• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Best way to Backup 100GB pictures/Video?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#1
So I have about 100GB of photos and video that I want to backup from an external HDD. I don't know the best way to go about this and I would like to get it done as painless as possible. I was also just thinking about getting a new external HDD, But I want a more permanent/fail safe way to go about this. If my HDD's die, I am SOL. I was thinking that i will just put it all on DL DVD-RW's. Well that will take a day and use 20 DVD's. Is there a way to compress these files? How would you guys go about this? Thanks in advance! :toast:
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,927 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,025
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
I would use Bluray or another external HDD.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#3
I would copy them on an internal sata hdd and then disconnect it and store it safely
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,127 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
If you have enought Internet bandwidth:

http://www.carbonite.com/en/v2/index?cm_mmc=redirect-_-fr-_-none-_-none&/
https://www.idrive.com/index.html

Doesn'T cost too much, 60$ per year for carbonite, 50$ on iDrive..

Remember that DVD can also be damaged. External HDD is okay, but I don't know how much you DATA is important,but if it burns, you loose all. That's why clouding backup can be a nice way.

But Blueray can be a good solution aswell, you just need to make sure all blue ray are working..
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#5
So I have about 100GB of photos and video that I want to backup from an external HDD. I don't know the best way to go about this and I would like to get it done as painless as possible. I was also just thinking about getting a new external HDD, But I want a more permanent/fail safe way to go about this. If my HDD's die, I am SOL. I was thinking that i will just put it all on DL DVD-RW's. Well that will take a day and use 20 DVD's. Is there a way to compress these files? How would you guys go about this? Thanks in advance! :toast:
If you do go down the route of sticking it on another HDD, for the love of all that's good in the world use TeraCopy. Windows copying is just shite compared to TeraCopy.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#6
another +1 for teracopy, so simple but SOO much better. also, in order of recommendation:

1)additional platter hard disk static bag.
2)online auto-backup service
3)dvds/optical discs

nothing is completely failsafe, so your best bet is to do multiple options if they are that important.

I have a client who just lost 4 years of her children's photos because she soaked her msata hdd based camcorder in soda. short of sending the platters themselves to a recovery service she is sol as the drive is dead.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
So why is teracopy so good? It seems it doesn't copy faster than Windows 7 does.. The main advantage seems to be the ability to choose wether you want to replace the files or keep the existing files before you start copying.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#8
no for me it's that
a) it is more reliable. windows copy of 50+gbs can get dicey. it can mess up in a number of ways, but most often for me it would simply freeze, and fail. and i'd have to start again. teracopy has never done this once.
b)it's pauseable, and queueable. so i can set hours worth of copy between multiple disks, and queue it so i can walk away and let it work without starting 10 different copy operations at once. windows cannot do this.
c)it has an ACCURATE estimation of remaining time. it is calculated in the first few seconds, and is not wrong. unlike windows, ALL THE TIME. that was huge for me.
d)there are more advantages, those are the biggies for me.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#9
no for me it's that
a) it is more reliable. windows copy of 50+gbs can get dicey. it can mess up in a number of ways, but most often for me it would simply freeze, and fail. and i'd have to start again. teracopy has never done this once.
b)it's pauseable, and queueable. so i can set hours worth of copy between multiple disks, and queue it so i can walk away and let it work without starting 10 different copy operations at once. windows cannot do this.
c)it has an ACCURATE estimation of remaining time. it is calculated in the first few seconds, and is not wrong. unlike windows, ALL THE TIME. that was huge for me.
d)there are more advantages, those are the biggies for me.
All of that, but it seems like it really is faster. Especially when copying over high volumes of files, not just the amount of data.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,917
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Google Drive is only $4.99 a month for 100GB, and you can share that with as many pc's as you would like and also family members. :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,627 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#11
As a secondary backup system, why not use amazon Glacier.
http://aws.amazon.com/glacier/#pricing&tag=tec06d-20

At $0.01 per gb per month, it works out as the chepest cloud storage solution. You wouldn;t want to use it as your primary storage though due to the costs associated with retrieving your data.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
a) it is more reliable. windows copy of 50 gbs can get dicey. it can mess up in a number of ways, but most often for me it would simply freeze, and fail. and i'd have to start again. teracopy has never done this once.
I've copied 800GB from a RAID to a 1TB drive on USB 2.0 once in Windows 7. It took many hours but worked fine. Unless you're on a *nix box or have Cygwin handy, I would recommend rsync and a scheduled/cron task, but that's just me.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#13
yep it is.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#14
Thanks for all the suggestions everyone. I have several choices now and will make my choice over the next few days.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
Used teracopy at 1 of my previous work places. Better than windows, because if it fails to copy 1 item it carries on instead of cancelling itself over 1 thumbnail file that's "in use" etc all that windows bollocks
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
You could always write a PowerShell script to do it. A Windows server admin might tell you that. I've never really used it but a relative of mine worked on Windows servers for a living and most of the tools he uses are ones he wrote in PowerShell. Might be work looking into if you have any experience with command languages or .NET.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,592 (0.74/day)
Likes
532
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake Gravity i1
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#17
Thank you guys, for mentioning Teracopy, I tried it and its SO good. OP,sry for the offtopic, but I learned something new, I had to express some gratitude.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#18
Thank you guys, for mentioning Teracopy, I tried it and its SO good. OP,sry for the offtopic, but I learned something new, I had to express some gratitude.
No prob man, this is good info that I am sure more people on the forums might use. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#19
Thank you guys, for mentioning Teracopy, I tried it and its SO good. OP,sry for the offtopic, but I learned something new, I had to express some gratitude.
You're welcome. I used it to transfer a few hundred gigs of data over to one of my drives today. I sat there thinking, man if this was windows copy I would have time to go for a run before it's even half done!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#20
Good Options.

Which ever option you pick, try compressing them too, that way you might be able to fit in more content.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
I would just put it on a disk. I am in the same situation but with a little more space needed. You can pay monthly with those companies listed above, but with my budget it wouldn't work out.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,627 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#22
I would just put it on a disk. I am in the same situation but with a little more space needed. You can pay monthly with those companies listed above, but with my budget it wouldn't work out.
Glacier storage from amazon works out to like $10 per year for 100GB. It's something like $0.01 per GB per month.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.