• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Beware of aggressive APM on Windows 10 Build 1809

Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
759 (0.15/day)
Likes
615
#1
In build 1809 of Windows 10, Microsoft enabled APM (Advanced Power Management) by default for all SATA storage devices via the AHCI driver. For SSDs this is not a big deal, but for HDDs, APM increases latency, reduces performance and possibly lifespan (parking/unparking heads every few seconds isn't healthy).

Windows 10 Build 1809
54516462_2367787123255971_2563309153099448320_o.jpg

Windows 10 Build 1607
55882239_2367787249922625_4161767075817193472_o.jpg

APM can be disabled with 3rd party software like CrystalDiskInfo (must be re-applied on reboot) or AHCI driver through the registry (permanent solution).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,412 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,572
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#2
In build 1809 of Windows 10, Microsoft enabled APM (Advanced Power Management) by default for all SATA storage devices via the AHCI driver. For SSDs this is not a big deal, but for HDDs, APM increases latency, reduces performance and possibly lifespan (parking/unparking heads every few seconds isn't healthy).

Windows 10 Build 1809
View attachment 119413

Windows 10 Build 1607
View attachment 119414

APM can be disabled with 3rd party software like CrystalDiskInfo (must be re-applied on reboot) or AHCI driver through the registry (permanent solution).
Not sure what effect it has on my system I haven't benched with and without it on (likely not much as it's a 1TB HDD that is 70% full and used as downloads drive so the performance probably isn't great anyway), however after installing Crystaldiskinfo if you go to Function>Advanced Features>AAM/APM Control> and select your HDD from the drop down and click disable APM has disabled mine even upon restart.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,536 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,711
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Hmm, it's still too early for this. Spinners are still king for $/GB. Unless they're banking on most systems having a single SSD and those who still want to use spinners would know about this and circumvent it?
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
3,639 (5.84/day)
Likes
2,347
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480 (games)/4TB of external HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#4
goth both my spinners on a docking station,turns them off only after 30 minutes like the station is advertised.seems the update is not affecting my setup.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,536 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,711
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
That's... different? I wouldn't expect a docking station (likely connected via USB) to behave the same as drives directly connected to internal SATA ports.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,924 (1.71/day)
Likes
2,097
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#7
Doesn't seem to bother my external Toshiba 3 TB over USB 3.1 Gen1.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
957 (0.53/day)
Likes
271
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#8
decided to use rst again the other day so had to swap back to raid drivers. Seems i forgot how i used to set it up though so had to move to priomocache instead. and set up one of my SSD's as a dedicated lvl 2 storage device.. really cant say i see any difference between primocache and how rst used to work but it is what it is..
Any way none of that matters the point is I think im safe from this bug if im using raid drivers.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,412 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,572
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#9
How do you know this is down to Win10 1809 and not something unrelated?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,924 (1.71/day)
Likes
2,097
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#10
Wouldn't the hard disk drive controller be in control of APM but the ACHI driver now exposes it to Windows 1809?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,222 (1.87/day)
Likes
2,380
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#12
In build 1809 of Windows 10, Microsoft enabled APM (Advanced Power Management) by default for all SATA storage devices via the AHCI driver. For SSDs this is not a big deal, but for HDDs, APM increases latency, reduces performance and possibly lifespan (parking/unparking heads every few seconds isn't healthy).

Windows 10 Build 1809
View attachment 119413

Windows 10 Build 1607
View attachment 119414

APM can be disabled with 3rd party software like CrystalDiskInfo (must be re-applied on reboot) or AHCI driver through the registry (permanent solution).
Could explain why I've been suffering hdd issues ty.
 
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
#13
On Intel, APM is now enabled with or without RST.
Auto APM on post 12.9.x RSTe drivers has been a PITA.

however after installing Crystaldiskinfo if you go to Function>Advanced Features>AAM/APM Control> and select your HDD from the drop down and click disable APM has disabled mine even upon restart.
APM setting is retained on restart, but check full power off. Even setting HDD firmware to off may be overriden by 1809/RSTe. The best bet is to change APM 80h->C0h to stop excessive head parking while retaining some low power modes.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,315 (1.70/day)
Likes
537
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
#14
APM can be disabled with 3rd party software like CrystalDiskInfo (must be re-applied on reboot) or AHCI driver through the registry (permanent solution).
What is the registry setting?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,471 (6.37/day)
Likes
13,762
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
Clean install of 1809 like two weeks ago. I have not dabbled in the registry at all. I'm not seeing any problems here:


The HD Tune (non-Pro) apparently only detects 2.2 TB of capacity versus 12 TB. Probably why it doesn't curve down like one would expect it to.
 
Low quality post by MrGenius

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,832 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,880
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#18
Sounds like gotta check it after each upgrade.

