• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bigfoot Networks Unleashes Killer 2100, World's Fastest Gaming NIC

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Bigfoot Networks, the networking technology company behind the Killer line of gaming networks cards, today announced Killer 2100, its next-generation network interface card (NIC) for online gaming. Killer 2100 combines elements of speed, intelligence and control demanded by gamers with major throughput and latency enhancements and an innovative and easy-to-use software interface. Killer 2100 epitomizes blazing speed and maximum performance as the fastest Gigabit NIC on the planet for gamers.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,157 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
wow why does it need 128mb of ram?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#3
Useless. Really. The only thing good about this is that it doesn't put any stress on the CPU like an onboard-chip does, but ANY stand-alone ethernet card does this at a cheaper price.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#4
No x64 bit support? Fail!
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,953 (0.41/day)
Likes
943
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#5
Uhm, not all stand alone cards does that.
Besides, some onboard Ethernet controllers are good.
I think you're mixing up the cheap crap Realtek stuff with other decent solutions here.
And this is a new version of their stuff, so hopefully they've made it do something, as the previous one was pointless, although the one prior to that actually worked, but then again, that was a PCI card so...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,553 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,458
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#6
Does this one have a shitty little celeron on it too?
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#7
even though these cards are about as useful as gold plated monster cables...didn't the first one at least have usb output? :wtf: I like how they took away that dumb ass "heat sink" to make it look like less of a joke.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#8
No x64 bit support? Fail!
No XP x64 support. Supports Windows 7/Vista x64.

wow why does it need 128mb of ram?
Because of the way it's designed. 128 MB is the main memory of the tiny SoC on that card. Sort of like how 64 MB is the main memory (written as "cache") of the SandForce SoC on SSDs that use it, or 128 MB / 256 MB memory on RAID cards that have their own SoCs that offload the host of processing.
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#9
If I were worried about latency, I'd first look at my router, then my switch if I had one, then my modem, then I'd ask my internet provider about it. Then and only then would I look at my onboard network.

It's a shame really, the people I see as potential buyers of this are the same people that have 4+ GB of ram, thus having a 64-bit OS.

At any rate, that 128MB of ram need to get addressed by the OS, leaving even less available ram to the user if they have over 3GB already.

Sigh...
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
299 (0.10/day)
Likes
34
#10
Great, now please produce some "gaming" xDSL modem/router. Cause all I had sux.. (havent tested D-Link yet..).
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Even more useless then the orginal. At least the original had a direct USB connection, so I could run my torrent programs and file transfers directly on the NIC freeing up system resources(not that utorrent really takes up a whole lot of system resrouces)...

There is no noticeable advantage with this over even the crappiers onboard cards. The big claim for fastest NIC comes from the claim it can lower pings, and it can in a lab environment. However, in the real world, high pings are caused by the public side, not the private. So changing anything on your side is pretty pointless, it might shave of 1ms, but that won't matter. When it takes 2ms to ping from my computer to the hub at the street, but my pings in games are 40ms, guess where the other 38ms came from. Thats right, the time it takes to for the data to to travel from the box on the street to the game server, and switching my NIC in my computer isn't going to change that.
 

araditus

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
172 (0.05/day)
Likes
25
Location
Oklahoma
#12
Great, now please produce some "gaming" xDSL modem/router. Cause all I had sux.. (havent tested D-Link yet..).
D-Link is the best, and I have tested them all, being a hardcore FPS fan for 10 years routing was always important, in my personal expericent the best router now hands down for my needs is the DIR-655 for wireless and if you want just nasty speed and low latency my DGL-4100 works best for me, and it usually offers my speeds over my rated speed from my ISP, i get around 38-42mbs when I am on a 30mbs line.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#13
D-Link is the best, and I have tested them all, being a hardcore FPS fan for 10 years routing was always important, in my personal expericent the best router now hands down for my needs is the DIR-655 for wireless and if you want just nasty speed and low latency my DGL-4100 works best for me, and it usually offers my speeds over my rated speed from my ISP, i get around 38-42mbs when I am on a 30mbs line.
The higher bandwidth has nothing to do with the router.
 

