• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS Does Not Recognize HD 7770

Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Location
Istanbul
System Name Anicaloid
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 16MB 6/12C 12nm
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS
Cooling Wraith Stealth (Stock Cooler)
Memory G.skill RipjawsV 16GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 580 4GB 256 BIT GDDR5
Storage WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATAIII HDD (WD10EZEX) - Adata Ultimate SU650 240GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2270H 1080p 60Hz 5MS VA
Case Dark F40
Audio Device(s) Logitech S120
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Essential 500W 80+
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech G103
Software Windows 10 (2004)
Yello! I really need your help. This will be my first thread on TPU so pardon me if I make a mistake.

I am having issues with my second system (Which is 12 year old I guess.) due to new GPU installation. System specification:
  • Intel Core 2 DUO E8500 3.16GHz 6MB Processor
  • Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L Motherboard
  • Kingston 2GB (1+1) 667MHz DDR2 CL5 + ADATA 2GB 667MHz DDR2 CL5 + Kreton Corp. 2GB 667MHz DDR2 CL5 = Total 6 GB RAM (1+1+2+2)
  • Sapphire Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256BIT GDDR3 (100225DDR3L)
  • Samsung Spinpoint F1 320GB 16MB 7200RPM SataII 16MB HDD (HD322HJ)
  • Cooler Master Elite RC-333 Case
  • Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 390W Power Supply (RS-390 PMSP-A3)
I have recently bought an Asus DirectCU HD 7770-DC-1GD5-V2 1GB 128BIT GDDR5 Graphic Card for my 2nd system. I tested it in my first system with many applications and benchmarks also I played a lot on 1080p resolution and it was rock solid. Then I installed it in my 2nd system and worked perfectly fine (Except the huge bottleneck which is not a problem since I ordered an Xeon E5462.) for three days but on the fourth day morning it gave no signal error.

When I start the system, HD 7770's fan starts to run fast then slows, then run fast and slows again. It happens for 4-6 times. It is like a boot loop. Then I hear 1 long and 2 short beeps and GPU fan starts running at maximum speed and It won't stop until I shut down the system. They say, that beeps mean there is something wrong with GPU but actually it works perfectly fine on my first system.

To test it, I installed HD 3870 back and system run without any problem. So I think there is a problem with compatibility. I think the problem is due to the graphic card not being recognised properly during the boot phase. I tried many methods to fix it but couldn't succeed. That's why I am here. There is one thing I found that can be count as a temporary fix. I can use HD 7770 whenever I clear CMOS. When I clear CMOS, HD 7770 works like nothing happened and I can use its full power without any problem after, but the thing is, I DO NOT want to clear CMOS everytime I use my second system because I use it very often. There must be a fix for this. I hope you can help me. I think I have tried everything I could think of.

I have tried, updating BIOS and VBIOS*, removing BIOS Battery, disassembling all of the components etc. I even tested the PSU's voltage values with AIDA64 Extreme and both +12V and +3.3V rails were optimal both in idle and FurMark test. As I said, I checked all the components and there is not a single defective one. That's why I think there is a problem with compatibility between my motherboard and GPU.

You guys have any suggestion for me? Much appreciated :love:

*After updating VBIOS, It worked for two days without any problem and I thought I finally fixed it but it happened again today :(

