• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios Modification with Kepler Bios Tweaker (GTX 660TI PE OC)

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,
I bought second hand (2014 jan) a MSI GTX 660 ti PE graphics card, since the purchase this card does not hold the core frequency of origin, so I use MSI Afterburner to reduce the core -100 mhz, with that I have no more crash.
Before modified BIOS with Kepler Bios Tweaker and after:

Same crash if I try 1032 or 1019 Mhz!

I would like to make the modification (down 100 mhz) once and for all in the bios of the map, which I tried unsuccessfully (the crashes were still there), yet the figures of the bios did mark the decline, In short I would like to do without using Afterburner.
I did not touch anything other than the boost clock and boost limit speeds, which I put at the speed that shows me Afterburner in burn (1045 or 1058 mhz).



I forgot something, but what?
Sorry for my bad english.

Thanks for help me.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
202 (0.42/day)
Likes
83
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor i7 6800k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A SLI Plus
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo w/ EK 360XE & 3xVardar fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 w/EK fullcover block&XOC BIOS
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Display(s) ehhh 4 of em 1 4k 1 2k a shit one and a colorful one
Case TT Core X9
Power Supply Corsair CX 650
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 Pro 32
#2
You modified your bios but never actually flashed it. That said almost anybody here advises against flashing your bios.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,352 (4.03/day)
Likes
6,902
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#4
Hi,
You modified your bios but never actually flashed it. That said almost anybody here advises against flashing your bios.
I flashed the new bios with DOS bootable USB key
The card will not go over 1045 Mhz, but crash (whitout Afterburner)
Id use afterburner and just have it startup with windows, or make a hotkey for your clocks...
Afterburner start with windows, but this Video card need afterburner with other computer to work properly, this is not satisfactory.
Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
202 (0.42/day)
Likes
83
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor i7 6800k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A SLI Plus
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo w/ EK 360XE & 3xVardar fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 w/EK fullcover block&XOC BIOS
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Display(s) ehhh 4 of em 1 4k 1 2k a shit one and a colorful one
Case TT Core X9
Power Supply Corsair CX 650
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 Pro 32
#5
Sounds to me like your card is on its way out, but that said it sounds like you might have messed up the frequency table by adjusting your boost clock. There should be a way of verifying that you flashed the bios, such as a bios signing date, etc.
 

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#6
Sounds to me like your card is on its way out, but that said it sounds like you might have messed up the frequency table by adjusting your boost clock. There should be a way of verifying that you flashed the bios, such as a bios signing date, etc.
I have not changed the table of boost clock, to do (limiting to 1045Mhz, actually, max table clock to 1306mhz)?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
202 (0.42/day)
Likes
83
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor i7 6800k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A SLI Plus
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo w/ EK 360XE & 3xVardar fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 w/EK fullcover block&XOC BIOS
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Display(s) ehhh 4 of em 1 4k 1 2k a shit one and a colorful one
Case TT Core X9
Power Supply Corsair CX 650
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 Pro 32
#7
Limiting the frequency table will induce your desired results, because lowering the max clock everything else is calculated on will force everything down 100MHz. That said do at your own risk. This is all most likely warranty voiding.
 

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#8
I'm not sure not to have tried it (I tried the modifications, a lot of time, then I gave up, I start again now).
I try this, i come back to say yes or no.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
88 (0.25/day)
Likes
31
System Name Xena
Processor 2x X5660 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard Tyan S7010
Memory 48 GB DDR3 1333Mhz ECC registered
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 660 ti windforce
Storage 3 TB WD red
Case MaxData platinum 500
Power Supply Chieftec APS-850CB
Software Win 7 X64 ultimate
#9
You can downclock Gpu as much as you want to, but faulty card is faulty card, and with lower clocks you will lose performance while problems will remain more or less (i had same issue)

Leave a card in a hands of professional to bake it for you or start saving money for new card

Lowering clocks is just temporary solution for few days (or less)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,400 (5.38/day)
Likes
6,175
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Put stock rom back in. Take gpu cooler off and replace thermal compound, thermalpads if not performed already, sometimes psu's degrade depending how bad the power grid is there.

No resolution. Replace the gpu
 

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#11
You can downclock Gpu as much as you want to, but faulty card is faulty card, and with lower clocks you will lose performance while problems will remain more or less (i had same issue)

Leave a card in a hands of professional to bake it for you or start saving money for new card

Lowering clocks is just temporary solution for few days (or less)
"faulty card" since 3 years and half, if I downclock the GPU As little as 100Mhz (with Afterburner) it work since this time, whitout any problèm.
 

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#12
Put stock rom back in. Take gpu cooler off and replace thermal compound, thermalpads if not performed already, sometimes psu's degrade depending how bad the power grid is there.

No resolution. Replace the gpu
I'm going to try
But, I down in Boost table, Max Table Clock to 1202 mhz ( 1306 mhz before), it seems to work, whitout loss perfomance.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
88 (0.25/day)
Likes
31
System Name Xena
Processor 2x X5660 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard Tyan S7010
Memory 48 GB DDR3 1333Mhz ECC registered
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 660 ti windforce
Storage 3 TB WD red
Case MaxData platinum 500
Power Supply Chieftec APS-850CB
Software Win 7 X64 ultimate
#13
"faulty card" since 3 years and half, if I downclock the GPU As little as 100Mhz (with Afterburner) it work since this time, whitout any problèm.
But problem will be back
I said bake card, if you have professional service to do that
If you cannot bake it properly than start saving money for new card

Bios modification has NEVER rescued Graphics card from certain death, it just extend GPU's lifetime
 

yvesl

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#14
But problem will be back
I said bake card, if you have professional service to do that
If you cannot bake it properly than start saving money for new card

Bios modification has NEVER rescued Graphics card from certain death, it just extend GPU's lifetime
thanks for your think (full of common sense), but the value of the card is low, and I have no pro who could make this, or very far.