Never had that problem in Windows 7.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,625 (1.71/day)
Likes
2,309
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#19
I went ahead and found the registry keys, and did the rest of the research.

First, there's no such thing as an "Advanced Power Management" setting(s) in Windows 10.

Second, it's called AHCI Link Power Management, and is set to OFF or "Neither HIPM or DIPM allowed. Link power management is not used" by default. But can be PERMANENTLY enabled/disabled in advanced power options(if added to the GUI).

Third, what you're doing with CrystalDiskInfo is temporarily enabling/disabling/modifying the DIPM(Device-Initiated Power Management) mode. Which is not enabled by default. But can be enabled on its own, or in combination with HIPM(through the registry or advanced power management if added to the GUI).

Fourth, you can set the disk idle timeout to 0(or Never, which is exactly the same thing) in advanced power options(or in the registry), and the hdd/ssd will never power down or park when idle, overriding any of the other power management schemes(as far as powering down, or parking, your hdd/ssd...ever).

Link Power Management mode registry key, aliases and visibility settings
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...ttings-link-power-management-mode---hipm-dipm

Disk idle timeout registry key, aliases and visibility settings
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\6738e2c4-e8a5-4a42-b16a-e040e769756e
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...ower-settings/disk-settings-disk-idle-timeout

How to add or remove AHCI Link Power Management from Power Options
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/72971-add-ahci-link-power-management-power-options-windows.html

Lastly, this is seriously much ado about nothing. As it is nothing new with Windows 10(1809 or other). And has not changed in any way since Windows 7.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
759 (0.15/day)
Likes
615
#21
APM is a head parking technology built on the drive itself (separated from AHCI PM and Windows' power profile). Not all mechanical drives support it. Configured similarly like AAM.

Build 1809 forces APM on the OS drive if supported. Mechanical or not.
 
Joined
May 15, 2014
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
#22
I went ahead and found the registry keys, and did the rest of the research.
I'm afraid, not. It's nothing to do with link state control of the host AHCI controller. It was first exposed as an issue with 13.x RST AHCI drivers & is a known issue. This is usually noticed as a regular clicking sound and sluggish performance as heads are continually being parked on the landing zone. Effectively it causes the drives that are affected to behave like WD Green EARS series drives. Constantly parking their heads, unnecessarily chewing up load cycles that may reduce the HDD's lifespan. I've disabled APM on my 2x2TB Hitachi via the IBM/Hitachi util, but installing RST 13.x+ turns APM back on & sets to 80h. This happens on every boot & needs to be soft reset by eg Crystaldiskinfo every startup. The default MS SATA AHCI driver didn't do this unitl the latest 1809 patch. @Regeneration now informs us that the default MS AHCI driver is setting APM=80h (I'm guessing) on the OS volume.

No issues here.

Why would this affect some but not others?
Checked your load/unload cycle count? Is it higher than your POH? Does Crystaldiskinfo show APM as a drive feature? What's the value?

To answer your question, depends on whether the APM flag is set in HDD FW. It doesn't matter what value is set. On Win/RST 13.x+ AHCI init, for APM=>APM=80h. Depending on brand/model/series/fw, FW strat may then continually park heads on the landing zone racking up load cycles that can exceed max load cycle count in a short time. Enterprise drives tend not to do this. I have another 2TB Seagate (GrenadaBP) that is affected (APM can't be disabled except via a 3rd party util), while two other 4TB aren't affected. All my spinners are storage only drives. With Linux it's a simple command line fix.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
2 (0.08/day)
Likes
2
Location
Berlin
Processor i7 8700
Motherboard Asrock z170 OC Formula
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 2x 8GB G.skill Flare X 3200 C16 B-die
Video Card(s) Too many xd
Power Supply Corsair RM650i / Antec True Power 850w / bequiet 1000w.
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/freakezoit/
#23
Well i got it fixed permanently , Because the issue is that whatever tool i tested it only worked for the Actuall windows session. After reboot it was gone , APM for the Harddisk itself was allways on even after disabling it , it was instant enabled again. On the Old build from my screenshots i didn`t need to do anything of that stuff. It worked out of the Box like it should. And hipm-dipm was disabled @ latest build.
But everytime you add an HDD you should look @ Registry that it is disabled for your new drive . You can disable or enable it for each drive by Hand.

Well to point one, that was the key to Success :

 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,752 (2.52/day)
Likes
9,786
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores FS/TS ext: FS 10778:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18092626 TS 3734:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6001589
#24
Why is this my bullshitometer pegged on 100%? Meh...probably that lack of supporting evidence. :nutkick:
Meh, do want you want. Or install any app and confirm (I confirmed with HDD sentinel it sets apm to 128 not just every boot but regularly).

Second, it's called AHCI Link Power Management
No it's not. You are up an entirely different tree here.

And my long term service branch keeps on giving..
Will effect 1809 LTSC as well.
 
Last edited:
Top