• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BIOS reading not supported

Anderan

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
whenever i try to save my bios with GPU-Z it says "Bios reading not supported on this device" is there any way to get around this? oh and my card is an ATI X1300 mobility radeon.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
You have a mobile GPU, meaning integrated. The graphics BIOS is part of the main system BIOS, hence why it cant be extracted.
 

Anderan

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
dang, oh well thanks for the help, weird thing is I've taken my laptop apart and i could have sworn i saw the card in there separately from the processors or anything else for that matter.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#4
WOA Alex, your kinda wrong on that one.
X1300 Mobility is a seperate card entirely.
The X1150, X1200, X1250 are integrated.
Your cards external read/write pins have been cut to prevent improper flashing by ATI.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#5
Didnt realise it was a separate card sorry. Thanks for the input Flyoride. :toast:
 

Dmitryy

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Hello everybody. Is there any solution to this issue? I have an MSI 4870 512mb radeon and receive the same message, just wanted mod fan settings to higher value, since it's a little bit hot on defaults. Need your help, where do I look for those pins?
 

Dmitryy

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Well the problem was in Win7, I have changed OS to MS windows Xp SP2 and successfully dumped 4870's bios using GPU-Z. Good luck all!
 

Atti

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
whenever i try to save my bios with GPU-Z it says "Bios reading not supported on this device" is there any way to get around this? oh and my card is an ATI X1300 mobility radeon.
I have same problem :(
The card is a Mobility Radeon HD 4330 (Acer Aspire 5538G)
OS Windows XP 64 bit, Catalyst 9.12, GPU-Z 0.3.8
 

newfellow

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
314 (0.10/day)
Likes
17
System Name ID
Processor Q9450 ~3.74Ghz
Motherboard ASUS-P5E
Cooling Air
Memory G.Skill CL4-8GB
Video Card(s) ATI/Geforce 5850/9800
Storage A-lot
Display(s) BenQ G2400WT
Case 900
Audio Device(s) Shitty ASUS FX;P
Power Supply OCZ GXS 850W
Software -
Benchmark Scores too many machines to spec
#12
WOA Alex, your kinda wrong on that one.
X1300 Mobility is a seperate card entirely.
The X1150, X1200, X1250 are integrated.
Your cards external read/write pins have been cut to prevent improper flashing by ATI.
that's curious didn't know it was possible to prevent reading an BIOS. Although can understand writing/flashing.
 

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
#14
But... how can I write the modified video rom back?
If your really confident you can change the Video BIOS how you want it without changing the length then it should just be a case of replacing the Insyde EFI module in the v1.15 BIOS and flashing the whole BIOS. Well, that's the theory anyway ;)

I don't know anything about the Video BIOS but have played with Insyde. If your happy to take the risk let me know and I'll try to help you out.


EDIT (3-Jan) : I guess from a lack of an answer that your not happy to take the risk. Probably wise since there is a chance of bricking. ;)
If anyone is curious I successfully changed the Video BIOS in my old EFI main BIOS with a newer version extracted from a newer EFI main BIOS. So it can be done.

Before


After

You might wonder why I didn't just update the whole BIOS to the new one! Well the main BIOS I'm using fixes a few things that a multitude of later BIOS updates from HP didn't. Also it seems that either HP silently removed or broke the esata boot capability in later BIOS versions. So although my old main BIOS is a little buggy it's good enough for what I want but the later versions aren't, at least for me that is. Of course other people might find the newer BIOS's better. ;)
 
Last edited:

Atti

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
I modified the bios, I decreased the clock rates. The lenght is equal

Can you help?

Thanks!

ps: Acer issued a new bios :)
 

Attachments

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
#16
Okay, I'll have a look at putting something together. If you haven't already, make a backup of the BIOS your using now. You should be able to boot to DOS and use flashit utility which comes with the BIOS update archive.

Flashit.exe backup.fd /G

where backup.fd is the name used for the backup file that will created. The Insyde EFI BIOS tends to come with a built in crisis recovery although the notebook manufacturers don't seem to document this. It tends to work along the lines of...
  1. Placing the recovery file renamed to whatever is specific for the notebook being recovered on a medium such as a FAT formatted USB flash drive.
  2. Removing the battery power.
  3. Removing the AC adapter.
  4. Holding down a couple of keyboard buttons, for Acer fn + Esc seems quite common.
  5. Insert the AC adapter.
  6. Turn on using the power button.
  7. Once started up, release the keys held down and hopefully see the laptop shut down after a minute or two.

The hardest part is trying to work out what the BIOS file should be renamed to. You might be lucky and someone has already found it for you. Try to get your crisis recovery worked out before flashing. If it becomes unrecoverable by this method then you will need to find another way to reflash the BIOS chip. Beware, it seems the laptop manufactures would probably charge you for a new mainboard rather than trying to fix the BIOS chip. Work out all your options before hand if something should go wrong and then decide if you still want to go ahead. ;)
 

m3phisto

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
hi, i have the same problema as the thread says:
"Bios reading not support on this device"
I have an Ati Mobility radeon hd3470, on a Sony Vaio FW11L

Gpuz z reports

VER010.088.000.025.029579

thanks for your help! bye!
 

peploss

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Russia, Orenburg
#18
Hello, I have a Laptop Asus x50sl, a video card ati mobility hd3470, bios VER010.077.000.000.000000.
GPU-Z speaks: "bios reading not supported". There is any way to bypass it?
 

c0ke

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
Video rom from v1.15, hope it helps :)
Hello somebody,
I've got the same video card ati mob radeon HD4330 and need to extract the video bios since I cannot do it with GPU-Z.

I've got a dell inspiron 1545 laptop with a dell A11 bios, do you think it is possible to extract the rom?

Thank you in advance for your support!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
How to take the driver?

I have same problem :(
The card is a Mobility Radeon HD 4330 (Acer Aspire 5538G)
OS Windows XP 64 bit, Catalyst 9.12, GPU-Z 0.3.8
I have same problem. I want to get the driver for the WINDOWS XP system.
My computer is Acer Aspire 5538G. The video card is MOBILITY RADEON HD 4330. The version is ATI VGA VER011.022.002.002.033474
Please help me, thanks!
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Likes
346
#23
Could I ask you guys one favor?
Try using RBE to extract your BIOS, even if you're using a non-ATI card. Download RBE, run it and click "Acquire/flash...". In the upcoming window uncheck "Load into RBE" in the "Alternative BIOS extraction" box. Then click the "Acquire BIOS..." button and save your BIOS. Please note: This will work with 32-bit versions of windows only.
If you don't mind attach the BIOS to a post in this thread and don't forget to tell what kind of video card you have.
 
Last edited: