• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best UPS?

Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
#1
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
APC is longstanding the best brand in my book. never heard of cyberpower but that doesn't mean they aren't great.

still, i recommend APC.
 

Kona1169

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 965BE C2
Motherboard Asus M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50 (pull/push)
Memory G.Skill Pi 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire 4850 1gb
Storage Intel X25-M 80gb. WD 1.5tb caviar green
Display(s) 21" LG and 19" gateway
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Corsair 550tx
Software win7 64bit
#3
ive actually had 1 or 2 apc's fail on me. although i do have 1 apc still going on a large format printer, i guess its hit and miss but i wouldnt risk it if you need this ups for work.

i can say though that the the 2 ultra ups's and the belkin i have are still running strong.

i think the ultra ones were cheaper but i may be wrong.

make sure you buy the correct power size too right?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
ive actually had 1 or 2 apc's fail on me. although i do have 1 apc still going on a large format printer, i guess its hit and miss but i wouldnt risk it if you need this ups for work.

i can say though that the the 2 ultra ups's and the belkin i have are still running strong.

i think the ultra ones were cheaper but i may be wrong.

make sure you buy the correct power size too right?
I have one here it loves chewing though batteries lol ( much older model though ). I ended up getting a Cyberpower one although it's around $180 and does fair well and get about 11-18 minutes run time. and thats in game using around 200-415w ( 40" HDTV included(90w) + a home theater(65w)).

BTW what you plan to run of the either one of those ?. I'm asking as you might not get the up time you may think you will. All so a lot of them turn of if your overload them to which was another reason i got a better one.

Had the Cyberpower one now for about 3-4 months and been great even more so this last month were the power is is dodgy as hell. Gotta love summer and the outages :p.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
593 (0.19/day)
Likes
105
System Name BoTBlue
Processor Intel i7-3770
Motherboard Intel DQ77MK
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory Samsung 4x4Gb
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 470
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer
Case AthenaTech
Power Supply Corsair 850w
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#5
i bought the CyberPower OR1500LCDRM2U about 6 month ago because my cheap Ultra had a dead battery.
buying new batteries would have cost me almost as much as buying a new unit.
it's holding up good so far and got me and my server through a couple of power outages.
the management software is decent.
it might be a bit overkill for what you want but i can recommend it.
 

Kona1169

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 965BE C2
Motherboard Asus M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50 (pull/push)
Memory G.Skill Pi 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire 4850 1gb
Storage Intel X25-M 80gb. WD 1.5tb caviar green
Display(s) 21" LG and 19" gateway
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Corsair 550tx
Software win7 64bit
#6
as i said i think its hit and miss with these things. as i said i have a older apc still running. 1-2 apc crashed. i think the ones i run are around 800-1200 watts for a mac pro with a 30 inch monitor (i think the mac pros run around 800watt psu or something)
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
272
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290X 8GB Tri-X OC
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
I have a CyberPower CP800AVR and it works very nicely for me. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. I'll agree with others here that you may want to review your wattage requirements.

The two models you linked are pretty much identical.
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
i bought the CyberPower OR1500LCDRM2U about 6 month ago because my cheap Ultra had a dead battery.
buying new batteries would have cost me almost as much as buying a new unit.
it's holding up good so far and got me and my server through a couple of power outages.
the management software is decent.
it might be a bit overkill for what you want but i can recommend it.
Yeah replacment batteries are a pain but if you tell it shut shit down ASAP battery should last hell load longer :).

I was stuck on which Cyberpower to get as some have a better app for controlling them. But wanted one with the front display and under $200 lol. There is one i liked the power was a little less and no display but thew software was more attractive ( + plus a few other feats..

as i said i think its hit and miss with these things. as i said i have a older apc still running. 1-2 apc crashed. i think the ones i run are around 800-1200 watts for a mac pro with a 30 inch monitor (i think the mac pros run around 800watt psu or something)
A mac taking 800 - 1200w WTF ?.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
#9
Thanks, fellas. It'll only be powering my small modem/router combo, so it should suffice (I have a notebook that's connected to it, but it doesn't matter as it has a battery of its own anyways).

I'm mainly looking for a "green" UPS, that is one that doesn't use a lot of energy itself (electricity isn't cheap where I live). Both fit the bill so I'm torn. :(
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#10
have an apc 750watter and the battery is 2 years old and still running strong. the software is also pretty good as it measures the amount of current running through it at any given time and you can adjust the voltage sensitivity for when the backup kicks on.
 

Kona1169

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 965BE C2
Motherboard Asus M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50 (pull/push)
Memory G.Skill Pi 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire 4850 1gb
Storage Intel X25-M 80gb. WD 1.5tb caviar green
Display(s) 21" LG and 19" gateway
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Corsair 550tx
Software win7 64bit
#11
wouldnt a 550watt be overkill if you are just running it for a router/modem? im curious, dont they make ups specifially for that router/modem setups?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#12
please take note there are 5 different types of UPS's, 3 being more dominent.
http://www.ptsdcs.com/whitepapers/1.pdf






either of thoes 2 will provide a fairly large run time for your router/modem so you could browse the internet on your netbook for quite a long time.
EDIT:
from the post below me http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/products/ups-systems/browse-by-category/soho-ups/CP425HG.html
will be more then enough power if you only plan to run your modem and router. MORE THEN ENOUGH.



NOTE:
have you thought about making your own?

it will cost a bit more then the system below but you could run a lot of devices on it for over 4 hours (depending on many batterys you run and what size inverter)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
593 (0.19/day)
Likes
105
System Name BoTBlue
Processor Intel i7-3770
Motherboard Intel DQ77MK
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory Samsung 4x4Gb
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 470
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer
Case AthenaTech
Power Supply Corsair 850w
Software Win 7 Pro x64

Kona1169

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 965BE C2
Motherboard Asus M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50 (pull/push)
Memory G.Skill Pi 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire 4850 1gb
Storage Intel X25-M 80gb. WD 1.5tb caviar green
Display(s) 21" LG and 19" gateway
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Corsair 550tx
Software win7 64bit
#14

anonemus

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
16
Location
Davao City, Philippines
System Name Perpetual Upgrade Rig
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-S2C
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus, rev. B
Memory 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD4650 1GB DDR3
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer X233H 23" 1080p LCD
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream-Pro 500W (soon: Antec TPN 650)
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#15
Guys, I just connected a 300W/500VA APC UPS to my rig. The battery is almost a decade old and most probably needs to be replaced.

Will a "defective" UPS damage my PSU and other components?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#16
decade old? wow, um

i dont think it would damage anything. how long does the battery last and what type of UPS is it?
in line or?


have you tried turning off the power and see how long it lasts?


NOTE:
have you thought about making your own?
QUOTE]


like this?

http://www.harrietcarter.com/resources/harrietCarter/images/products/processed/3046.zoom.a.jpg

just plug it in and go lol

anyways, something like slyfox linked would definatly be more than enough


no:D more like this
http://zedomax.com/blog/2008/03/22/...er-and-other-peripherals-during-power-outage/
http://www.dansdata.com/diyups.htm
 
Last edited:

anonemus

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
16
Location
Davao City, Philippines
System Name Perpetual Upgrade Rig
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-S2C
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus, rev. B
Memory 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD4650 1GB DDR3
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer X233H 23" 1080p LCD
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream-Pro 500W (soon: Antec TPN 650)
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#17
I'm not very familiar with UPS. The model name is APC Back-UPS RS 500VA

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=br500i

Purchased in 2000, says the sticker. It actually beeps that the battery needs to be replaced when I turn it on.

I tried turning it off and when I do, my rig immediately turns off as well.

I just put it in last night to see if the battery is really dead. But I'm also using it as surge suppressor and it says something about line filtering...
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#18
fairly sure thats an in-line UPS with line filtering.


open it up and have a look at the battery, find out the Voltage and AH if you can and what type it is.

never mind its a sealed Lead-Acid battery.


if you find out the voltage of the battery you should be able to buy a new one and replace it. who knows you might find a stronger one. (more amp hours)
 

anonemus

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
16
Location
Davao City, Philippines
System Name Perpetual Upgrade Rig
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-S2C
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus, rev. B
Memory 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD4650 1GB DDR3
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer X233H 23" 1080p LCD
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream-Pro 500W (soon: Antec TPN 650)
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#19
I'm sure there are replacement batteries available locally but I'm hesitant to buy a new one. This is just a temporary UPS as its rated capacity is just 300W. When I load my rig fully (CPU and GPU under OCCT PSU test), the UPS beeps an overload warning.

I need at least 500W UPS, right?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#20
oh sorry, thort you were only powering the router/modem but that was the other guy :p


depending what you plug into the UPS, 500-700s would be ideal. PC + Screen (60 watts for screen maybe) your prolly pulling somewhere close to 300-350 watts at full load.

if you are overloading it, i would NOT run the pc off it. your overloading the inverter and thats never a good idea. what exacly is plugged into it right now?
 

anonemus

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
16
Location
Davao City, Philippines
System Name Perpetual Upgrade Rig
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-S2C
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus, rev. B
Memory 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD4650 1GB DDR3
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer X233H 23" 1080p LCD
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream-Pro 500W (soon: Antec TPN 650)
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#21
I plugged my whole system and 23" LCD (see sig) into the UPS currenty :D
 

Chomes

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
18
Location
Barcelona
System Name Rig1
Processor Intel 3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 DELUXE
Cooling Corsair H100 2* Noctua NF-F12
Memory 4*4G.Skill F3-17000CL9-4GBZH
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6970
Storage OCZ VERTEX 3 MI 120Gb & VERTEX 2 100Gb & Western 1TB black
Display(s) Dell 2410U
Case Coolers Master ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) X-fi Forte
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#22
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
#23
Oh yes, I have that same model on another (desktop) PC upstairs. Great UPS! I was also unfortunate to have bought a Tripp-Lite UPS that was rated the same wattage but was about half its size. It didn't last a year before it suddenly died. :(
 

anonemus

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
16
Location
Davao City, Philippines
System Name Perpetual Upgrade Rig
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G31M-S2C
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus, rev. B
Memory 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD4650 1GB DDR3
Storage WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer X233H 23" 1080p LCD
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream-Pro 500W (soon: Antec TPN 650)
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#24
I decided to ditch my UPS (dead battery) and use regular Auto Voltage Regulator (AVR) and power surge protector instead.

Question: isn't a quality PSU enough to protect from voltage irregularities and power surge/spikes?
 

Kona1169

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
88 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 965BE C2
Motherboard Asus M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50 (pull/push)
Memory G.Skill Pi 1600
Video Card(s) Saphire 4850 1gb
Storage Intel X25-M 80gb. WD 1.5tb caviar green
Display(s) 21" LG and 19" gateway
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Corsair 550tx
Software win7 64bit
#25
just get a anti surge powerbar to plug everything into. you will know that they are as they will have a breaker switch and possibly a light. most powerbars are though i think.