• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best way to quickly disable a NVMe drive while testing overclocking

Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
33 (0.15/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I7 4770@4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87 Pro
Cooling Dual custom wc (gpu, cpu seperate loops)
Memory 2x8Gb Corsair 2133 9-9-11-1T DDR3
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti (2012/1476, 350W powerlimit, 1.093Vgpu)
Storage Samsung SSD 840Pro 256GB, Samsung SSD 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10
I have gotten into the habit of disconnecting all my important drives when I test overclocking. Particularly when messing with RAM overclocking, as I have lost partitions in the past due to unstable RAM. Just relying on boot order to get the system to boot into a memtest86+ USB thumb drive, seems a bit risky. Easy to forget between BIOS resets and so on. And talking from experience, it really doesn't take many seconds for an unstable booting windows system to corrupt data badly. It doesn't happen often, but oh so painful when it does.

I'm getting ready for a new setup (new mobo, CPU, ram and ssd), and while waiting for Ryzen 3000 to release, I ordered a DDR4 RAM kit and my first ever NVMe drive.

This got me thinking. When the time comes, how do I disable the NVMe drive quickly between boots when testing RAM timings and such? With the old SATA drives, I would just leave my case open and unplug/plug the drives as needed. Not so easy with a NVMe drive?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,097 (0.90/day)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Wraith Spire (RGB)
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus Strix R9-285 2GB (stand-in for now new one coming)
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
Obviously the only real way to disconnect it would be to pull it from the NVMe slot it's only 1 screw and a pull not that much different from pull the power plug on SATA drives
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
241 (0.19/day)
Not sure about it but bios had the option to disable Sata ports. If you can see in your bios to disable m2 slot or something similar to that of PCIe.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,116 (1.56/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3066MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse GTC MGG-007 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
Raise the base clock, mine disappears with a bclk over 102MHz.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,159 (1.82/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Raise the base clock, mine disappears with a bclk over 102MHz.
Orly? Mine continues to show up at 103 MHz but the whole system is unstable unless I turn off XFR and PBO.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
33 (0.15/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I7 4770@4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87 Pro
Cooling Dual custom wc (gpu, cpu seperate loops)
Memory 2x8Gb Corsair 2133 9-9-11-1T DDR3
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti (2012/1476, 350W powerlimit, 1.093Vgpu)
Storage Samsung SSD 840Pro 256GB, Samsung SSD 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10
Thanks guys. I realized after posting yesterday, that a full BIOS reset is not so common these days, as BIOS usually has a failed overclock recovery function that disables oc only. And if you really have to do a full reset, you will most likely load a set of safe settings afterwards, instead of manually go through every setting again. I have no motherboard with NVMe yet, so hopefully there is something in the BIOS for this. Is it common for NVMe boards to have an enable/disable setting in BIOS for each of the NVMe slots?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,469 (4.18/day)
Thanks guys. I realized after posting yesterday, that a full BIOS reset is not so common these days, as BIOS usually has a failed overclock recovery function that disables oc only. And if you really have to do a full reset, you will most likely load a set of safe settings afterwards, instead of manually go through every setting again. I have no motherboard with NVMe yet, so hopefully there is something in the BIOS for this. Is it common for NVMe boards to have an enable/disable setting in BIOS for each of the NVMe slots?
??????? Not sure what you are saying here...

There is always a 'load optimized defaults' option for loading the stock BIOS.

Some boards have that ability, I believe most do...

That said, you are really worrying about nothing. Its memory anyway, you don't own Ryzen, so there are little gains to be had in the first place. If I was you I would simply set XMP profile and leave it.

If you insist on meager gains from doing so, image your OS so just in case something goes wrong, you reimage in minutes (takes me ~10 with my latest image when sourcing it from an SSD).
 
Last edited:
Top