araditus

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
172 (0.05/day)
Likes
25
Location
Oklahoma
#14
When it takes 2ms to ping from my computer to the hub at the street, but my pings in games are 40ms, guess where the other 38ms came from. Thats right, the time it takes to for the data to to travel from the box on the street to the game server, and switching my NIC in my computer isn't going to change that.
I do not know if every ISP will do this, but they worked with me (live in Oklahoma) on some custom routing over the phone to take my ping to my previous Dallas Counter Strike match server from 17-19ms to 6-8ms they reduced the hops for mefrom 14 to 7, I know the Killer card wont work well, I am just notifiying that you can make a difference, just not with this. BTW my isp didnt charge me the $100 this thing will.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#16
Its difficult for me to believe otherwise even thought what you may say is completely true in my personal expericence the 4100 is 25% faster than my other routers.
Still not due to the router. Probably on the ISP side of it that your actually getting more than you should or they've upgraded your package and its still labelled as the old. Same happened with virgin I was on a 1mb/s package and the next day all of a sudden it was 2mb/s because they upgraded long term customers.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#17
this product reminds me of the old "make your house a giant antenna for free tv watching" product back in the early 90s. They are gimmicks. Were there not several independent studies done that showed no improvement for gaming?
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#18
this product reminds me of the old "make your house a giant antenna for free tv watching" product back in the early 90s. They are gimmicks. Were there not several independent studies done that showed no improvement for gaming?
Yep. It's a gimmick and EVGA asfaik support it ?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
555 (0.19/day)
Likes
170
Location
boondocks, Michigan
System Name Majestic Command 2.2 / Majestic Scout
Processor Core i7 920@3.50Ghz / Core i7 4810@2.8GHz
Motherboard MSI X58M / Clevo proprietary
Cooling Scythe Apsalus 90 92mm water loop / stock
Memory 3x2GB@1066 / 2x8GB@1600
Video Card(s) GTX 560ti / GTX 860m (Maxwell)
Storage 64Gb SSD, 2TB HDD / 240GB SSD, 750GB HDD
Display(s) Acer 23" LED @1080-60Hz / 13.3" @1080-60Hz
Case NZXT Vulcan / Clevo W230SS
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium>AT-HA25D>ATH-AD1000/X-Fi HD>ESW9
Power Supply Kingwin Mach-1 700 watt modular / stock brick
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit) / "
#19
the killer NIC has blast processing, the Super NES doesn't.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#20
If I were worried about latency, I'd first look at my router, then my switch if I had one, then my modem, then I'd ask my internet provider about it. Then and only then would I look at my onboard network.

It's a shame really, the people I see as potential buyers of this are the same people that have 4+ GB of ram, thus having a 64-bit OS.

At any rate, that 128MB of ram need to get addressed by the OS, leaving even less available ram to the user if they have over 3GB already.

Sigh...
Yes this is another expense that really isn't necessary for any gamer, however stating anyone utilizing more than 4Gb of ram is stupid enough to buy this is an insult. I have 6 Gb of ram, a x64 bit OS and I run virtual machines on my computer. No way in hell would I buy this, I don't think I will ever switch back to a 32 bit OS either. :shadedshu:wtf:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,525 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#21
Yeah, really.. right now I'm using 1.5GB between the OS, BOINC, F@H, Steam, MSE, utorrent, IE, and a sticky note open. That would leave me 512MB for everything else if I had 2GB...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
Yes this is another expense that really isn't necessary for any gamer, however stating anyone utilizing more than 4Gb of ram is stupid enough to buy this is an insult. I have 6 Gb of ram, a x64 bit OS and I run virtual machines on my computer. No way in hell would I buy this, I don't think I will ever switch back to a 32 bit OS either. :shadedshu:wtf:
He didn't say anyone with more than 4GB of RAM is stupid enough to buy this, I don't see anything even close to that in his post.

He is saying that the people that would consider buying this probably have 4GB+ of RAM and hence a 64-bit OS.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#23
He didn't say anyone with more than 4GB of RAM is stupid enough to buy this, I don't see anything even close to that in his post.

He is saying that the people that would consider buying this probably have 4GB+ of RAM and hence a 64-bit OS.
And why would they consider buying it because they have x64bit OS and 4Gb+ of ram?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
And why would they consider buying it because they have x64bit OS and 4Gb+ of ram?
Again, no one is saying the anyone would consider buying this because they have 4GB+ of RAM and a 64-bit OS. Again, you've got that mixed up. They have a 64-bit OS and 4GB+ of RAM because they are considering buying it.

Him, and I, are saying the small group of people that would consider buying this, likely already have 4GB of RAM and a 64-bit OS. Why do they likely have these things? Because they are considering buying a $130 network card for gaming, so they've probably already spent less money elsewhere. I don't think many people with 2GB of RAM or less are going to think this is the best place to put their money for a performance boost.
 

$immond$

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
394 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Edmonton
Processor AMD 1055t 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E AM3 (Mini ITX)
Cooling Asus Stock cooler
Memory 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Storage 120 Gb Pheonix Sandforce 2 / WD 640 Gb Sata 3
Case Thermalrock Eclipse
Power Supply 500 Watt OCZ (Modular)
Software Windows 7 64 Pro
#25
Considering the cost of ram these days 4Gb of DDR2/DDR3 can be bought very cheap.