• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios corrupted, CPU downclocking under load??

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,951 (2.67/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Lousy VRM "design" would not cause throttling to start now when it used to work fine.
If one of the VRMs are finally giving out it would.

This is an old board. It's not unreasonable to assume that.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,090 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Or maybe i can get my friend's Evga 650 gold nova g2 which is same output as mine, but more efficient and newer, so i could do that.
At least for a test to see if the same problem occurs. In the meantime, what does HWiNFO64 (select sensors only) say for your voltages?
If one of the VRMs are finally giving out it would.
:( You took that out of context. Please note what I said about that in its entirety - that is, what you quoted and the part you left out. I said,
Lousy VRM "design" would not cause throttling to start now when it used to work fine. Lousy VRM "design" would be apparent the first time you tasked the system in this same manner.

Poor quality components used in the design could result in premature failure or degradation of parts.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,951 (2.67/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
:( You took that out of context. Please note what I said about that in its entirety - that is, what you quoted and the part you left out. I said,
I did, sorry. Didn't mean to, I think my crappy cellphone truncated your post.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,090 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
No problem. Thanks for clarifying.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
493 (0.33/day)
Location
Skopje, Macedonia
System Name The Tesseract Cube
Processor Intel Xeon X3460 (OC to 4.0Ghz)
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Turbo Evo
Cooling DeepCool Maelstrom 240, 2 X DeepCool GS120 (radiator fans), 4 X DeepCool RF120 (case fans)
Memory 4 x 4GB Kingston Hyper X Blue Fury 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro +
Storage Kingston V300 120GB (Boot Device), Western DIgital Caviar Blue 1TB (Games, Downloads)
Display(s) MSI MAG241C Full HD, 144hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) MB Integrated
Power Supply Corsair CX650M Modular 80+ Bronze
Mouse MSI GM10
Keyboard Genesys RHOD 400 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPUZ: Single Thread - 345 Multi Thread - 1875 Cinebench R20: CPU - 1320 score
Run intel xtu and get a load on the system. Xtu lists throttle reasons on the bottom and will light up yellow.

Mobo is weksos too...old... could be crapping out.
Here are results during test:

Downclock.png


Here is after a few seconds:

Upclock.png


And it goes on and on just looping like that, i can hear the fans ramping up and down and i know when it dropped.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,776 (4.37/day)
I dont see the parts on the bottom for power limit and current limit...... did they turn yellow during testing?

That said, it doesnt look like its reading things off that board/cpu well either..
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
833 (0.16/day)
XTU says Turbo Boost is enabled, motherboards throttle CPU clock if it exceeds TDP/TDC limits. Set Ratio manually and disable Turbo boost, or use ThrottleStop (if you can't do it through the BIOS) to increase TDP/TDC if you wish to OC with Turbo on. Try to toggle Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
493 (0.33/day)
Location
Skopje, Macedonia
System Name The Tesseract Cube
Processor Intel Xeon X3460 (OC to 4.0Ghz)
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Turbo Evo
Cooling DeepCool Maelstrom 240, 2 X DeepCool GS120 (radiator fans), 4 X DeepCool RF120 (case fans)
Memory 4 x 4GB Kingston Hyper X Blue Fury 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro +
Storage Kingston V300 120GB (Boot Device), Western DIgital Caviar Blue 1TB (Games, Downloads)
Display(s) MSI MAG241C Full HD, 144hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) MB Integrated
Power Supply Corsair CX650M Modular 80+ Bronze
Mouse MSI GM10
Keyboard Genesys RHOD 400 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPUZ: Single Thread - 345 Multi Thread - 1875 Cinebench R20: CPU - 1320 score
Wow, i just realised that before reading post, but funny thing is SpeedStep is disabled, and with it Turbo as well.
So how does it try to turbo without SpeedStep, im kinda confused.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
833 (0.16/day)
Could be a BIOS bug or XTU reporting error. Turbo needs SpeedStep and C-states to work correctly.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,090 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Also, your HWiNFO screen shots don't show your voltages. Scroll down to your motherboard section. They should be listed there.

According the ATX Form Factor standard, PSUs must maintain voltage tolerances within ±5% of required specifications.

Acceptable Tolerances:

12VDC ±5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC
5VDC ±5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC
3.3VDC ±5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC​
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,090 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
It is just good to verify supplying good power to electronics when there is a problem that could be related to hardware.
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
833 (0.16/day)
Last time I had unexplained throttling like this, it was on Q6600 and some cheap MSI motherboard, due to a poorly coded BIOS. I solved it by cross-flashing the BIOS to a more updated one for a different motherboard, but with a similar design.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
493 (0.33/day)
Location
Skopje, Macedonia
System Name The Tesseract Cube
Processor Intel Xeon X3460 (OC to 4.0Ghz)
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Turbo Evo
Cooling DeepCool Maelstrom 240, 2 X DeepCool GS120 (radiator fans), 4 X DeepCool RF120 (case fans)
Memory 4 x 4GB Kingston Hyper X Blue Fury 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro +
Storage Kingston V300 120GB (Boot Device), Western DIgital Caviar Blue 1TB (Games, Downloads)
Display(s) MSI MAG241C Full HD, 144hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) MB Integrated
Power Supply Corsair CX650M Modular 80+ Bronze
Mouse MSI GM10
Keyboard Genesys RHOD 400 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPUZ: Single Thread - 345 Multi Thread - 1875 Cinebench R20: CPU - 1320 score
Just finished a stock run on Intel XTU, max boost was 2.9Ghz and no downclocks, nothing, kept going the whole time with temp sitting around 50C at load.

