• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BF3 random crash

Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#1
For the passed 2 days BF3 would crash out of nowhere, at first I thought it was my steam in the background hogging up my processes, so I closed that out and continued to play, same thing happened, my card has been running downclocked to 820mhz from the original SOC settings of 855 and the voltage set to that of EVGA 580. Temps for the card havent gone over 81c and temps for my CPU (i7 2600k) haven't gone over 51c under load. Ive ran Crysis 2 and Metro2033 with no problem even with my OCed profiles, but BF3 seems to crash, could this be a driver issue? my specs are listed <----
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#2
Can you describe the crash? Is it a total blue screen? Any audio looping or just a system freeze?
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#3
no system freeze, Bf3 just goes into a black screen and audio cuts off, i have to into task manager to close it out.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#4
Can be different things. BF3 is not what you call a rock solid multiplayer game. Are you on wireless? I've had these kinds of problems randomly abut they are rare. Maybe try another driver. Also BF3 is very sensitive to unstable OC on the card.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,149 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,307
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#5
Just so you know - the issue can also be caused by faulty ram (or even a dodgy soundcard to a lesser extent) I used to have these same issues with BC2 but the difference was my sound used to go into a continuous loop after the game CTD'd.

So check your ram, and make sure the drivers for your soundcard are uptodate or roll'em back to the last update If you are running one.

Remember to use driverfusion (formerly known as Driversweeper) if youre gonna be messing with the drivers
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#6
Have you tried running everything stock ?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
Same thing happened to me when the OC on my 7950 wasent stable.
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#9
Have you tried running everything stock ?
yeah it crashes at the stock clocks for my gpu which is 855mhz, runs perfect overclocked at 880mhz for Crysis and Metro but at 855mhz bf3 is THE only game that crashes -_-, so I have a profile via after burner running it at 800mhz "downclocked" sort to say and bf3 doesnt crash. I just find it weird that when i run the card at default settings it crashes my bf3 but no other game. :confused:
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#10
Have you messed with the card volts ?

Tried different drives ?
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#11
the card comes out of the box OCed with higher voltage, i actually set it to the "stock EVGA 580" specs then upped the mhz to 800mhz so right now my card sits at 1025mV, 800mhz...out of the box Afterburner reads it at,1113mV,855mhz, I can run kombustor at both settings just fine, the only problem is bf3 crashing at the stock OC settings.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#12
tried the repair install on bf3 ?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
103 (0.03/day)
Likes
13
Location
Herndon,Va
System Name home build
Processor Core I7-3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 th
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 770GTX with 2gb
Storage 1tb + 1 120gb Sandisk Extreme ssd
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29 inch monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Cooler Master 750 watt
Software Win 8 Pro 64bit
#13
Looks like your video card might be the problem. Using a 670GTX myself with the latest drivers, no stutter or lag. No faults. Same processor as you at stock clocks on a Z68 Gigabyte mb. Waiting for my new Z77X-UP5 to get here and 3770K.