• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best XP Graphics cards for Retro PC

Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,763 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,029 (6.27/day)
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB 100 watt 1100 MHz core
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Yup the 7770 sips power

7790 beats the 560 ti
My point was not about power usage as that is not a serious concern for the OP. I was pointing out that those three cards are within spitting distance performance wise and the costs are in the ballpark of each other.
GTX560TI

HD7770

But then there is the 6870 which is an entirely better card for 40quid;

Just something to think about..
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
77 (0.63/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
Iirc 6770 came in 2GB flavor

Since he's doing an XP build, it could be to his advantage to stick to a 1GB card. 32-bit XP only recognizes 4GB TOTAL, RAM and video card combined. So if he has a 2GB card, it will only see 2GB of system memory.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,253 (0.63/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Since he's doing an XP build, it could be to his advantage to stick to a 1GB card. 32-bit XP only recognizes 4GB TOTAL, RAM and video card combined. So if he has a 2GB card, it will only see 2GB of system memory.
Thank you for your words of wisdom :
Titan X mini.png

Next time, please check facts before spreading second hand knowledge.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
77 (0.63/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
Thank you for your words of wisdom :
View attachment 220343
Next time, please check facts before spreading second hand knowledge.

Congrats on turning on the PAE switch. I'm sure no one has ever done that before. Now post some benchmarks showing how much of your 12GB is actually being utilized.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
This. However...

If it's running an E7500, it will be able to run a Q9450, Q9550 or Q9650 as the microcode for the E7500 is in the same code set as the Q9xxx series as indicated here;
That board will run anything in the Core 2/Xeon Socket 775 range EXCEPT the Extreme model CPUs.

My point was not about power usage as that is not a serious concern for the OP. I was pointing out that those three cards are within spitting distance performance wise and the costs are in the ballpark of each other.
GTX560TI

HD7770

But then there is the 6870 which is an entirely better card for 40quid;

Just something to think about..
My point was not about power usage as that is not a serious concern for the OP. I was pointing out that those three cards are within spitting distance performance wise and the costs are in the ballpark of each other.
GTX560TI

HD7770

But then there is the 6870 which is an entirely better card for 40quid;

Just something to think about..
The 7770
This board is most definitely DDR2, I'd guess it's D946GZIS - have one like it myself (looks about right). :)
Graphics card? Just use HD7850, driver 14.4 (pack_2) with 2GB and easy on your PSU.
I think you are right about it only being DDR2.I think it is this motherboard .Does that mean i can only go for CPU,S code name *_Wolfdale* it does say some Xeon cpu,s are *Wolfdale*the Quad ones are not *Wolfdale*have i got that right i can only use ones that say *Wolfdale*?Why do they have so many CPU,S with the same socket number when you can only use a handful of cpi,s?Why didn,t they change the number of the socket?
1633967278321.png
1633967384082.png


This. However...

If it's running an E7500, it will be able to run a Q9450, Q9550 or Q9650 as the microcode for the E7500 is in the same code set as the Q9xxx series as indicated here;
That board will run anything in the Core 2/Xeon Socket 775 range EXCEPT the Extreme model CPUs.
It says it is *Wolfdale*i take it i can only use the *Wolfdale*ones?
https://www.cpu-list.com › cpu-list-lga775-lga771

1633968510366.png
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,253 (0.63/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Congrats on turning on the PAE switch. I'm sure no one has ever done that before. Now post some benchmarks showing how much of your 12GB is actually being utilized.
I wouldn't have only 3GB available with moded PAE (to enable 4GB+ adress support you think of, this is what Win XP SP3 has build-in [no mods/tweaks needed]).
Which still means your 2GB VRAM = RAM - 2GB under XP 32-bit is wrong.
Crysis 2560x1600 4x mini.png


I don't have higher VRAM utilisation of Titan X screenshots, BUT have a video of GTX 780 Ti as substitute (3GB - 3GB = 0GB) :
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
My point was not about power usage as that is not a serious concern for the OP. I was pointing out that those three cards are within spitting distance performance wise and the costs are in the ballpark of each other.
GTX560TI

HD7770

But then there is the 6870 which is an entirely better card for 40quid;

Just something to think about..
The 560ti £25 plus postage.The hd7770 that one for 35 has been sold, cheapest one now is £50.The 6870 is also £25 plus postage at CEX.
HW Bench
GTX 560 Ti
The GeForce GTX 560 Ti is the better performing card based on the game benchmark suite used (5 combinations of games and resolutions).Once again thinks for your input to my post Lex.

