20.043
If I remember correctly, high tREFI cause less heat since refresh intervals are increased and refreshing produces heat. However, risk of corruption/instability increases with higher tREFI.
You are partially right. Yes, higher trefi means the refresh intervals will increase, which actually increases the amount of time the memory has to hold the voltage and the data stored. Higher trefi does increase temperatures because during the refresh interval the memory is inaccessible which gives it time to cool down. More frequent refresh intervals means more time that the memory is inaccessible and therefore cools down

And yes, trefi is the most dangerous setting learing to complete boot corruption.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,225 (1.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
Thanks guys.

To be fair, I'm not really willing to increase the voltage and overclock the frequency, so if there is nothing left to be tweaked in sub timings, I will just leave it as it is and call it a day.
There is probably a lot to do on your current frequency\voltage. 1.45V is 100% safe for B-die if you want to try something faster. Post a zentimings screenshot and I can give you input if you like :)
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
781 (0.92/day)
System Name Mean machine
Processor 12900k
Motherboard Apex z690
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 6000c32
Video Card(s) 3090 Gamerock oc
Storage 980 pro 2tb
Display(s) Samsung crg90
Case Fractal Torent
Audio Device(s) Shure se846 / Beyerdynamic dt1770
Power Supply Be quiet dark power pro 1200
Mouse Viper ultimate
Keyboard Blackwidow 65%
Benchmark Scores Timespy Graphics score : 23.244 SUPO 4k OPT : 20.043
There is probably a lot to do on your current frequency\voltage. 1.45V is 100% safe for B-die if you want to try something faster. Post a zentimings screenshot and I can give you input if you like :)
He doesnt have bdie. Bdie can go up to 1.6 no problems, been there done that
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
There is probably a lot to do on your current frequency\voltage. 1.45V is 100% safe for B-die if you want to try something faster. Post a zentimings screenshot and I can give you input if you like :)
Unfortunately zentimings doesn't work on my system as my CPU is intel, but it's ok anyway, plus my RAMs aren't B-Die anyway, so... but thank you!
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
781 (0.92/day)
System Name Mean machine
Processor 12900k
Motherboard Apex z690
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 6000c32
Video Card(s) 3090 Gamerock oc
Storage 980 pro 2tb
Display(s) Samsung crg90
Case Fractal Torent
Audio Device(s) Shure se846 / Beyerdynamic dt1770
Power Supply Be quiet dark power pro 1200
Mouse Viper ultimate
Keyboard Blackwidow 65%
Benchmark Scores Timespy Graphics score : 23.244 SUPO 4k OPT : 20.043
Unfortunately zentimings doesn't work on my system as my CPU is intel, but it's ok anyway, plus my RAMs aren't B-Die anyway, so... but thank you!
If you can spare the money though, its really worth it on your platform to go for bdie. Cometlake has the best ddr4 imc on the planet, and since you got a decent motherboard, you can hit 4400c16 with tight subs on that cpu. Now of course thats going to be great for benching at 720p, what difference will you see in the real world is questionable
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
If you can spare the money though, its really worth it on your platform to go for bdie. Cometlake has the best ddr4 imc on the planet, and since you got a decent motherboard, you can hit 4400c16 with tight subs on that cpu. Now of course thats going to be great for benching at 720p, what difference will you see in the real world is questionable
I agree, I wanted a B-Die RAM so bad but I couldn't find it in my country, plus I was on a vacation so I wanted to build my PC really quick and that's why I decided to just buy whatever I have available, but I'm 100% getting a B-Die RAM in the future, even if I won't see a difference, I still want to have a high end RAM. Also, I game on a 1080p res so there actually might be a difference if CPU will get pushed more. Can't wait!
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
29,203 (4.85/day)
System Name EVA-01
Processor Intel i7 12700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Z690 HERO EVA Edition
Cooling be quiet! PURE LOOP 360
Memory Sabrent ROCKET DDR5 2x32GB @ 4800MHz @C32
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 24GB OC EVA Edition
Storage Addlink S95 M.2 PCIe GEN 4x4 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case be quiet! SILENT BASE 802
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply be quiet DARK POWER PRO 12 1500W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 11
That Hero motherboard should have two XMP options. One of them, "XMP I" runs the kit with asus tuning the sticks. "XMP II" runs the kit as G.Skill designed it to.

You could look there for starters and see what the Asus tuning offers.
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
That Hero motherboard should have two XMP options. One of them, "XMP I" runs the kit with asus tuning the sticks. "XMP II" runs the kit as G.Skill designed it to.

You could look there for starters and see what the Asus tuning offers.
Wait, I didn't know that. My XMP is already on I, should I try II then?
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
29,203 (4.85/day)
System Name EVA-01
Processor Intel i7 12700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Z690 HERO EVA Edition
Cooling be quiet! PURE LOOP 360
Memory Sabrent ROCKET DDR5 2x32GB @ 4800MHz @C32
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 24GB OC EVA Edition
Storage Addlink S95 M.2 PCIe GEN 4x4 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case be quiet! SILENT BASE 802
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply be quiet DARK POWER PRO 12 1500W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 11
Wait, I didn't know that. My XMP is already on I, should I try II then?