Note: I am on latest drivers with HD 7770. (Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.4.2 WHQL) And of course, I tested if the problem is due to a driver error but sadly, no.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,828 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
It sounds to me that your older system does not support UEFI Bios that you're HD7770 is trying to boot to, if so there may be a fix to this using VBE7 software which allows Cape Verde GPU's to be modified, there is no need to modify it however making a modification and saving it in Bios reverts the card to it's legacy Bios which may work, then it's simply a case of reverting the modification back in VBE7, saving the Bios again and then flashing it to the card.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Location
Istanbul
System Name Anicaloid
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 16MB 6/12C 12nm
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS
Cooling Wraith Stealth (Stock Cooler)
Memory G.skill RipjawsV 16GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 580 4GB 256 BIT GDDR5
Storage WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATAIII HDD (WD10EZEX) - Adata Ultimate SU650 240GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2270H 1080p 60Hz 5MS VA
Case Dark F40
Audio Device(s) Logitech S120
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Essential 500W 80+
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech G103
Software Windows 10 (2004)
I will give it a try. Thanks.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,828 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I will give it a try. Thanks.
If you need any help just dump the bios from GPU-Z and upload here zipped and I will do the necessary in VBE7 for you and then upload it back.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Location
Istanbul
System Name Anicaloid
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 16MB 6/12C 12nm
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS
Cooling Wraith Stealth (Stock Cooler)
Memory G.skill RipjawsV 16GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 580 4GB 256 BIT GDDR5
Storage WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATAIII HDD (WD10EZEX) - Adata Ultimate SU650 240GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2270H 1080p 60Hz 5MS VA
Case Dark F40
Audio Device(s) Logitech S120
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Essential 500W 80+
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech G103
Software Windows 10 (2004)

Attachments

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,828 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
OK try this, no changes, I just made one change, saved it in VBE7, then went back in, changed it back and saved it again.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Location
Istanbul
System Name Anicaloid
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 16MB 6/12C 12nm
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS
Cooling Wraith Stealth (Stock Cooler)
Memory G.skill RipjawsV 16GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 580 4GB 256 BIT GDDR5
Storage WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATAIII HDD (WD10EZEX) - Adata Ultimate SU650 240GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2270H 1080p 60Hz 5MS VA
Case Dark F40
Audio Device(s) Logitech S120
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Essential 500W 80+
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech G103
Software Windows 10 (2004)
OK try this, no changes, I just made one change, saved it in VBE7, then went back in, changed it back and saved it again.
Thanks again. I flashed it. It seems fixed for now but I can not be sure because of this:
*After updating VBIOS, It worked for two days without any problem and I thought I finally fixed it but it happened again today :(
So I will let you know If it is fixed for good. :love:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,828 (4.30/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO+4 x Viper140mm
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Thanks again. I flashed it. It seems fixed for now but I can not be sure because of this:


So I will let you know If it is fixed for good. :love:
Well, hopefully I was right and you now will have a legacy Bios more compatible with your old motherboard as I don't think UEFI existed back then.... let's see, please do report back after a few days...…….. or when it goes wrong again!
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
5 (0.16/day)
Location
Istanbul
System Name Anicaloid
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 16MB 6/12C 12nm
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS
Cooling Wraith Stealth (Stock Cooler)
Memory G.skill RipjawsV 16GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 RAM
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 580 4GB 256 BIT GDDR5
Storage WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATAIII HDD (WD10EZEX) - Adata Ultimate SU650 240GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2270H 1080p 60Hz 5MS VA
Case Dark F40
Audio Device(s) Logitech S120
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Essential 500W 80+
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech G103
Software Windows 10 (2004)
@Tatty_One Hello :(

Unfortunately, it did not fix my problem but I used the system without a problem for two days. I think whenever I flash VBIOS, it works fine for two days but after that it stops working. That's exactly what happened before when I flashed and it happened again.

The problem is still the same, boot loop, 1 long 2 short beeps, fan fastens and slows and no signal.

This time I did not Clear CMOS to fix it, instead I used the restart button on my case until it worked. I pressed it for ten times and this time it gave continuous short beeps. It turned back to 1 long and 2 short after another restart tho. I managed to get a signal after restarting for 15-20 times.

I do not know if it helps but I found something about the power supply. Apparently, it doesn't have a PCI-E connector for VGA so the card gets the power with a 4 Pin Molex to 6 Pin PCI-Express Power Adapter Converter Cable. I am not sure if it is the problem or not but HD 3870 works with that just fine so I think it is not the problem. When I checked the voltage values with AIDA 64 Extreme, there doesn't seem to be a problem with power.

Also whenever I run the system after restarting for 20 times, Windows always says there is a problem and let's do an "Automatic Repair". It may be normal but I wanted to share it as an additional info. I don't think there is something wrong with my HDD tho.
 
Last edited:
Top