• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS damaged after installing RealTemp

dictum

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I ran the application and immediately the machine shut down and would not boot up anymore.

The machine is Sun Ultra 40 M2 and has this error message.
I checked the obvious and all the fans are working, the main fan module with 3 fans in it and as well as the RAM fans. They are all spinning.

Any idea how to troubleshoot this? The machine displays this message then shuts down. Hitting Escape does not prevent shutdown. I have not made any configuration changes except for the temperature app. How could it damage my BIOS?






 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,632 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,891
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#2
How could it damage my BIOS?
It couldnt. It runs in your os , & has no effect on bios. Im not saying i know what happened, i just know realtemp didnt "damage" your bios, no more than your eyes could damage a book from reading it , try uninstalling RT, also try clear cmos?
Good luck

Looks like sensor issues to me
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,659 (2.53/day)
Likes
4,238
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#4
It couldnt. It runs in your os , & has no effect on bios. Im not saying i know what happened, i just know realtemp didnt "damage" your bios, no more than your eyes could damage a book from reading it , try uninstalling RT, also try clear cmos?
Good luck

Looks like sensor issues to me
thats not entirely correct
it is possible by setting the incorrect registers or issuing the wrong commands over ic2 to `brick` it especially on old or odd systems such as this sun machine i killed a pll chip on a old dell that way

clear the cmos and hope it has the sense to clear the registers you will need to get into the setup and re-set any fan related options

worst case update the bios that should reset the fmc table

remember and @Solaris17 can back me on this sun systems especially the old ones are a odd duck they do things completely differnt
 
Last edited by a moderator:

dictum

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
How do I clear the CMOS? I scanned the entire BIOS, no such option.

Meaning this thing is permanently bricked.


From Sun Oracle:

As of April 5th customers now need either hardware warranty or a 'system' level contract to download firmware, drivers, etc from either SunSolve or the Download Center.

Sincerely,

Sun Web Team
Sun Microsystems, Inc.

I found an entry to reset bios to original settings, I think that's what it was, to no avail.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,659 (2.53/day)
Likes
4,238
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#6
there is a jumper on the board or just remove the battery and power for 15m
 

dictum

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
I removed the battery and power, will see if that has any effect.

It's complaining about the DIMM fan *and* the CPU fan, so which one is it? And if it's a hardware related failure, does it make to try to replace the CPU fan? I cannot really tell if it's moving because it's under the heat sink, or somewhere inside I assume. It's not visible.

The DIMM fan and the main system fan (3 of them on that board) are moving.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,969 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,000
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/12OuxaI.jpg
#8
I was never lucky enough to play with one of these bad bois, the fans look a wee bit old style and its possible they actually could have failed. Consider replacing them with molex fans, so you dont need to plug them into the motherboard.

If the BIOS is like most others, there should be a way disable the extra fan headers. I also suggest taking small steps changing any BIOS settings and take careful notes what settings you do change incase you need to change them back.
 

dictum

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Removing and reinstalling the 2032 lithium battery did the trick... it booted right up. I have no idea which app messed it up.

I installed CoreTemp, RealTemp and instspeedfan452, one of them, or several really messed up my BIOS.

It's working now. I am up and fully booted into Windows 7.

I won't be installing any temperature monitoring programs anytime soon.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,659 (2.53/day)
Likes
4,238
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
just don't install 3 at once .... speedfan was the likely culript
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,969 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,000
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/12OuxaI.jpg
#11
Removing and reinstalling the 2032 lithium battery did the trick... it booted right up. I have no idea which app messed it up.

I installed CoreTemp, RealTemp and instspeedfan452, one of them, or several really messed up my BIOS.

It's working now. I am up and fully booted into Windows 7.

I won't be installing any temperature monitoring programs anytime soon.
Is that a x64 or x32? Consider, if you do want to extract system specs try HWinfo64 or Speccy or Aida64. And if anything happens installing these programs that there is a real issue here.

Weed it out if you can.

just don't install 3 at once .... speedfan was the likely culript
Highly doubtful. Unless the OP tried playing with the clocks tab, a big no-no.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,020 (3.32/day)
Likes
5,500
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Realtemp/Coretemp is specifically for Intel CPUs. If anything it's them, and IMO it would really be nice to know which one.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,659 (2.53/day)
Likes
4,238
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
speedfan is the only one that provides ic2 access if he was fiddling around with the advanced settings thats what did it
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,969 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,000
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/12OuxaI.jpg
#14
speedfan is the only one that provides ic2 access if he was fiddling around with the advanced settings thats what did it
Correct, and, using speed fan only for a temp reader is funny.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,094 (5.43/day)
Likes
11,370
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Realtemp/Coretemp is specifically for Intel CPUs.
Rraltemp is for Intel only, but Coretemp is for both Intel and AMD.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,969 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,000
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/12OuxaI.jpg
#16
I never had good luck with Coretemp.
 
Top