• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best XP Graphics cards for Retro PC

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,763 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'd keep the E7500, it was faster than the lower clocked C2Q in some apps.

The 8400GS was a slug even when it was new. 512MB 9600GT or a Radeon 6770 are roughly the same vintage but way faster.
Id go with the 6770 for memory capacity
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
If you have the PCIe cable connectors, go with this. Solid card for a good price.


As long as it works and comes with a guarantee, that would work for you.
Would that be to much for my PSU baring in mind ,what people on here have been saying on here that it is not that good.What do you think about this
.

RIOTORO 500 W Builder Edition 80 Plus PC Power Supply - Black​

Connectors

  • 20+4 Pin Main Connectors: 1
  • 4+4 Pin (8-Pin) 12V Connectors: 1
  • SATA Connectors: 6
  • 4-Pin Molex Connectors: 2
  • 6+2 Pin PCI-E Connectors: 2 what do you think about this one .I think i might go down the route of putting in a new power supply,
  • I will have to see what it is like when i get it,I have never put a PSU in a PC before.I was thinking of putting the PC in another case would that be worth doing?That would be a big thing for me to do, that is just an idea.Hope your weekend is going well.That PSU would be £35.

If you want a GPU without 6-pin connector, gt 730 is very easy to find. DDR3 versions are cheap, DDR5 more expensive. If you can use 6-pin maybe you can find a gtx 950, although it would be too much for your CPU. I’m sorry I don’t know much about old, low consumption, AMD cards.
The 730 is to weak ,i want to go for something more powerful.
The GTX 950 is way over budget my maximum is £50.

Id go with the 6770 for memory capacity
I have just looked at an old post in Tech forum from 2011 it says the 6770 is a rebranded version of the 5770 with updated firmware.
Apart from the 6770 what about the 7770?
That would be better than the 6770.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
System Name 3D Design & Gaming
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x (oc in progress)
Motherboard ASUS ROG B550-E
Cooling Cryorig R1 ULTIMATE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 3600 2x8
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG RTX 2060 Advanced (flashed OC bios and apply +150 +1000)
Storage SAMSUNG SSD 860 PRO 256gb
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II 750W gold
Benchmark Scores coming soon..
I'd keep the E7500, it was faster than the lower clocked C2Q in some apps.

The 8400GS was a slug even when it was new. 512MB 9600GT or a Radeon 6770 are roughly the same vintage but way faster.
Q6600 G0 can clock easly 3 Ghz , and a quad core is more efficient even in old-gaming.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
While true, the HD 5770 was the better card and had 2GB of RAM instead of the 1GB of the HD6770. But if you can get an HD7770 for a good price, that's your best bet..
I can,t see any 5770 with 2gb of ram only 1gb.The ATI Radeon Cape Verde HD7700 1GB is available on line for £28 plus postage from CEX but you never know what version you are going to get from them.
 
Last edited:

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,805 (2.48/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Q6600 G0 can clock easly 3 Ghz , and a quad core is more efficient even in old-gaming.
I had like 5 Q6600s, my last was the best @ 4GHz with just over stock voltage, it did 3.4 without touching anything.. was so hot all the time.. 1 did 3.9 and the rest did 3.8. If you can run something like an E8600 at 4700-4800MHz all the time you will have the IPC gain and will be as strong as a stock Q6600 for total horsepower. FSB should be around 550 or so to get that memory working nice :rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
System Name 3D Design & Gaming
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x (oc in progress)
Motherboard ASUS ROG B550-E
Cooling Cryorig R1 ULTIMATE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 3600 2x8
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG RTX 2060 Advanced (flashed OC bios and apply +150 +1000)
Storage SAMSUNG SSD 860 PRO 256gb
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II 750W gold
Benchmark Scores coming soon..
I had like 5 Q6600s, my last was the best @ 4GHz with just over stock voltage, it did 3.4 without touching anything.. was so hot all the time.. 1 did 3.9 and the rest did 3.8. If you can run something like an E8600 at 4700-4800MHz all the time you will have the IPC gain and will be as strong as a stock Q6600 for total horsepower. FSB should be around 550 or so to get that memory working nice :rockout:
oh yep , that's it. q6600 was a beast in those years . personally , bought it two years ago for 20 euros,now use it 24/7 in a custom NAS build. 3ghz rock-solid. but i feel can push it over .
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
644 (0.28/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor i7 8700K @ 4.5GHz Core/4.3GHz Cache 1.25V
Motherboard AsRock Z170M OC Formula
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1250/1900 1.175V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
I mean 775 chips are cheap as dirt, just grab a q9550 or something for ~$20.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,805 (2.48/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I don't have my E8600 anymore thanks to a "friend" that stole it and a board from me. I do have my X3360 still, and she will run up to about 4.1, or around 475fsb. Its not stellar, but its better than a poke in the eye with a dull stick. I agree they should be cheap by now..

