• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios Mod Fail... Help!

paintufast

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
27 (0.20/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hello all, I am a newbie into GPU mining and I have gotten myself into a pickle. I have an rx 580 ellesmere 8gb (single fan) revision E7 (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/lookup?gpu=b3c13d-1002:67DF-1462:8A92.E7.0.0) this link isn't exactly mine but its what GPU-Z links to. Mine is a single fan model.

I am trying to upgrade my vbios for ethereum mining. I sent my bios to a friend from Anorak who has done good work for me in the past. He sent me a good file and I used ATI-Winflash to update my vbios. Ran pixel patcher and it patched values. Then restarted, and only get a black screen on restart from the card. When I try to reflash to old vbios by opening GUI of ATI it says "error reading from rom". When I go through CMD window I have unlocked already and that didn't help. I am getting "adapter not found Error 0FL01".

I have no clue HOW I did this but I realize what I believe is my error. When I downloaded the file from my buddy it was a 256mb file with a name I didn't think was clear. So I renamed the file. Somehow when I did this, (I assume) it changed the file type to "file" not ".rom" and I went ahead and flashed without realizing.

What do I do now? I'm at a loss. Not a super computer guru, I am learning as I go...and making a lot of mistakes along the way apparently.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
27 (0.20/day)
Likes
8
#3
So I want to add some more information. I am not SURE that I flashed with the wrong file. I just know that when I renamed one of the bios files, it ended up not as a .rom file. When I flashed thru the GUI of Ati Winflash it was a successful flash. Then I ran pixel patcher successfully. Then restarted.
It doesn't work on restart, screen freezes during windows opening up. One time I got it to start up and I got into CMD line. I tried using the following CMD language

cd/ATIWINFLASH
atiwinflash -f -p 0 Moddedbios.rom

I also tried using the unlock command also, and it did successfully unlocked.

However I am still getting the error I noted above (adapter not found Error 0FL01).

I read the links posted above to help me but I didn't see anything specifically helpful to me and this current situation.

Final note (I am using Windows 10)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,671 (4.00/day)
Likes
10,960
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
This is result of my dos bootable attempt. Thoughts?
Use the -i command to identify the adapter

You need to enter the commands correctly
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,580 (2.36/day)
Likes
8,571
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#8
Somebody should start a company offering support for bricked video cards, could make a killing
It's much more profitable to buy a hardware programmer, buy them for 20 bucks as a "brick" and flash them back to new, then turn around and sell them for nearly full price.

That's how you make a killing.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,921 (1.45/day)
Likes
1,574
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#10
Yeah. Your "friend" fucked you. The name and extension of the file don't matter. It was recognized as a BIOS file, and that's why the flash with it was "successful". You did nothing "wrong". So...no, the file he sent you was obviously not "good". And now you're up shit creek. But...it can most likely be fixed. One way or another. The frog has the idea...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
I think I’m following the commands right, but tried a few variations to be sure...

This isn't working for me?
skip to 4:14 that is how you enter the command correctly

But it seems you need to attempt a wire trick method, find a spi programmer or take it to a shop that can do it for you.

I hope you learned a hard lesson from this by screwing with what you don't know and not doing research in the first place.

My signature exists for this exact reason.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
Your brutal honesty, coupled with assistance is appreciated. I will update here if I find any luck.
Here is 1 last guide, it seems you need to disable the write protection

Read this guide it has the error code you are experiencing.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-ati-flashing-guide.212849/

Heres the command but read that guide

SPECIAL: If you receive the following error "Failed to read ROM ERROR 0FL01 : press '1' to continue"

You need to unlock the rom of the chip for writing, OR The flash command was not typed properly and the syntax is incorrect.

Code:
atiflash -unlockrom X

If you need help ask @Solaris17
 
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
27 (0.20/day)
Likes
8
#14
I am stopping for the night. I have read everything you sent me.

I still need to try the jumper method into DOS. I did try a jumper and got windows to load with the card installed, but I think I may have removed jumper too soon. I will try again with some sleep and see if I can make more progress.

Your help is truly appreciated.

Do you have any thoughts on how I ended up here? Is it because the bios file I have was(is) bad? I have flashed bios before multiple times with no problems. OR if I ran into problems, I was always able to reflash back to my original. This is the first time I have found myself down this rabbit hole.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
I am stopping for the night. I have read everything you sent me.

I still need to try the jumper method into DOS. I did try a jumper and got windows to load with the card installed, but I think I may have removed jumper too soon. I will try again with some sleep and see if I can make more progress.

Your help is truly appreciated.

Do you have any thoughts on how I ended up here? Is it because the bios file I have was(is) bad? I have flashed bios before multiple times with no problems. OR if I ran into problems, I was always able to reflash back to my original. This is the first time I have found myself down this rabbit hole.
Yes you have a bad file, that's what causes cards to write protect themselves.

Go to the card makers website, get the clock speeds and find a file in the vga bios collection.

