• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BF3 Spot/Comm Rose, Steady Scope Issue

Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
161 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Location
CA
System Name Dat Rig
Processor i7-3770k @4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 2x4G g.skill ripjaw DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2xSLI Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 128gig OCZ Solid 3 SSD, 600G WD Caviar
Display(s) Planar SA2311W 120hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer - Klipsch Promedia 4.1 (still goin strong)
Power Supply Corsair V2 TX750
#1
So I am very used to fast paced sniping on BC2 ala Enigma. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Blp_ol4nvDg

In BF3 they have sort of ruined that. You have to use steady scope, which takes a moment. Fine.. I can live with that.

My problem is I can't find anywhere to bind the steady scope key. I've been using Shift (which is also my run key) but then I can't crouch (CTRL) and steady scope at teh same time (my pinky isn't my thumb).

The only acceptable button I can find to use for this without completely throwing my game off is my spot button (which I bind to E). The problem is.. when you hold down spot, you get the communication rose. This doesn't allow you to fire. Has anyone found a way to seperate these commands so I can use spot and steady scope at the same time? That is the only way I am going to be able to enjoy sniping again =(
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
161 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Location
CA
System Name Dat Rig
Processor i7-3770k @4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 2x4G g.skill ripjaw DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2xSLI Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 128gig OCZ Solid 3 SSD, 600G WD Caviar
Display(s) Planar SA2311W 120hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer - Klipsch Promedia 4.1 (still goin strong)
Power Supply Corsair V2 TX750
#3
Yeah I saw this, I guess I'll xpost it over there. I almost posted it but swapped it just cuz I thought it'd get buried over there =D
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
I dont see how jumping air headshots should be in the game in the first place. a sniper is some one who recons a area and takes patient and well aimed shots not jumps around like tigger from winnie the pooh and randomly takes shots.
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
161 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Location
CA
System Name Dat Rig
Processor i7-3770k @4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 2x4G g.skill ripjaw DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2xSLI Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 128gig OCZ Solid 3 SSD, 600G WD Caviar
Display(s) Planar SA2311W 120hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer - Klipsch Promedia 4.1 (still goin strong)
Power Supply Corsair V2 TX750
#5
That's fine.. I am coming from a counter strike background and I don't disagree with you but at least in BC2 you can quick scope and shoot people. Either way, I don't mind the steady scope, I just dislike that I can't map it to my spot key.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#6
You can still quick scope as in BC2 from what I have been doing. Just by pressing RMB, shift, LMB all in order very fast.
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
161 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Location
CA
System Name Dat Rig
Processor i7-3770k @4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 2x4G g.skill ripjaw DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2xSLI Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 128gig OCZ Solid 3 SSD, 600G WD Caviar
Display(s) Planar SA2311W 120hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer - Klipsch Promedia 4.1 (still goin strong)
Power Supply Corsair V2 TX750
#7
Oh I can quick scope still I guess.. and I was no scoping last night pretty well. I guess my real gripe here is just not being able to find a comfortable button to bind my steady scope to. if I could just hold down my spot key and have it steady scope without that comm rose coming up I'd be all set =P