Edit:

Its about as strong as a stock i5 750 when she's clocked up.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
oh yep , that's it. q6600 was a beast in those years . personally , bought it two years ago for 20 euros,now use it 24/7 in a custom NAS build. 3ghz rock-solid. but i feel can push it over .
i think i will go for the Q6600.But people have said that not all socket 775 cpu s will work, it depends what make of mother board you have apparently :fear:. How do i find out if the Q6600 will work with mine?It is all confusing with so many different CPU,s that can use socket 775.:fear:
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I run the Q9550 (faster front side bus than the Q6600); it is also around $20
  • Q9550 has a TDP of 95W (2.83 GHz, FSB 1333 MHz, cache 12M)
  • Q6600 has a TDP of 105W (2.4 GHz, FSB 1066 MHz, cache 8M)
so I would argue against the Q6600 and for the Q9550 (if your board supports it)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
475 (0.21/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Oswald
Processor i7-9700K
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling be quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 16GB Patriot DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 470 8GB
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Toshiba DT01ACA200
Display(s) Sharp 46" TV
Case Antec Sonata SOLO
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-450RM
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Some wireless Microsoft thing with a trackpad
Software Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1398
i think i will go for the Q6600.But people have said that not all socket 775 cpu s will work, it depends what make of mother board you have apparently :fear:. How do i find out if the Q6600 will work with mine?It is all confusing with so many different CPU,s that can use socket 775.:fear:

If it runs an E7500, 99.883% it'll take a Q6600. But if you want to be 100%, search the model number + CPU support. Watch out for sketchy third-party sites if it's a no-name board.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
410 (1.04/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
How do i find out if the Q6600 will work with mine?
What is your motherboard model? I can't really see from the photos you posted.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,763 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
While true, the HD 5770 was the better card and had 2GB of RAM instead of the 1GB of the HD6770. But if you can get an HD7770 for a good price, that's your best bet..
Iirc 6770 came in 2GB flavor

Would that be to much for my PSU baring in mind ,what people on here have been saying on here that it is not that good.What do you think about this
.

RIOTORO 500 W Builder Edition 80 Plus PC Power Supply - Black​

Connectors

  • 20+4 Pin Main Connectors: 1
  • 4+4 Pin (8-Pin) 12V Connectors: 1
  • SATA Connectors: 6
  • 4-Pin Molex Connectors: 2
  • 6+2 Pin PCI-E Connectors: 2 what do you think about this one .I think i might go down the route of putting in a new power supply,
  • I will have to see what it is like when i get it,I have never put a PSU in a PC before.I was thinking of putting the PC in another case would that be worth doing?That would be a big thing for me to do, that is just an idea.Hope your weekend is going well.That PSU would be £35.


The 730 is to weak ,i want to go for something more powerful.
The GTX 950 is way over budget my maximum is £50.