Take a picture if your specific card, and also the white stickers on it for specific brand of card you have and post them here
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,269 (6.14/day)
Likes
8,153
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#21
Just do a 1:8 pin bios revert.

Somebody should start a company offering support for bricked video cards, could make a killing
I already do it, should make it commercial I guess lol
 
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
27 (0.20/day)
Likes
8
#22
Be stupid with Bios flashing your video cards
Thank you for your help. I understand I made a mistake and I am just trying to seek out assistance to learn and get better at this stuff. I think it’s interesting and fun, but I don’t have a teacher in person holding my hand. So occasionally mistakes happen. I am very thankful for the folks taking the time to help me figure out what is going on here and what I do next.

Just do a 1:8 pin bios revert.



I already do it, should make it commercial I guess lol

Before I screw up anything else.
There’s two chips on back (see pic above) which is my bios chip. I believe it’s the one that is square with the board, not on a diagonal.

Second I haven’t found a clear and concise write up for a 1-8 pin reset. Do you know of a link to one? For exactly what I do, on the pc itself and in regards to power etc.

Developments.

I had putted around last night with the 1-8 pin reset. And I’m not saying that’s what did it, or not. But what I know is that I can now get windows to start up with the card plugged in.

GPU -z doesn’t the see card.
Pixel patcher says there’s values found that are “already patched”

HIWEVER. This is New. See photo.
What, EXACTLY. Should I try now?

I don’t think this is my onboard MOBO graphics right? So this is seeing the card??

Found the white sticker you were asking for. Sorry.

UPDATE:
I figured out where the 512kb file came from, and it’s not what I flashed.
Before I flashed, when I had winflash open, I clicked “save” and I saved an extra backup of the current bios in my card (trying to be careful) for whatever reason. THAT is saving as a 512kb “file” not “.rom”.
That is NOT what I clicked on when I flashed, I’m certain.
So it didn’t occur from me accidentally changing file name like I had originally deduced.

Now that I can see what the photo shows in winflash. I’m just not sure of my best course of action and I want to be positive I’m not somehow seeing my MOBO onboard graphics and I am going to screw those too if I play here.

Any advice?

So, seeing the CMD prompt and finally getting -I to work....
I am good to go right? I can flash my original backup bios back into place?

UPDATE 2: I got it to flash to my original bios but card still isn’t recognized any where on the computer. I checked pixel patcher and it says already patched. I tried to revert to pixel patcher backups and restart. Just to check. Still no luck.

I have a light at the end of the tunnel, but not there yet.

Note: I changed pics, because I realized I posted the white sticker of adifferent card briefly.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
Thank you for your help. I understand I made a mistake and I am just trying to seek out assistance to learn and get better at this stuff. I think it’s interesting and fun, but I don’t have a teacher in person holding my hand. So occasionally mistakes happen. I am very thankful for the folks taking the time to help me figure out what is going on here and what I do next.




Before I screw up anything else.
There’s two chips on back (see pic above) which is my bios chip. I believe it’s the one that is square with the board, not on a diagonal.

Second I haven’t found a clear and concise write up for a 1-8 pin reset. Do you know of a link to one? For exactly what I do, on the pc itself and in regards to power etc.

Developments.

I had putted around last night with the 1-8 pin reset. And I’m not saying that’s what did it, or not. But what I know is that I can now get windows to start up with the card plugged in.

GPU -z doesn’t the see card.
Pixel patcher says there’s values found that are “already patched”

HIWEVER. This is New. See photo.
What, EXACTLY. Should I try now?

I don’t think this is my onboard MOBO graphics right? So this is seeing the card??

Found the white sticker you were asking for. Sorry.

UPDATE:
I figured out where the 512kb file came from, and it’s not what I flashed.
Before I flashed, when I had winflash open, I clicked “save” and I saved an extra backup of the current bios in my card (trying to be careful) for whatever reason. THAT is saving as a 512kb “file” not “.rom”.
That is NOT what I clicked on when I flashed, I’m certain.
So it didn’t occur from me accidentally changing file name like I had originally deduced.

Now that I can see what the photo shows in winflash. I’m just not sure of my best course of action and I want to be positive I’m not somehow seeing my MOBO onboard graphics and I am going to screw those too if I play here.

Any advice?

So, seeing the CMD prompt and finally getting -I to work....
I am good to go right? I can flash my original backup bios back into place?

UPDATE 2: I got it to flash to my original bios but card still isn’t recognized any where on the computer. I checked pixel patcher and it says already patched. I tried to revert to pixel patcher backups and restart. Just to check. Still no luck.

I have a light at the end of the tunnel, but not there yet.

Note: I changed pics, because I realized I posted the white sticker of adifferent card briefly.
Delete your gpu drivers, restore the card using the stock unmodified bios.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,847 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,124
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#25
So just to clarify.
Run DDU, THEN reflash to original bios?
Then re download Radeon software?
Do you have a unmodified bios As a backup?
 
Top