It seems so.:fear:

Id go with the 6770 for memory capacity
But Lex said the 5770 is better.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
475 (0.21/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Oswald
Processor i7-9700K
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling be quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 16GB Patriot DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 470 8GB
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Toshiba DT01ACA200
Display(s) Sharp 46" TV
Case Antec Sonata SOLO
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-450RM
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Some wireless Microsoft thing with a trackpad
Software Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1398
I think you are right about it only being DDR2.I think it is this motherboard .Does that mean i can only go for CPU,S code name *_Wolfdale* it does say some Xeon cpu,s are *Wolfdale*the Quad ones are not *Wolfdale*have i got that right i can only use ones that say *Wolfdale*?Why do they have so many CPU,S with the same socket number when you can only use a handful of cpi,s?Why didn,t they change the number of the socket?

It says it is *Wolfdale*i take it i can only use the *Wolfdale*ones?

Short answer: You can use any Conroe, Kentsfield, Wolfdale or Yorkfield processor.

Edit: ...for LGA775; that is, Core 2 Duo and Quad. Despite your mention of them, I forgot about Wolfdale Xeons.

Long answer:
Wolfdale was simply an internal Intel project/product code name for the 45nm successors to the Conroe dual-core chips. The Conroe family consists of:

Conroe (65nm), Wolfdale (45nm) - Dual Core
Kentsfield (65nm), Yorkfield (45nm) - Quad Core

All are pin- and instruction-set-identical; varying in frequency, FSB, cache size and process node. Many, if not most, boards released prior to Wolfdale/Yorkfield could run them with a simple BIOS update.

A processor codename is shorthand for a specific configuration of the silicon die, so Wolfdale is a Core 2-based dual-core manufactured on 45nm. But it's not always that straightforward; quad-core 45nm Xeon chips were Harpertown rather than Yorkfield. :confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
Short answer: You can use any Conroe, Kentsfield, Wolfdale or Yorkfield processor.

Long answer:
Wolfdale was simply an internal Intel project/product code name for the 45nm successors to the Conroe dual-core chips. The Conroe family consists of:

Conroe (65nm), Wolfdale (45nm) - Dual Core
Kentsfield (65nm), Yorkfield (45nm) - Quad Core

All are pin- and instruction-set-identical; varying in frequency, FSB, cache size and process node. Many, if not most, boards released prior to Wolfdale/Yorkfield could run them with a simple BIOS update.
Thanks for that valued information.:)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Since he's doing an XP build, it could be to his advantage to stick to a 1GB card. 32-bit XP only recognizes 4GB TOTAL, RAM and video card combined. So if he has a 2GB card, it will only see 2GB of system memory.
This is wrong. Ignore it.

The 6870 is also £25 plus postage at CEX.
I'd go for that. Seems like a good price.

But Lex said the 5770 is better.
Performance wise, yes. This is because the model number name game of the time shifted around performance tiers. The 5770 was the best 57xx card. But in the 67xx models the 6790 was the best so the 6770 was a lower tier. So even though the 5770 & 6770 had similar number names, they were not in the same performance class.

Honestly, the 6850 kicks the 57xx and 67xx in the nadds. Go with that. It will be an excellent GPU for XP and with a quad core CPU would complete that build.

