• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios for XFX FX-787A-CDFC (Double D GHZ Edition)

Dreadlish

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
As in topic - does anybody have proper vbios for it? I don't have original one as it was brought to me in state of agony. When i put Thaiti one - driver loads, but it isn't working - gpu-z doesn't show any clocks and it can't be flashed from atiwinflash (0FL01). When i put one from Pitcairn - Basic Display Driver is loaded and atiwinflash doesn't even try to detect it. Does anybody have any suggestions resurrecting that gpu?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

Welcome to TPU

I don't have original one as it was brought to me in state of agony. When i put Thaiti one - driver loads, but it isn't working
Why would you do that! That vga card uses the Pitcairn GPU

When i put one from Pitcairn - Basic Display Driver is loaded and atiwinflash doesn't even try to detect it. Does anybody have any suggestions resurrecting that gpu?
Create a bootable flash drive
go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

Download - HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk

Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process.

Download latest version of ATIFlash
here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...sh%203.99.html

Set the motherboard bios to boot from usb *press F8 during boot; select from boot menu if option is avalable; this should boot to a win98 dos prompt

Type at the dos prompt - dir to veiw the content of the flash drive

Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 1 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]
[Note: when booting from onboard vga / igp also = primary position 0]

Information required
-Upload a screenshot or any error information at position 0/1

-Hash # numbers from the back of the card [serial number NOT REQUIRED]

-Motherboard Make and Model, that the vga card is being used/tested in

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Dreadlish

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I wasn't sure if it's Pitcairn card, so at first thanks for information ;)

When I try to run 'atiflash -ai 1' it welcomes me with nice SIGSEGV information ( sshot: https://db.tt/yf0iDRZt ), the same with -ai 0, where i have the same card from Gigabyte. The mobo i'm using is Gigabyte H77-D3H.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

When I try to run 'atiflash -ai 1' it welcomes me with nice SIGSEGV information ( sshot: https://db.tt/yf0iDRZt ), the same with -ai 0, where i have the same card from Gigabyte. The mobo i'm using is Gigabyte H77-D3H.
Try using ATIFlash 4.17 here
if this returns same error; try a different flash drive [make bootable using same method, needs to be Pure DOS, from win 98 as above]

post another screenshot, thanks

atb

Law-II
 

Dreadlish

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I tried both 3.99 and 4.17 versions, but the same on the both. I've changed flash drives, and the same could be seen. There was only one try, when it showed anything else, and it detected my gigabyte card well, but on xfx one i got 'no adapter found' message.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#7
Hi

Ok, it is very strange of atiflash, as when i swapped card it was able to detect the broken one ( sshot: https://db.tt/qyUY1MjX ), but flashing it ended as detection before - with sigsegv.
015.021.000.000.000000 vbios version looks wrong [keep a copy of it safe]

try version 015.015.000.002.000838

Note: sigsegv - is a general protection fault [starting to wonder if a uefi bios was flashed to the card and is proventing a legacy vbios to take.

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Dreadlish

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Okay, i flashed card with vbios you gave and now atiflash says it's tahiti card (wtf?). The same gpu-z under windows.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#9
Hi

Okay, i flashed card with vbios you gave and now atiflash says it's tahiti card (wtf?). The same gpu-z under windows.
Just double checked that vbios image using VBE7b attach screenshot below:
xfx.hd7870.2048.120224.jpg

- what version of GPU-Z?
- tahiti is that not the vbios image that was first flashed to the card in the OP; Just sounds like the vbios chip is corrupted. [reflash the card]
- was the tahiti vbios image write protected
- *maybe use unlock command at DOS prompt before commiting the flash

atiflash -unlockrom 0

Outstanding Information
-Hash # Numbers from the back of the card to identify this vga card

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Dreadlish

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
GPU-Z v0.7.4, I reflashed vbios chip three times with the same bios through parallel programmer and all the time GPU-Z and atiflash identified it as Tahiti. I can't reflash it with atiflash/atiwinflash as there is 0FL01 or card is not even detected (as for pitcairn vbioses other than that you recommended) so i'm doing it all the time by parallel programmer ( link: http://rayer.g6.cz/elektro/spipgm.htm - czech, but all needed parts are understandable ) and chip is rather not corrupted as it can be programmed, verified and rom data don't vaporize after power unplug. From the back of card i can get only model name (FX-787A-CDFC) and SN (O2Y004915). I would try to get another matching flash chip and then say if it is caused by this.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#11
Hi

Are the vga card Catalyst Drivers uninstalled/removed from the system? [deap cleaned]

atiflash / atiwinflash 0FL01 error has a workaround; due to card position when installed in mobo [uninstall drivers from device manager in safemode; shutdown the system DO NOT Restart, move the vga card. boot to bios change boot order to USB device ~ then commit to atiflash commands as usual]

try shorting, pin1 and pin3 WP and flash

Note: this is now beyond my knowlege tbo ; I will PM a friend to see if he is able to assist

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
OP try creating an empty rom, []file att[] file 128kb.... using your programmer flash the chip...then reflash with the Pitcairn rom ...
If the card is still not running IE...... 0FL01 or card is not even detected, using DOS atiflash. Then try jumping the 1 and 8 pins on the chip, with a short wire that should allow atiflash to recognize the card. SEE http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49092&d=1353097370
GOOD LUCK
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
System Name MyPC
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling default
Memory Corsair 2x 2Gb
Video Card(s) XFX HD7870 DD 2048Gb
Storage OCZ SSD + WD hdd
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
#13