Read the foot notes at the bottom of the UEFI page. If I am recalling XMP I is the one in which it takes a few POST attempts and trains the timings. If I am remembering right, XMP II would be stick defaults, and likely not as tight with the timings.

You could save a profile where you are now and then tinker with both and see which performs better.
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
Read the foot notes at the bottom of the UEFI page. If I am recalling XMP I is the one in which it takes a few POST attempts and trains the timings. If I am remembering right, XMP II would be stick defaults, and likely not as tight with the timings.

You could save a profile where you are now and then tinker with both and see which performs better.
Will take a note, thanks!

Read the foot notes at the bottom of the UEFI page. If I am recalling XMP I is the one in which it takes a few POST attempts and trains the timings. If I am remembering right, XMP II would be stick defaults, and likely not as tight with the timings.

You could save a profile where you are now and then tinker with both and see which performs better.
Dude, thanks a lot. Just applied XMP II and it actually modified some values like TRFC and TFAW which made mouse and overall system feel kind of better and the gameplay seems a bit more stable and fluid too, so I think I will stay with XMP II now. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,225 (1.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,683 (1.76/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5800X3D @ 100W
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4006)
Memory 2x16GB 3733CL14
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti - 1980@0.931V
Storage 1TB SN750 - 1TB SN850X - 1TB Blue3D
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
Hey guys.

Recently, I've been into RAM tweaking because I found out that motherboards are settings some aggressively loose sub timings (like trfc being on 800), which makes me think I'm missing out on performance. I've tightened up trfc to 460, but now I wanna know if there is something else being set the same wrong way, so can anyone help me with this? Are there any sub timings I should change? My RAM is G.Skill 32GB 3200mhz CL16.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: full system specs:

CPU: i9 10850k no OC
Mobo: Asus Rog Maximus Hero XII
RAM: G.Skill 32GB Dual Channel 3200mhz CL16
PSU: Corsair RM750
Storage: Samsung Sata SSD 500GB (and some other SSDs)
RTX 3060 TI

If you are serious about RAM, go to your sticks and look at the sticker on them, and note down the last 5 digits of the string that starts with 042. That'll tell you for certain what you have (probably 882xx or S82xx). Might get lucky, but probably not.

Comet Lake has a good IMC, even with B-die you probably are looking at running north of 4000 with good subs for meaningful performance gains. Hynix has 1 IC that can also do that speed range for you, but all of its DDR4 products behave the same - timings range from average to loose.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,468 (1.09/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 12400F
Motherboard Asus B660-G (BCLK enabled!!)
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Patriot C36 series 5200mhz
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage Samsung 980 pro m2
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 1000w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Benchmark Scores 1800 single core CB R23 at 4.6ghz
Read the foot notes at the bottom of the UEFI page. If I am recalling XMP I is the one in which it takes a few POST attempts and trains the timings. If I am remembering right, XMP II would be stick defaults, and likely not as tight with the timings.

You could save a profile where you are now and then tinker with both and see which performs better.
Usually XMP I or II (I can't remember off hand without looking) ... One of those two profiles is Asus's optimized XMP profile which does take a few attempts in some cases to full train. That's because the training algorithms are left on "auto" and some disabled.

With OP's current board and CPU, I nice high frequency kit would be the way to go and would match these performance parts.. There's a ton of performance on the table here......
 

TheKelz

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2022
Messages
12 (0.43/day)
If you are serious about RAM, go to your sticks and look at the sticker on them, and note down the last 5 digits of the string that starts with 042. That'll tell you for certain what you have (probably 882xx or S82xx). Might get lucky, but probably not.

Comet Lake has a good IMC, even with B-die you probably are looking at running north of 4000 with good subs for meaningful performance gains. Hynix has 1 IC that can also do that speed range for you, but all of its DDR4 products behave the same - timings range from average to loose.
I'll be honest I'm not entirely that serious about RAM, I just thought maybe there are some sub timings which need to be configured, but otherwise, I'm fine with what it is right now... but this information was helpful, thank you.
With OP's current board and CPU, I nice high frequency kit would be the way to go and would match these performance parts.. There's a ton of performance on the table here......
I agree. That is why I'm still planning on buying a high end B-Die kit. Too bad there is no such RAM available in my country, will have to order one.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
1,225 (1.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 5600X@4.85 CO
Motherboard Gigabyte B550m S2H
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Slim
Memory Patriot Viper 4400cl19 2x8@4000cl16 tight subs
Video Card(s) Asus 3060ti TUF OC
Storage WD blue 1TB nvme
Display(s) Lenovo G24-10 144Hz
Case Corsair D4000 Airflow
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Benchmark Scores CB20 4710@4.7GHz Aida64 50.4ns 4.8GHz+4000cl15 tuned ram SOTTR 1080p low 263fps avg CPU game
You can do quite a bit with CJR aswell, it's one of the better DDR4 kits. Download the asrock timing configurator and we can try to help you :)
 
Top