• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

bios recovery failure

Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
#1
hi all my first post..
im having a strange thing with a mobo..
it's a ASUS p5p800se with a celeron d 341+ 2.93Ghz
after setting up the system i started to raise the cpu speed but on the next boot the system reported"bios corrupted,recovery procedure started" you must insert the mobo driver cd then,and it started rewriting the bios.it's a handy feature called crashfree bios but on the following boot the message came back.after tryin via cd and floppy and clearin the CMOS it just kept coming back. i thougt that the mobo wasn't ok and got a new one at the store. but the new one did exactly the same!!! :mad: so back too the store and the guys there must start too hate me..
do you guys have any idea of what could cause this to happen??
could a power shortage during overclocked boot cause this?
the psu is acting weird sometimes
before i know whats the problem is i don't dare to oc it:(

greets rage
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,936 (1.36/day)
Likes
825
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#2
power supply i would say..

trog
 

newmodder

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
669 (0.15/day)
Likes
7
Location
british columbia
System Name Gamer
Processor amd phenom quad core 9950 black edition
Motherboard msi ms-7309
Cooling 120mm front,120mm rear
Memory 2gigs ddr2 800
Video Card(s) BFG gtx 260 maxcore
Storage wd 160gig sata2 hd
Display(s) LG 20in widescreen
Case USP 100
Audio Device(s) onboard Logitech x-530 5.1 spkrs
Power Supply Antec Neo 550watt
Software windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#3
reset bios jumper

here should be a jumper on the mobo that will also reset the bios to oem
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
#4
newmodder said:
here should be a jumper on the mobo that will also reset the bios to oem
no there is only the CMOS jumper i have checked it..
but is there no one who had the same thing before??
i realy need to be sure it's the psu you know..
the mobo shows that it is reading the file,than writing it but the writing seems to go to fast,like it isn't writing the whole file or something like that

but thanks for the sugestions so far

greets rage
 

jaystein

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Denver, CO, USA
Processor Dual Core Xeon, 2.33 x2
Motherboard Supermicro X7DAL-E 1333 mz FSB
Cooling Stock Xeon CPU Fans. Standard case Fans, one big fan
Memory 6gb server RAM.
Video Card(s) nVIDIA 8800 GTS 640
Storage 2 SCSI 70 gb, 2 SATA 250 gb
Display(s) 24" Dell
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-fi pro Gamer
Power Supply Galaxy 850
Software Win XP 64, Games, Animation software.
#5
rage said:
no there is only the CMOS jumper i have checked it..
but is there no one who had the same thing before??
i realy need to be sure it's the psu you know..
the mobo shows that it is reading the file,than writing it but the writing seems to go to fast,like it isn't writing the whole file or something like that

but thanks for the sugestions so far

greets rage
Try pulling the "one" cmos jumper for 3 seconds and the put it back, that should reset the bios. If it doesn't work get your money back.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#6
Unplug the PC
pull the motherboard battery
and set the CMOS jumper to CLEAR and let it set for 2 minutes

reset jumper,replace battery and connect power.

If that doesnt do it ..there may be other issues
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
#7
OneCool said:
Unplug the PC
pull the motherboard battery
and set the CMOS jumper to CLEAR and let it set for 2 minutes

reset jumper,replace battery and connect power.

If that doesnt do it ..there may be other issues
no that doesn't work. my problem is how to prevent it from happenen to the third new mobo. it's like the bios itself died or something?!!?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,936 (1.36/day)
Likes
825
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
sometimes the only way to check for faulty hardware is to swop each piece out for another one.. this is where the pros have the upper hand.. a shelf full of spare swop out bits..

u have now swopped out three times which does kinda suggest its bugger all to do with the motherboard..

the last time i had this problem.. wouldnt boot.. i said (after swopping nearly eveyrthing else out) its the motherboard.. the guy went out and bought another mobo.. it turned out it was the cpu dying.. he he he.. sometimes u can never be sure..

trog
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
#9
trog100 said:
sometimes the only way to check for faulty hardware is to swop each piece out for another one.. this is where the pros have the upper hand.. a shelf full of spare swop out bits..

u have now swopped out three times which does kinda suggest its bugger all to do with the motherboard..

the last time i had this problem.. wouldnt boot.. i said (after swopping nearly eveyrthing else out) its the motherboard.. the guy went out and bought another mobo.. it turned out it was the cpu dying.. he he he.. sometimes u can never be sure..

trog
the cpu is brand new.sorry can't exchange the rest of my friends have 478 sockets,this is a 775.. but the problem only occurs when going to higher clocks.the rest of the stuff was used on the previous mobo so i don't think that one of those is causing it
 

obl

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Could be a number of things, but seeing as how you already took the Mobo back for an exchange I would rule that out.
That pretty much leaves you with Bad CPU, Not enough CPU cooling, Bad Memory (as in not compatible with Mobo or overclocking) or a crapping out Power supply.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,936 (1.36/day)
Likes
825
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#11
the last two machines i have put together have been a total pain.. one even had a faulty brand new floppy that caused the system to hang every time windows tried to reboot during its install.. even more annoying cos i had told the guy not to mess about and buy a new one..

my current machine just killed the power supply at its first atempt at booting.. a bigger one cured that problem.. the next problem was the machine just would not make windows.. crashed right at the beginning.. setting the bios to run the memory at half speed worked okay.. but it needed another make of memory to work properly at its corrrect speed..

of course the cure sounds easy but it very often takes hours to diagnose the problem.. and just cos a piece works okay in one system dosnt mean it will work in the one giving the problems..

trog
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
#12
trog100 said:
the last two machines i have put together have been a total pain.. one even had a faulty brand new floppy that caused the system to hang every time windows tried to reboot during its install.. even more annoying cos i had told the guy not to mess about and buy a new one..

my current machine just killed the power supply at its first atempt at booting.. a bigger one cured that problem.. the next problem was the machine just would not make windows.. crashed right at the beginning.. setting the bios to run the memory at half speed worked okay.. but it needed another make of memory to work properly at its corrrect speed..

of course the cure sounds easy but it very often takes hours to diagnose the problem.. and just cos a piece works okay in one system dosnt mean it will work in the one giving the problems..

trog

lol same thing here:i set up this system for a friend who had asrock stuff en sayed that this was more releable and easier to oc and the first oc't boot it crashed.i will advise him a better psu then and if it doesn't work you won't see me back cause he is going to kill me then i think;)