1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS damaged after installing RealTemp

Discussion in 'RealTemp' started by dictum, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. dictum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ran the application and immediately the machine shut down and would not boot up anymore.

    The machine is Sun Ultra 40 M2 and has this error message.
    I checked the obvious and all the fans are working, the main fan module with 3 fans in it and as well as the RAM fans. They are all spinning.

    Any idea how to troubleshoot this? The machine displays this message then shuts down. Hitting Escape does not prevent shutdown. I have not made any configuration changes except for the temperature app. How could it damage my BIOS?


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,907 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,143
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    It couldnt. It runs in your os , & has no effect on bios. Im not saying i know what happened, i just know realtemp didnt "damage" your bios, no more than your eyes could damage a book from reading it , try uninstalling RT, also try clear cmos?
    Good luck

    Looks like sensor issues to me
     
    jmcslob, DeathtoGnomes and Solaris17 say thanks.
  3. dictum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Understood
     
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,048 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Location:
    Rochester area
    thats not entirely correct
    it is possible by setting the incorrect registers or issuing the wrong commands over ic2 to `brick` it especially on old or odd systems such as this sun machine i killed a pll chip on a old dell that way

    clear the cmos and hope it has the sense to clear the registers you will need to get into the setup and re-set any fan related options

    worst case update the bios that should reset the fmc table

    remember and @Solaris17 can back me on this sun systems especially the old ones are a odd duck they do things completely differnt
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2017
  5. dictum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do I clear the CMOS? I scanned the entire BIOS, no such option.

    Meaning this thing is permanently bricked.


    From Sun Oracle:

    As of April 5th customers now need either hardware warranty or a 'system' level contract to download firmware, drivers, etc from either SunSolve or the Download Center.

    Sincerely,

    Sun Web Team
    Sun Microsystems, Inc.

    I found an entry to reset bios to original settings, I think that's what it was, to no avail.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2017
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,048 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Location:
    Rochester area
    there is a jumper on the board or just remove the battery and power for 15m
     
  7. dictum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I removed the battery and power, will see if that has any effect.

    It's complaining about the DIMM fan *and* the CPU fan, so which one is it? And if it's a hardware related failure, does it make to try to replace the CPU fan? I cannot really tell if it's moving because it's under the heat sink, or somewhere inside I assume. It's not visible.

    The DIMM fan and the main system fan (3 of them on that board) are moving.
     
  8. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    I was never lucky enough to play with one of these bad bois, the fans look a wee bit old style and its possible they actually could have failed. Consider replacing them with molex fans, so you dont need to plug them into the motherboard.

    If the BIOS is like most others, there should be a way disable the extra fan headers. I also suggest taking small steps changing any BIOS settings and take careful notes what settings you do change incase you need to change them back.
     
  9. dictum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Removing and reinstalling the 2032 lithium battery did the trick... it booted right up. I have no idea which app messed it up.

    I installed CoreTemp, RealTemp and instspeedfan452, one of them, or several really messed up my BIOS.

    It's working now. I am up and fully booted into Windows 7.

    I won't be installing any temperature monitoring programs anytime soon.
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,048 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Location:
    Rochester area
    just don't install 3 at once .... speedfan was the likely culript
     
  11. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    Is that a x64 or x32? Consider, if you do want to extract system specs try HWinfo64 or Speccy or Aida64. And if anything happens installing these programs that there is a real issue here.

    Weed it out if you can.

    Highly doubtful. Unless the OP tried playing with the clocks tab, a big no-no.
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,421 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,186
    Realtemp/Coretemp is specifically for Intel CPUs. If anything it's them, and IMO it would really be nice to know which one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,048 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Location:
    Rochester area
    speedfan is the only one that provides ic2 access if he was fiddling around with the advanced settings thats what did it
     
    Mr.Scott, Frick and DeathtoGnomes say thanks.
  14. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    Correct, and, using speed fan only for a temp reader is funny.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,864 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,016
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Rraltemp is for Intel only, but Coretemp is for both Intel and AMD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. DeathtoGnomes

    DeathtoGnomes

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    I never had good luck with Coretemp.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)