• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BF3 - To Origin or Not?

Will you use EA's Origin to purchase BF3?


  • Total voters
    97
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#26
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#27
I am not sure that is 100% correct yet. If you have a source for that please post it. From what I read you will need an Origin account, which is just a renaming of your already existing EA account. Not sure you need the Origin Software installed.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,370 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#28
You will need Origin to play the game. No if's about it. So no matter how you purchase you WILL have to use Origin.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#29

[AK]Zip

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
31
#30
I don't see what difference it makes if you have to have Origin to play it? Get it wherever you want. You will still be installing Origin.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,550 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,055
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#31
No, because I don't like their style of DRM. Steam is the only one I find acceptable - and that's borderline.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#32
Bought from Origin. Hopefully it'll be OK.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#33
Origin is was EA download manager turned Steami-sh ,Also you will need Battle log to run the front end of the game(Example try playing Battlefield free to play without the IE or Firefox opened)Battle log is the web based Stat collector + server browser base for online play.Origin also has a offline mode similar to Steam and works great if you want to play offline single player.Only downfall to this is if you have no online connection (like Steam) you can`t install the game Example of that is MW2.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#34
No, because I don't like their style of DRM. Steam is the only one I find acceptable - and that's borderline.
Yeah specially with euro=dollar its soooooo good. I don't get the fuss just add non steam game and you are hooked up. I have BC2 digitally from EA and I'm very happy as it was ridiculously cheap on e-auction.
AD1. yes you have to have Origin to play BF3
AD2. lol @ Kurgan that payed for games to get a veteran status
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.45/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#35
Yeah specially with euro=dollar its soooooo good. I don't get the fuss just add non steam game and you are hooked up. I have BC2 digitally from EA and I'm very happy as it was ridiculously cheap on e-auction.
AD1. yes you have to have Origin to play BF3
AD2. lol @ Kurgan that payed for games to get a veteran status
The "fuss" for me is that, if this game proves popular, as it undoubtedly will, others may follow suit and soon each and every publisher will require us to install their own online client. This is not a development that I wish to see within pc gaming, nor do I wish to enter my bank details on various sites and in several accounts. I have decided that, unless this is eventually sold on Steam, I will forego Battlefied 3, without advocating this approach and in full awareness that my gesture will have no lasting effect on the wider scheme of things.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#36
I don't get the fuss just add non steam game and you are hooked up. I have BC2 digitally from EA and I'm very happy as it was ridiculously cheap on e-auction.
It's not a fuss about Origin, it's a fuss about multiple digital developers. D2D, Steam, Origin, GOG, Impulse, Gamersgate. After a while it's just a mess trying to figure which game came from where and what clients you need. And then it makes you wonder, how many more publishrs are going to make their own client and cut off from Steam, will suck if every Publisher has their own client and requires you to use it to get their games.

lol @ Kurgan that payed for games to get a veteran status
$5 a game caused me to go bankrupt, I will be selling my vehicles and belongings and moving into a cardboard box.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#37
Sorry guys I'm on the side where competition should be everywhere ,otherwise you get ripped off. And this is what steam is all about. All their prices are fkn high and you get happy when the game is sold at real market value. Actually its Steams own fault that EA pulled their stuff off. If Steam was a normal open client (with open API for developers) where you could add the same game you buy in a store so the steam client behaves exactly the same way it would with steam bought stuff then I agree its cool because steam client does its job nicely. Sadly all the noob producers go with steam and its only EA that has a leet enough title to turn the tables a bit(so don't worry not all producers will go this way).
I agree that having another noob client is a crap solution but lets me hope there will be one open standard that would link all games without the need to buy games through it so it works.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#38
Steams prices are high? 10% discount on all games that usually aren't even out yet, constant sales, are you drunk? Before I used Steam I was a pirate, the insanely low cost of games on Steam is the one and only thing that actually brought me back into buying games. You are the first person I have ever heard complain about Steam prices.

You must not understand how the market works on setting prices though since it seems you assume Steam sets their price at the same cost as boxed prices (when they don't have to make a disc, manuals, or a box), which is what I assume by your real market value statement. Retail chains would never allow Steam to put their copies at a lower price, Wal-Mart and Gamestop are massive resellers, and if they knew someone else was allowed to sell it cheaper, they would just pull that publishers titles from their shelves until that publisher wised up.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#39
Sorry guys I'm on the side where competition should be everywhere ,otherwise you get ripped off. And this is what steam is all about. All their prices are fkn high and you get happy when the game is sold at real market value. Actually its Steams own fault that EA pulled their stuff off. If Steam was a normal open client (with open API for developers) where you could add the same game you buy in a store so the steam client behaves exactly the same way it would with steam bought stuff then I agree its cool because steam client does its job nicely. Sadly all the noob producers go with steam and its only EA that has a leet enough title to turn the tables a bit(so don't worry not all producers will go this way).
Oh, someone praising Free Market economics that doesn't actually understand how they function and play out. How adorable. Steam's prices are not any higher than most places, I'm sure in a few countries they are, but that is mostly because Steam does not force prices for content that is not their own. So when you want to go and blame EA or Activision for one of their games that's 2 years old still costing $60 on Steam, blame those companies.