I have just looked at an old post in Tech forum from 2011 it says the 6770 is a rebranded version of the 5770 with updated firmware.
Apart from the 6770 what about the 7770?
That would be better than the 6770.
As long as the psu is Seasonic, Superflower, Andyson, or CWT Based. Not Sirfa/Sufa/Sirtec/Greatwall based.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
I run the Q9550 (faster front side bus than the Q6600); it is also around $20
  • Q9550 has a TDP of 95W (2.83 GHz, FSB 1333 MHz, cache 12M)
  • Q6600 has a TDP of 105W (2.4 GHz, FSB 1066 MHz, cache 8M)
so I would argue against the Q6600 and for the Q9550 (if your board supports it)
Theres the rub ,i don,t know if it will, i will have to see what modal the 775 board is when i get it.£20 in the uk for the Q9550.The Q6600 and the Q9400 £10.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Do you know if the PC is DDR2 or DDR3?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
283 (0.55/day)
This board is most definitely DDR2, I'd guess it's D946GZIS - have one like it myself (looks about right). :)
Graphics card? Just use HD7850, driver 14.4 (pack_2) with 2GB and easy on your PSU.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
283 (0.55/day)
In the case it is the GZIS one :) then I can confirm Q6600 works well on it. Have it on my own - it was originally with C2D E6300 (1.8GHz only). Penryn (45nm) CPU's do not work on it.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
This board is most definitely DDR2, I'd guess it's D946GZIS - have one like it myself (looks about right). :)
Graphics card? Just use HD7850, driver 14.4 (pack_2) with 2GB and easy on your PSU.
It can,t be right i have a E7500 @2.93GHz that one is not in the list. :fear:

If so, here are the supported CPUs
Supported Processors for the Intel® Desktop Board D946GZIS

However
CPU-Upgrade: Intel D946GZIS processor support
claims the Q6600 'may be supported'

forget my idea about the Q9550; second time now that I have been mistaken in this thread.
It can,t be the board he sugests it does not mention the one i have in the PC Core 2 duo E7500 2.93 ghz :fear:
I did not think of asking the seller if it was DDR3 ,
I assumed because there was 4gb in there that it was DDR3.
E67002.66 GHz
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
283 (0.55/day)
Ok so it's newer, even better, which one is it (it's written on the board and in BIOS)? And no, 4GB of RAM doesn't mean it's DDR3.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,253 (0.63/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You want to run only latest XP games on it ?
If that's the case, a mid range DX10-11 GPU would be best (for budget, unless you get a good deal on high end DX10 stuff).
I wouldn't get GCN/Maxwell class hardware though (too limiting when compatibility issue happends on driver side).

Second thing : Don't buy better CPU unless you will play a lot of Quad Core/thread optimised games.
You can always enable more eye candy with faster GPU (higher res. + AA), that's indifferent to CPU performance.

The 780 Ti/Titan Black would be the fastest, GTX 690 or 680 would work great as well... the GTX 295 or 285 would be more era-appropriate
According to this : https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3138/~/sli-support-in-windows-xp
GTX 680/670 SLI mode is not supported on Win Xp.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
410 (1.04/day)
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Macho Rev.B
Memory 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz CL10
Video Card(s) Asus HD7970 @ 1135/1750 + Prolimatech MK-26 + 2x 140mm
Storage 256GB Toshiba Q Pro MLC + 500GB WD VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced USB 3.0 + Lamptron FC6
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black (JRC MUSES 8820D) + CAL (recabled)
Power Supply 750W Enermax Platimax
Mouse Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Got it, it's the DG41RQ :)
DG41RQ.jpg
It has very good compatibility and will accept pretty much any Core 2 CPU. Supports the Q9650 and even a range of Xeons.
Intel support page
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,169 (2.11/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Q6600 G0 can clock easly 3 Ghz , and a quad core is more efficient even in old-gaming.
This. However...
It can,t be right i have a E7500 @2.93GHz that one is not in the list.
If it's running an E7500, it will be able to run a Q9450, Q9550 or Q9650 as the microcode for the E7500 is in the same code set as the Q9xxx series as indicated here;
That board will run anything in the Core 2/Xeon Socket 775 range EXCEPT the Extreme model CPUs.
 
Top