It says it is *Wolfdale*i take it i can only use the *Wolfdale*ones?
No. The reason I mentioned the microcode and linked you the Intel CPU list PDF is so that you can see all your options. This way you can make a choice that will best fit what you need/want. Honestly, Wolfdale isn't the best you can do for that system.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
283 (0.55/day)
Radeon HD 5770 = HD 6770 = 800/5 shaders and 40 texture units;
Radeon HD 6850 = 960/5 shaders and 48 texture units. Ooooo so much faster. Not. A tad, with a better tessellation unit, still only 1 triangle per clock.
If you have Wolfdale now, I don't know how though since it's 65nm but still, you can easily try some 45nm CPUs (E8xxx or Q8xxx and Q9xxx) in that board.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
System Name 3D Design & Gaming
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x (oc in progress)
Motherboard ASUS ROG B550-E
Cooling Cryorig R1 ULTIMATE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 3600 2x8
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG RTX 2060 Advanced (flashed OC bios and apply +150 +1000)
Storage SAMSUNG SSD 860 PRO 256gb
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II 750W gold
Benchmark Scores coming soon..
Thanks for that valued information.:)
Could you show me the mainboard tab of cpu-z ?

So, 6850/70 are a good choice for this build , at right price,care for PSU and cables..
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,005 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dragon
Processor Intel Core i7-11700K "Rocket Lake"
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Vision G
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3090 Ventus 3X 24G OC | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 3xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
VR HMD No not gonna sell myself to FB!i!i!
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (21H1) / Win11 Pro 21H2 UK (Build 22000.100)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867? GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/h93ag
I am rocking what will properly be a overkill Windows XP Gaming ITX RIG but I am happy and it's really silent, fast and just works.

CPU: Intel Core i3-4130 (If my memory surf me correct)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-L9i
Mobo: Asus P9D-I (Intel C222 chipset)
RAM: 2x2GB ECC Memory
GFX: MSI N750 Ti TF 2GD5/OC
SSD: KingFast 256GB SSD
PSU: SeaSonic SFG 300W Industrial SFX PSU
Case: Fractal Design Core 500
OS: Windows XP Pro 32bit

Only thing I am thinking about changing is the CMOS battery it's dead but they cost too much because it's not a standard battery and I been thinking about a GTX 950 or something with a DisplayPort because I use this on my Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K monitor.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
Radeon HD 5770 = HD 6770 = 800/5 shaders and 40 texture units;
Radeon HD 6850 = 960/5 shaders and 48 texture units. Ooooo so much faster. Not. A tad, with a better tessellation unit, still only 1 triangle per clock.
If you have Wolfdale now, I don't know how though since it's 65nm but still, you can easily try some 45nm CPUs (E8xxx or Q8xxx and Q9xxx) in that board.
It looks like this one an Intel DG-41RQ MicroATX it does not say if it is DDR2 or 3.Is this a better or worse board than than the Wolfdale modal?
I should have asked these questions before i bought it.I did not know at the. time how many different 775 boards they are.After the seller being so vague when i asked what GPU card was in there and just saying it is a 512mb, what kind of answer is that?.Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
I am thinking of going for either the Q6600 the cheapest price for that is £8 shipped.Q9400 £12 shipped.Thanks for your help, hope your day is going well.

432W on the 12V line; not bad.
It,s not going to be good if there are no cabals for the graphics card.What cabal would i have to buy 1x 6 pin can you give me a link thanks.
 

Attachments

  • 1634037158634.png
    1634037158634.png
    5.1 MB · Views: 11
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
System Name 3D Design & Gaming
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x (oc in progress)
Motherboard ASUS ROG B550-E
Cooling Cryorig R1 ULTIMATE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 3600 2x8
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG RTX 2060 Advanced (flashed OC bios and apply +150 +1000)
Storage SAMSUNG SSD 860 PRO 256gb
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex II 750W gold
Benchmark Scores coming soon..
Okay , if this is DG41RQ , i have read pdf datasheet. its a ddr2 667/800 memory support.
For CPUs the support are generic core 2 quad , BUT only 95W . So if u want Q6600 , MUST BE 95W tdp version, stepping G0 of course ,recognize it of code on cpu physically "QXVD or SLACR".
Btw , from Q8200 to Q9650 are most 95W tdp.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,939 (5.26/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
77 (0.63/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
This is wrong. Ignore it.