If you want to look at how Free Markets work, check out the Cell Phone of ISP industries. If you want High Speed Internet in the United States, you're stuck between 0 and 2 different companies, that can set the prices as high as they want, and you essentially have to go through them. Why is this you ask? Because nobody is making it so they can't. They also can do whatever they want because it's a "free market" with no intervention. They decide you are downloading too much? Throttled. They decide they aren't making enough? Price Raised. FREE MARKET BABY! YAY FOR CONSUMERS!?!

Now the most hilarious part of your post, is that all the stuff you bash Valve\Steam for, EA is doing much more aggressively. They are now selling their titles exclusively through that client meaning in the future they may not even allow you to shop around for a better price. Steam is the best marketplace for Publishers. Team Meat (makers of Super Meat Boy) recently said they would no longer work with Microsoft because XBLA was hyper-restrictive, and would instead be going exclusively through Steam because they allowed Publishers\Developers much more control.

As for adding a game, you can add any game that runs on your computer to Steam, and allow the overlay, sans Achievements. Origin on the other hand, will NOT allow this functionality. You will only be able to use it's features on Games you purchased using Origins. Also, allowing anyone to just pop in a CD-key and have their content stored on Steam is very difficult when you have Thousands of Titles with similar and in some cases identical Serial Keys. I don't exactly blame Steam for only allowing that with their own Titles (which they do).
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#40
Oh, someone praising Free Market economics that doesn't actually understand how they function and play out. How adorable. Steam's prices are not any higher than most places, I'm sure in a few countries they are, but that is mostly because Steam does not force prices for content that is not their own. So when you want to go and blame EA or Activision for one of their games that's 2 years old still costing $60 on Steam, blame those companies..
Yeah sure thats why CODMW4 Preorder at steam is 59,99euro and at amazon its 40 reduced to 35. It must be Activision thats fixing the price...
Ow wait you get MW2 free but its still +20e more with steam :laugh:

Edit: Sorry that price is significantly cheaper in pounds but still 35Ł is cheaper than 60e. So my point remains.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#41
I always prefer physical discs over digital just so I don't have to wait to download anything and I like building my at home e-peen library haha
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#42
Don't you need Origin to play the game as well?
Steams prices are high? 10% discount on all games that usually aren't even out yet, constant sales, are you drunk? Before I used Steam I was a pirate, the insanely low cost of games on Steam is the one and only thing that actually brought me back into buying games. You are the first person I have ever heard complain about Steam prices.

You must not understand how the market works on setting prices though since it seems you assume Steam sets their price at the same cost as boxed prices (when they don't have to make a disc, manuals, or a box), which is what I assume by your real market value statement. Retail chains would never allow Steam to put their copies at a lower price, Wal-Mart and Gamestop are massive resellers, and if they knew someone else was allowed to sell it cheaper, they would just pull that publishers titles from their shelves until that publisher wised up.
Well Kurgan, Steam in the US is great, but there is a kink in their armor. They do a 1 = 1 conversion of all other currencies so people in other countries pay more for the same game. Hell some countries get a bigger discount for the same reason. That is something that needs to be fixed. They claim they can't keep up with market flux, but they just have to try a little. Update the foreign currencies once every 2 weeks. It shouldn't be that bad.

As for Origin, everyone will have to use it period. Origin is not just their "Steam" client. Origin is now the name of the EA store, EA server login, EA entire online backend. If you play a game by EA or EA owned subsidiaries and it has a online component, it will be using EA Origin. I personally like them unifying everything into one service. While I would prefer Steam, I think Origin is leaps and bounds better than the EA Download Manager and the 12 accounts I have through them for various titles.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#43
Yeah sure thats why CODMW4 Preorder at steam is 59,99euro and at amazon its 40 reduced to 35. It must be Activision thats fixing the price...
Ow wait you get MW2 free but its still +20e more with steam :laugh:

Edit: Sorry that price is significantly cheaper in pounds but still 35Ł is cheaper than 60e. So my point remains.
no, your point is moot. a used game or even a "new" copy that has sat on a shelf for 3 years will get sold cheaper, that makes sense. steam is digital, there is no degradation of product.
there is a different reason it's cheaper on amazon, that in no way means steam raises prices. They are not the ones getting the cash from higher international prices, so why would it be their decision?

your logic is so faulty it makes my head hurt!
 

