• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BIOS or lack of one

buzz

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi people got a big problem here. I have a soltek SL-75FRN2-L Nforce ultra 400 motherboard and AMD 2700+ I only put it all together last week with xp havnt realy overclocked alot it has a 166 Mhz fsb multiply by 2 so i put it up to 185 Mhz and got 2.4 gig out of it. The only problem is that after i switched it off it wont boot up now. I tried both methods for resetting the cmos but still wont boot up what do i do? STUCK
 

newmodder

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
669 (0.15/day)
Likes
7
Location
british columbia
System Name Gamer
Processor amd phenom quad core 9950 black edition
Motherboard msi ms-7309
Cooling 120mm front,120mm rear
Memory 2gigs ddr2 800
Video Card(s) BFG gtx 260 maxcore
Storage wd 160gig sata2 hd
Display(s) LG 20in widescreen
Case USP 100
Audio Device(s) onboard Logitech x-530 5.1 spkrs
Power Supply Antec Neo 550watt
Software windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#2
post more system specs nad more people will be able to help..or just make signature.
 

newmodder

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
669 (0.15/day)
Likes
7
Location
british columbia
System Name Gamer
Processor amd phenom quad core 9950 black edition
Motherboard msi ms-7309
Cooling 120mm front,120mm rear
Memory 2gigs ddr2 800
Video Card(s) BFG gtx 260 maxcore
Storage wd 160gig sata2 hd
Display(s) LG 20in widescreen
Case USP 100
Audio Device(s) onboard Logitech x-530 5.1 spkrs
Power Supply Antec Neo 550watt
Software windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#3
i would try and increase the voltage to the cpu, or maybe geta better psu, or it could be a memory prob...it could be alot of things we wont know till you post specs like

psu type and wattage and rail voiltage
memeory brand and speed
hardrive
cooling/cpu
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,922 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#4
if it booted the first time it should boot again if u have really reset the bios back to safe defaults..

trog
 

buzz

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
ok well i have corsair ddr 400 ram just the one 512 stick. AMD 2700+ 330 Mhz FSB . I pulled the cpu out and had a look at it and it dosnt look like it has any damage. I Cannot get it to boot up. In other words i turn it on and there is no screen no bios and I have tried resetting the cmos but wont work did i fry my cpu by overclocking it? Would that stop the bios from working?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ sandiego
Motherboard asus A8N-E
Cooling Artic cooling - Freezer 64 pro
Memory ddr400 ocz 2x1gb at 2-3-2-5
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GTS 640mb
Storage maxtor 250gb PATA drive with 16mb cache
Display(s) samsung 17inch crt monitor
Case aspire X-Superalien case with 6 blue led fans
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi xtreme music
Power Supply antec Truepowa Trio 650W
Software win xp home sp2
#6
when you turn it on does the lights on the mb come on or the fans start spinning?
 

newmodder

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
669 (0.15/day)
Likes
7
Location
british columbia
System Name Gamer
Processor amd phenom quad core 9950 black edition
Motherboard msi ms-7309
Cooling 120mm front,120mm rear
Memory 2gigs ddr2 800
Video Card(s) BFG gtx 260 maxcore
Storage wd 160gig sata2 hd
Display(s) LG 20in widescreen
Case USP 100
Audio Device(s) onboard Logitech x-530 5.1 spkrs
Power Supply Antec Neo 550watt
Software windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#7
yeh if you have no lights on the mobo then its a very good chance its you psu.i am guessing you just have a generic psu?
 

Cybie1111

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
329 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, California, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 @ 3.33 Ghz 1333 FSB
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 rev 1.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Cooler
Memory Patriot Viper 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) (Sapphire) ATi Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage Western Digital 160GB/500GB Drive + Seagate 320GB Drive
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240HD 24" HDTV
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 832 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620 Watt Modular
Software Dual Boot Windows Vista Ultimate / Windows XP Pro
#8
buzz said:
ok well i have corsair ddr 400 ram just the one 512 stick. AMD 2700+ 330 Mhz FSB . I pulled the cpu out and had a look at it and it dosnt look like it has any damage. I Cannot get it to boot up. In other words i turn it on and there is no screen no bios and I have tried resetting the cmos but wont work did i fry my cpu by overclocking it? Would that stop the bios from working?
There could be a couple possibilites:

1) You fried your Motherboard.
2) You fried your Power Supply.

But we need more information. We need a Power Supply and Motherboard information.