Sure, lots of people ignore good advice. Just because you CAN do something, doesn't mean you should. I can drop a V8 in a Dodge Omni. Doesn't mean it's a great idea.

He's building a retro PC for retro gaming. I'm sure he can enable PAE, install something like the Dibya kernel hack, etc.. but if he's really looking for a retro gaming build, I doubt his goal is to install some third party hacks to run modern hardware on a XP system.

Still not sure why people even bother doing that. Most XP apps are unable to address more than 2GB individually anyways, so you won't be running modern games on it.

And even the hacks that allow this, the games and apps are slower than they would be running under 7 or 10 due to having to pass thru XP's memory allocation space. WDDM? DirectX12?

12GB video card in XP? Sure, it's poorly optimized, won't run most of the thing's you'd want to run on it, and it's gaming slower than if it was on a modern OS, but hey! It technically works. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Since he's doing an XP build, it could be to his advantage to stick to a 1GB card. 32-bit XP only recognizes 4GB TOTAL, RAM and video card combined. So if he has a 2GB card, it will only see 2GB of system memory.

So why not use the 64 bit XP?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
85 (0.67/day)
I am rocking what will properly be a overkill Windows XP Gaming ITX RIG but I am happy and it's really silent, fast and just works.

CPU: Intel Core i3-4130 (If my memory surf me correct)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-L9i
Mobo: Asus P9D-I (Intel C222 chipset)
RAM: 2x2GB ECC Memory
GFX: MSI N750 Ti TF 2GD5/OC
SSD: KingFast 256GB SSD
PSU: SeaSonic SFG 300W Industrial SFX PSU
Case: Fractal Design Core 500
OS: Windows XP Pro 32bit

Only thing I am thinking about changing is the CMOS battery it's dead but they cost too much because it's not a standard battery and I been thinking about a GTX 950 or something with a DisplayPort because I use this on my Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K monitor.

432W on the 12V line; not bad.
I see i can get a

15pin SATA Power to 6pin PCI-E Express Adapter Cable​

for as little as £1.50?I did not realize they were so cheap. Whether or not the power supply will have any spare cables ,or be capable of running one let alone one with two 6pin ones is another thing.




1634051613861.png
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,096 (5.17/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
A SATA connector does not carry much current; 4.5A for each voltage, so 54W at 12V
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,253 (0.63/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
And even the hacks that allow this, the games and apps are slower than they would be running under 7 or 10 due to having to pass thru XP's memory allocation space. WDDM? DirectX12?

12GB video card in XP? Sure, it's poorly optimized, won't run most of the thing's you'd want to run on it, and it's gaming slower than if it was on a modern OS, but hey! It technically works. :rolleyes:

3DMark 03 mini.png

3DMark 03.png

^Win XP wins, who would have thought ?

Here's older 3DMark 2000 (works fine) :
3DMark 2000.PNG

And here's Crysis :
Crysis 2560x1600 4x mini.png
Card works fine.

Again : I DID NOT changed/modified/tweaked Windows in ANY way to make it work.
The only thing needed was .inf file edit that added it's Hardware ID to NV installer.
Also, NV does NOT require you to install any 3-rd party patches/tweaks or mods to make older titans (like Titan "OG" or Titan Black) work on Windows XP. Both are officially supported on WinXP (just check Supported products tab here) : https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverResults.aspx/105040/en-us
^You will also notice there is no "VRAM warning : Do not use 6GB cards on Windows XP 32-bit" in drivers notes.

Still, my reason of posting my screenshot was to provide evidence about your wrong assumption, and NOT to encourage OP to buy this card to use (which is too expensive either way).
 
Last edited:
Top