scooper22

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
108 (0.04/day)
Likes
30
Location
Central Europe
Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX (uv, oc)
Motherboard 90-MXGIP0-A0UAYZ
Cooling VENOMOUS-X + TR-FDB-12-600 + PLPS
Memory F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2
Video Card(s) 21188-00-40R + DCACO-V3400-BLA01 (uv, unlock)
Storage WD10EALS-00Z8A0 + 4044951000029
Display(s) VM633AT
Case FT02B-W
Audio Device(s) SB0090, ALC892
Power Supply BN162
#44
Origin as DRM has no offline mode and forces you to an "always on". Once the internet connection gets lost the game stops. No play without a live connection to Origin. Seriously- WTF they're thinking!?
This is also true for disc versions, so the question of distibution channel is quite mood as they all come down to this. You can play if EA says you can play. No guarantee their servers are online in 5 or 10 years. Try to run or sell a game that's disfunctional and dead. (and this is by design. OT: reading excursion).
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#45
Well Kurgan, Steam in the US is great, but there is a kink in their armor. They do a 1 = 1 conversion of all other currencies so people in other countries pay more for the same game. Hell some countries get a bigger discount for the same reason. That is something that needs to be fixed. They claim they can't keep up with market flux, but they just have to try a little. Update the foreign currencies once every 2 weeks. It shouldn't be that bad.
This is how everything is, pretty much. Computer tech, phones and everything is 1 = 1, so I'm not sure Valve is the only one to blame.
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#46
I am not sure that is 100% correct yet. If you have a source for that please post it. From what I read you will need an Origin account, which is just a renaming of your already existing EA account. Not sure you need the Origin Software installed.
you do, battlelog is tied to origin. you don't need to do anything in origin though. it asks you to login and then sits in the background, much like steam when it's minimized.

Yeah sure thats why CODMW4 Preorder at steam is 59,99euro and at amazon its 40 reduced to 35. It must be Activision thats fixing the price...
Ow wait you get MW2 free but its still +20e more with steam :laugh:

Edit: Sorry that price is significantly cheaper in pounds but still 35Ł is cheaper than 60e. So my point remains.
it's entirely up to the publisher to set the price on steam, afaik steam doesn't force any kind of currency conversion, the publisher sets what they want and that it is.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#47
your logic is so faulty it makes my head hurt!
omg you still dont get it ? I'm not talking about 3 year old games about which nobody cares but new title CODMW4 : 60e(steam) - ~46e(amazon box copy UK).
Ofcourse they are the ones making the exchange rate (hence profit) and they fixed like TheLaughingMan posted.
Type into google "how much is 1 usd to 1 euro" so your head doesn't explode.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#48
omg you still dont get it ? I'm not talking about 3 year old games about which nobody cares but new title CODMW4 : 60e(steam) - ~46e(amazon box copy UK).
Ofcourse they are the ones making the exchange rate (hence profit) and they fixed like TheLaughingMan posted.
Type into google "how much is 1 usd to 1 euro" so your head doesn't explode.
i understand that there is a difference in price, my point is that amazon is not a regular retailer, and so basing anything off their price is disingenuous.

do you really think activision can control the price of every copy sold in the world? no. and they can't stop amazon from reselling copies either, just like ebay.
steam though, they can stop. they can set a price and tell steam they can not sell it for any less, under any condition. and that is what happens.

obviously the prices are different. obviously even higher with the exchange rate. the point is it is not steam's decision. your logic leading to say that it is was my issue, not the specifics.

if my head explodes it's simply because you've been explained this multiple times in different ways and still refuse to recognize the point.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#49
This is how everything is, pretty much. Computer tech, phones and everything is 1 = 1, so I'm not sure Valve is the only one to blame.
They kinda are. The issue with price is how its coded would require the entire Steam Plateform to be updated daily. This is why I said they should do a 2 week scheduled update. They could even integrate other updates into the schedule like AMD does with the monthly driver updates.

omg you still dont get it ? I'm not talking about 3 year old games about which nobody cares but new title CODMW4 : 60e(steam) - ~46e(amazon box copy UK).
Ofcourse they are the ones making the exchange rate (hence profit) and they fixed like TheLaughingMan posted.
Type into google "how much is 1 usd to 1 euro" so your head doesn't explode.
One other interesting thing about this and Valve is content is based on the region you purchased the game from. So if you live in a country like Australia where Left 4 Dead 2 is Left 4 Huggy Monsters 2, a PM, Paypal, and a friend can get around their rather strict policies.

If you can find a place that will do currency conversion for free like you send Z euros and get exchange rate x Z USD you could do the same to get standard market price. Its a pain, but possible.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#50
The issue with price is how its coded would require the entire Steam Plateform to be updated daily.
that makes no sense. with millions of users and millions of dollars there is no way it is a simple programming issue causing it. it may be true that the current code doesn't support it, but that's not something they would keep out of laziness. there is an actual legal reason for it.