I think i should reset the CMOS on this board and do a flash on older BIOS, and then back to the newest one, it is somehow buggy, using Turbo even when it is disabled.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,954 (6.18/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you think the bios is corrupt.

Restore the bios to defaults, REFLASH IT then restore defaults again, make sure cpu cooler doesnt have plastic cover on it or the tim. Reapply tim, remount cooler correctly, ensure fans are plugged into correct headers, ensure good airflow and lower ambient temps.

Run rig, then run tests again in a week, recording your ambient temps and then system temps for today and then 7 days from now, continue to do that till you are satisfied.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,990 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Have you checked the power settings in windows?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,776 (4.37/day)
Just finished a stock run on Intel XTU, max boost was 2.9Ghz and no downclocks, nothing, kept going the whole time with temp sitting around 50C at load.

I think i should reset the CMOS on this board and do a flash on older BIOS, and then back to the newest one, it is somehow buggy, using Turbo even when it is disabled.
Try it with your overclock and see what happens...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,461 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
this really sounds like VRM throttling to me, stop relying on software readings for them

wedge a fan in over the VRMs and run the tests again to see if it throttles
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
909 (0.24/day)
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
maybe there is a cooler or thermal paste problem when your cpu starts from 50° idle
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,776 (4.37/day)
XTU didnt show it, neither does hwinfo. Where are you seeing its past tcase? Typically we see core/tmax temps, not tcase....

maybe there is a cooler or thermal paste problem when your cpu starts from 50° idle
that wasnt at idle... looking at minimum cpu loads. ;)

this really sounds like VRM throttling to me, stop relying on software readings for them

wedge a fan in over the VRMs and run the tests again to see if it throttles
look at xtu... it says it there if he scrolls down in the monitoring part of xtu. Hwinfo shows none as well. Though, i suppose it doesnt hurt to try that either.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
88 (0.06/day)
Location
Nova Scotia
System Name Old Old Old.
Processor AMD X2 5200+ 2.6Ghz @5665+ 2.83GHz 1.4v
Motherboard ASUS M2NPV-VM
Memory Corsair XMS2 PC6400 Dual channel 1GBx2 CL5-5-5-15-20 @ 944MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 2600XT 256MB core@857MHz ram@1179MHz GDDR4
Storage alot of 'em
Display(s) ASUS 23" VC239H 1920x1080 IPS 5ms
Audio Device(s) Diamond 5.1
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 400w dual rail
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Logitech G11
XTU didnt show it, neither does hwinfo. Where are you seeing its past tcase? Typically we see core/tmax temps, not tcase....

that wasnt at idle... looking at minimum cpu loads. ;)

look at xtu... it says it there if he scrolls down in the monitoring part of xtu. Hwinfo shows none as well. Though, i suppose it doesnt hurt to try that either.
73C in his screenshot. Google it. depending on the mobo it will throttle at tcase, which is 72.7C which is exactly what i am seeing here. It's supposed to be to keep from damaging your computer.

"Tjunction Max (TjMax) is different than the TCC Activation Temperature. TCC offset represents where the processor starts to throttle, relative to the TjMax value. Tjunction can be the same temperature as TCC if the TCC offset equal to zero."
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000005597/processors.html
corroborating info:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/777634-Need-Help-with-Buying-Memory-for-Old-System-(DDR3-P55)/page2
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,776 (4.37/day)
I know exactly what it is and means. I was unaware that value was tcase in hwinfo. ;)

Nothing is catching it though is my point. Hwinfo and xtu doesnt show any thermal throttling which is what that will cause.

Edit: and when i just googled what cpu max was, the author of hwinfo said its the hottest temperatures of all cores, which, as you know, would not be tcase as it is usually lower than tjunction which is what most applications seem to use for temps. So it seeks that isnt tcase and it isnt throttling.
https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-What-CPU-temperature-reading-should-I-use
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
88 (0.06/day)
Location
Nova Scotia
System Name Old Old Old.
Processor AMD X2 5200+ 2.6Ghz @5665+ 2.83GHz 1.4v
Motherboard ASUS M2NPV-VM
Memory Corsair XMS2 PC6400 Dual channel 1GBx2 CL5-5-5-15-20 @ 944MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 2600XT 256MB core@857MHz ram@1179MHz GDDR4
Storage alot of 'em
Display(s) ASUS 23" VC239H 1920x1080 IPS 5ms
Audio Device(s) Diamond 5.1
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 400w dual rail
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Logitech G11
I know exactly what it is and means. I was unaware that value was tcase in hwinfo. ;)

Nothing is catching it though is my point. Hwinfo and xtu doesnt show any thermal throttling which is what that will cause.
i think you misunderstood. some Mobo's set an TCC offset that brings the throttle temp to 73c tj or thereabouts, Dont ask me why.. its just a stupid thing that they did. Basically it throttles at 73 tj and will actually shut down the pc at 76-78 tj in this configuration. Just cool it down, keep it below 72 and tell us if that works. it Could still be hitting the wall for amperage draw in the bios due to the crappy vrm, would be nice to see some figures on how much its drawing. But i have now read 4 threads with the same gen cpus having throttling at 72-75c
also read a case of c3 a c6 states causing this.

https://forums.overclockers.com.au/threads/i7-860-throttling-down-at-70-73-degrees.848727/
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/777634-Need-Help-with-Buying-Memory-for-Old-System-(DDR3-P55)/page2
http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1893896/cpu-throttling.html
https://www.dell.com/community/General/Dell-7567-Throttling-73-Degrees/m-p/5187746
http://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1247495-2500k-4-8ghz-1-328v-already-throttling-70-degrees-solved.html
 
Last edited:
Top